We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A return visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Last year we drove the southern part of the Blue Ridge Parkway, starting from Roanoke. We chose the Valley View BW as a convenient overnight stay; this year we drove the northern part of the Parkway, again starting from Roanoke. After our experience last year we had no hesitation in choosing the Valley View BW again. Good location, with very pleasant & helpful staff - one of the best BW hotels we've stayed at.

Hint for GPS users: ignore what your GPS tells you, just follow the signs off i-81!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dave B,
Thanks for your kind review of our hotel. I hope you enjoyed the ride on the Parkway, It is beautiful this time of year with the changing of the leaves.
I'm pleased your stay was enjoyable. Please come visit us again as there are many things to enjoy in the Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    161
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
167
180
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this Best Western last night at my coworker's recommendation.

The walls are super thin. I could hear what my neighbor was watching in TV. Everything is very dated. There are a couple of stains on the carpet.

Otherwise, it fulfilled my needs for one night. We have a recruiting event at Roanoke College and I just needed somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Jennifer C,
Thanks for your review of your stay last night. I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your visit. We completed a remodel about 4 years ago, so it is discouraging for me to read you think we are outdated.
We are in the process of removing a two-room suite and making that an exercise facility and we are moving some walls in the lobby and back office area to enlarge our breakfast space.
I hope you will visit us again and see our changes.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found this Best Western through the coupon book picked up at the Virginia Welcome Center and were not disappointed. The hotel is off the Interstate and you have to be on your toes to find it in the dark, but not that difficult with a GPS. The check in was quick and efficient and our room on the second floor was quiet and comfortable with a nice king sized bed. The breakfast the next morning was good with a variety of choices. There are a number of restaurants nearby, some within walking distance although we took the car as it was a dark rainy night. I would stay here again if in the area. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable and I hope you will visit us again should you return to the Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel while a attending a family funeral. The staff voluntarily provided a special bereavement rate when I called to reserve a block of rooms for myself and other out of town family members. The rooms were clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The outstanding feature of this hotel was the hospitable and caring staff. The location is very convenient to major highways and the airport. There are numerous restaurants nearby and shopping available for just about anything one might need. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I'm sorry to hear of the circumstances that brought you to Roanoke. I am pleased we were able to help out in your time of need.
If you decide to travel this way in the future to enjoy the beauty of the Valley, we would be happy to roll out the red carpet for you.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was quiet, clean and was a better value than the price I paid. I noticed on the map that the hotel was not directly off I-81 so I called the hotel for specific directions and the directions were exact and accurate. For those of you getting to the hotel - when you get off the last exit for the hotel - turn where it says "shopping center". Then look for the Best Western sign on the right,My room was clean, quiet and the bed very comfortable. My only recommendation is for the hotel to check the TV remotes and cable connection. While scanning the TV channels, sometimes the channel would not appear and I had to try a second time for the channel to work. The breakfast area was small and the food was good. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing your travel experiences with others. I am pleased your stay at the Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View was an enjoyable experience. We strive to greet each guest with a home away from home.
Our breakfast room is in the beginning stage of a remodel. We are tearing down a couple of walls and enlarging the space to better suit our guests. I hope you will return later to enjoy the added space.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakwood va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we stayed here during race weekend at martinsville. for a best western plus, this place is kinda costly. the double beds in our room were nothing special. they were firm and thats what i prefer so no big deal. but my dad didn't like his bed much. no pillow top or any special topper on the beds either. the breakfast was ok, but there were only 3 tables in the sitting area. the hotel is quiet and close to everything. after about 10pm, i didn't hear hardly anything. you could actually hear the planes taking off from the airport and it was almost a mile away. so its really quiet in your room. not bad for just passing through, but if you are staying several days, stay at the hyatt next door. thats where we usually stay, but it was booked up the night we were there.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor. thats the top floor and is unusually quiet for a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the night. We appreciate your business. We pride ourselves on customer service and being one of the best in the valley. We love when our guests have a quiet night with us and wake refreshed the next morning.

Yes we do have a small breakfast area- this is not something that we try to hide. It is like the proverbial thorn in ones side. We are enlarging and reconfiguring the area to make it more guest accessible and have better flow.

Check us out when you come through!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
bwplustim@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here twice - once at the beginning of our trip and once at the end. First time was quite nice - once you FIND the place. I called 5 times on the road for directions after riding around and around and after they transferred me to the operator, the recording started all over again. They could at least mention that they are busy and put me on hold. Annoying. But the room was nice - quiet - even though vey busy. Breakfast was okay. Enjoyed the blueberry bagels. Now, about the second stay...very quiet - hardly anyone there it seemed. When we opened the door to our room, the very strong smell of mildew hit us. The girl at the desk was very accommodating and put us in another room which still had a mildew smell, but not as bad. We decided to stay in that room because we had just traveled 7 hours and we were tired. The bath was evidently SUPPOSE to be for disabled - how they got the bath chair in the tub was beyond me. Anyway, we didn't need it. There was no exhaust fan which may have helped the mildew smell. Other than that, it was okay. Did like the new "clean technology" used for the remote control. First time we had encountered that and studies show the remote control collects the most amount of surface bacteria in a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for telling us about both of your experiences at our hotel. First of all let me apologize for the second visit. We never want any guest to feel like they have to settle for any room that they are put in. I am very happy that the desk clerk was able to get you a second room.
We do have the clean remotes in every single room. They are much easier to keep clean so that our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable stay

Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.