We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak & Cheese Sub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Pizza & Subs

Frank's Pizza & Subs
4208 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
(540) 989-4440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 415 Restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steak & Cheese Sub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Franks on Williamson Road in Roanoke have the best Steak & Cheese Subs that I have tasted in quite some time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Franks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only thing I do not like at Franks Pizza is the choice of Diet drinks. I only eat the Steak subs and I do love them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
“Our Family Loves Frank's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love their Pizza, esp. the cheese and pineapple, but every pizza we have had has been just fantastic. You can tell that everything is made fresh and they are always hot and cheesy. In May we gave our daughter a birthday party there and they went out of their way to make things go as planned. The people are so nice and the food is great. We have Never been dissapointed, and tend to make this a Friday routine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced for mediocre food. Good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I dropped by for an early dinner. We had good service and they were very polite and helpful.

I had the "Italian" sub and agree with another reviewer that the fare, at least this sandwich, was "Americanized". Not really "Italian". My wife's house salad was basically iceberg lettuce and bland. The meatballs and peppers were just OK. The minestrone soup was OK. We did not try their pizza, and perhaps that is a different, better story. A little pricey.

The restaurant was clean, however, the day we went in the place reeked of bleach. They had just done the floors and it was overpowering.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great bargain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not fancy but good food fast. My favorite is the Frank's Pizza and Subs on Main Street in Salem. Their lunch specials consisting of either pizza by the slice, pasta or a sandwich are worth the price.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Pizza & Subs also viewed

 

Been to Frank's Pizza & Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Pizza & Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.