We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Roanoke, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Roanoke, United States
1 review
“Great hotel in Roanoke, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Friendly staff, lovely room, comfy beds, good breakfast, cold water available in the lobby as well as coffee. We slept like babies in the king size bed and the leather recliner was a nice touch. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Roanoke. Great location too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm pleased you decided to stay with us and that your visit was enjoyable. The recliners have been a big hit with guests. I'm glad you mentioned them.
Please visit us again soon when you return to the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
Happy Holidays!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    161
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
167
182
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here on our way back from a trip up north, and I chose it based on the excellent ratings. I was pleased with everything but the person who checked us out at the end.

The room was very clean, well stocked, and comfortable. The breakfast was on the third floor (not a problem, just interesting to note), and it was comparable to other, more expensive hotels' breakfasts.

As to the person who checked us out, I didn't catch her name, but I have always disliked it when someone was speaking to me but never looked at me. This person spoke as if she were a bit annoyed, was very bland, and didn't seem sincere when she asked how our stay was. I left feeling as if she were speaking to me but yet trying to avoid having to speak or interact with me.

Otherwise, I enjoyed our stay here, and the price was very reasonable. It was a good value for the $96.00 we paid ($84 plus $12 in taxes).

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for visiting us and for your review of your stay.
We take pride in offering our guests a clean, comfortable room and a friendly, helpful staff. I am sorry we only delivered on the room aspect of your stay and not the staff portion. There is no excuse for missing the boat on a friendly staff and as such, I have made a change in staff members. Hopefully you will not experience an unfriendly staff member at the hotel again. We take every effort to hire a friendly and smiling personality to be a member of our team.
Thanks again for your comments. I hope you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel was familiar to one of the people traveling with me, so she made the arrangements. What a reasonably priced, very handy location this was! The hotel was very clean and the complimentary breakdfast had a good variety. If you are staying in Roanoke and want not only a good value, but friendly hotel staff providing great service, consider this hotel! The shoppers in your party will enjoy that this is just across from the mall and the foodies will love the great selection right at your doorstep. Free wi-fi was also a huge plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff, great location, and good price value.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in Roanoke for one night at this Best Western. The hotel staff was very friendly. Everyone went out of their way to greet me and make sure I had everything I needed. The room was decent. It had a slighly funny smell but I got used to it and didnt notice it after a while. Other than that, the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. The hotel itself was a little tough to find in my opinion. I have never stayed at a Best Western before, but I believe this hotel chain is on my radar if future needs arise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for your review and your kind words. I am glad you decided to give us a try and we lived up to your expectations. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We come to Roanoke twice yearly and always stay at the Best Western Plus Valley View, because it is so clean and comfortable and everyone is super nice!. Love that they have a pool and breakfast, papers and PC in the lobby, but we didn't use them. It is right on the ring road to Valley View Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. It is nice to have you as a repeat guest. I am glad you enjoy your visits with us. I hope you noticed the improvements we are working on over the winter months. We are enlarging our breakfast room and adding an exercise facility. Hopefully when you return again, we will have those complete for you to enjoy.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My colleagues and I stayed at the Best Western Plus during a business trip and were very pleased with the accommodations. The friendliness and professionalism of the front desk staff made our experience even more enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with updated décor. The location allows for easy access to the airport, the interstate, shopping malls, restaurants and many businesses. Even though the hotel is close to the airport, we never heard an airplane after 9:00 pm. The hotel must be well insulated as well. We enjoyed a quiet night's rest and delicious breakfast in the lobby the next morning.

Room Tip: If you prefer a large bed, request a room with a king bed. The beds in the double rooms seemed a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable. We do have a great location with easy access to the interstate, shopping, airport, and the rest of the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
I hope you and your business associates will return soon.
Thanks for staying with us!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the best western Plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed, and recliner. Great selection for breakfast and very good. I don’t stay in many hotels but this was one was by far the best ever. You felt welcomed as the staff always greeted you as you entered and would make conversation with you! Great experience and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments.
I am pleased your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. I will pass along your kind words to the entire staff.
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.