We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
120 Church Ave SW Ste B, Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 342-7231
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 377 Restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Good Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good place for sandwhiches, but I have never had a better burger anywhere. Red Robin, Fuddruckers, Five Guys and the like don't compare. They tend to skimp on the fries though, so let your server know you don't want them to shortchange you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodview, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a friendly staff and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been going to this location for several years. Longer than I'd like to admit. But our last visit was like most. We had a friendly waiter/waitress and our food was very good. We've never had a bad experience at Macado's. While most places are making their sandwiches smaller these days and raising their prices, theirs have remained the same. The only down fall would be trying to find some place to park, but if you don't go at peak times, that's not as much of a problem. We'll keep going back until they give us reason not to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to meet up with your friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The friendly atmosphere and large menu are comforting. Love their Yankee Doodle sandwich with ranch on the side. Great value and good service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Such a great deal and great meal we ate here twice while in Roanoke in 4 days.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, although not easily found in a small mall like structure, was definitely worth the effort to find it. The first meal we got was soup and sandwiches, and they were enormous portions and great prices.
Because of the deals, I suggested it to other vendors at our convention, and they went the next day.
The next night we decided to go back for dinner bringing along another colleague. The drink specials that night were $1.55 beers and $2.25 well drinks.. Which they made quite strong!
The service was excellent, quick and friendly!! The menu is expansive, and priced right. I had the broccoli cheddar soup which was served in a mug with crusty cheese bread on top- YUM!! And I also got the chicken Parmesan wrap which was so good!
I really wish there was a Macado's in PA!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Salem Macados is the BEST !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Go to the Salem Macados at least a couple times a week. Staff and food are always excellent and consistent. Outside patio area should be non-smoking as nonsmokers enjoy sitting outside too and the smokers out there are sometimes pretty careless and throw their butts on the ground or in the fountain which looks and smells bad. I love this place but would like to sit outside sometimes too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.