We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Milan, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. We had a group of 35 people. The rooms are nice, but the downside is the double rooms have double beds rather than queen beds. The rooms had refrigerators which are nice to have. The breakfast room is small, but the breakfast was very good and we all had a place to sit and enjoy it. Good hotel!!

Room Tip: Unless you need two beds, ask for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Wendell,

Hi there!

Yes, for now we have rooms with double beds. But did you notice that our headboards are a tad wider than the beds? That's because when we remodeled, we planned ahead with the queen headboards, but had only recently bought double beds. Since the doubles were still in excellent condition, we decided to wait. But soon our queen mattresses will be here, so check back in the future.

Meanwhile, come back soon and take advantage of all of our many amenities we have to offer.

Than you so much,
Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    132
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
147
137
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Friendly staff could not compensate for this property's shortcomings. If you're into 1980's decor, old furniture, warm refrigerators, small closets, slow flushing toilets, damp air, musky smells and bugs, then this is the place for you... To Management - your front line staff should not be placed in apologetic postions because of the condition of your property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Mr. Kenneth T,

Oh, my goodness! I'm confused, confused, confused! (did I mention I'm also confused)? ;-)

Once in a while we get ants that come through our air conditioning units during this time of the year, but of course as soon as they are spotted, we call an exterminator. That doesn't happen very often....but, yeah...it happens. But termites and "probably bed bugs"???....OUCH! NO!

We were completely renovated just three years ago. New everything......so.....our décor is a little newer than "the 80's" .....not that orange shag and big flowered wallpaper aren't cool though.
( ;-) again)

The rest of your comments are also a little confusing...(warm refrigerators, small closets, slow flushing toilets, damp air, musky smells)......but that's perfectly okay by me. That's exactly why I ask each guest to write a review....to help the next potential guest.

Lastly, you wrote "Friendly staff could not compensate for this property's shortcomings." The desk clerk you spoke with was Skyelar. She's awesome, isn't she? I understand that she gave you your stay free because we never want someone to pay good, hard-earned money for something they're not happy with! And then.... "To Management - your front line staff should not be placed in apologetic postions because of the condition of your property."...........but actually....we already ARE in an apologetic position when one of our guests aren't happy. We roll into action and remedy problems immediately. And we really are sorry (not like kinda sorry, or just sorry we got caught....but we really are sorry) that you didn't have a good experience.

Thank you for taking time out to review us. I looked at the room you occupied, and it's actually a great room! But what I love about Tripadvisor is that our guests get to comment on THEIR experience...not what the General Manager thinks.

Please come back and stay with us again as my guest. I think you'll see that one bad experience isn't really us. Call me at 540-362-2400 or email me at teamlori@yahoo.com and I'll make the arrangements.

Have a terrific summer!
Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff were all very friendly, the room was clean and everything worked properly, and the breakfast was good. What more could you want from a hotel. It is hard to find and even harder to figure out how to get out of, but within walking distance of the mall and a number of restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Laserman43,

Ahhh...thank you so very much for your review. The one above you scared the bejeezus out of me. I have such a good, honest staff and an awesome little hotel. And hearing ANY complaints makes me worry. ( I think three grey hairs popped out just from reading that review).

Seriously, you review was very kind....and I believe accurate of our hotel.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great stay on drive up the Blue Ridge to Stanton - lovely town.
Round trip courtesy van from hotel to Roanoke airport made a late night arrival easy.
Clean, comfortable, very quiet rooms made for a restful nights sleep.
Friendly, personable staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
I was going to call you Sleepless Sue and Jim in Seattle...but you had a restful night...so that won't work.

Isn't the Parkway just lovely? Did you know it is America's 2nd most visited unit of the National Park System? In 2013 there were nearly 13, 000 visitors, but yet it remains one of the most beautiful, pristine roadways in the States. We're very proud of that!

Thank you for such a nice review. And come back and see us again soon.

Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Perfect location for our needs. The rooms were quite, clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location was close enough to the center of Roanoke so we could easily drive in for dinner and visit the Taubman art museum and yet right off 581. The breakfast buffet is great for a quick convenient breakfast. The location and amenities worked well for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Well, I WAS for VT, but after THAT review....yes...I'm for NJ! LOL!

I'm very glad we were just what you needed. That's exactly what we're here for.

Please come back and see us again!

Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed there overnight during a motorcycle trip. The staff was very nice and Mike the shuttle driver was accommodating and accommodating. Our room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was what is to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Pat B!

Oh, I remember you. I'm so glad to hear you made it home safely!

Because I'm also a biker, (Honda Shadow ACE) I love hosting the weary bikers that come our way off of the Blue Ridge Parkway. We're so fortunate to live and work at one of the most visited National Parks in America. Visit our website at bwroanoke.com where I've put a link to great rides in our area as well.

I hope you come back and see us the next time you ride North.

Take care,
Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have stayed here before it was a Plus. They did a nice job on the remodel and they upped the place big time. All I can says very nice, staff, rooms and food. The location is perfect, just off the interstate and very close to shopping. On my next trip through the area i will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Jim T,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I didn't personally make any decisions concerning the remodel of the hotel. (They have professionals who know what they're doing in that department), but they did do a good job with it, didn't they?

Before you come and visit with us next time, email me at teamlori@yahoo.com or call me at 540-362-2400 and I'll make the reservation for you!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Lori Womack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.