We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice stay for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
oakwood va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a nice stay for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we stayed here during race weekend at martinsville. for a best western plus, this place is kinda costly. the double beds in our room were nothing special. they were firm and thats what i prefer so no big deal. but my dad didn't like his bed much. no pillow top or any special topper on the beds either. the breakfast was ok, but there were only 3 tables in the sitting area. the hotel is quiet and close to everything. after about 10pm, i didn't hear hardly anything. you could actually hear the planes taking off from the airport and it was almost a mile away. so its really quiet in your room. not bad for just passing through, but if you are staying several days, stay at the hyatt next door. thats where we usually stay, but it was booked up the night we were there.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor. thats the top floor and is unusually quiet for a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the night. We appreciate your business. We pride ourselves on customer service and being one of the best in the valley. We love when our guests have a quiet night with us and wake refreshed the next morning.

Yes we do have a small breakfast area- this is not something that we try to hide. It is like the proverbial thorn in ones side. We are enlarging and reconfiguring the area to make it more guest accessible and have better flow.

Check us out when you come through!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
bwplustim@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    147
    55
    15
    13
See reviews for
162
158
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here twice - once at the beginning of our trip and once at the end. First time was quite nice - once you FIND the place. I called 5 times on the road for directions after riding around and around and after they transferred me to the operator, the recording started all over again. They could at least mention that they are busy and put me on hold. Annoying. But the room was nice - quiet - even though vey busy. Breakfast was okay. Enjoyed the blueberry bagels. Now, about the second stay...very quiet - hardly anyone there it seemed. When we opened the door to our room, the very strong smell of mildew hit us. The girl at the desk was very accommodating and put us in another room which still had a mildew smell, but not as bad. We decided to stay in that room because we had just traveled 7 hours and we were tired. The bath was evidently SUPPOSE to be for disabled - how they got the bath chair in the tub was beyond me. Anyway, we didn't need it. There was no exhaust fan which may have helped the mildew smell. Other than that, it was okay. Did like the new "clean technology" used for the remote control. First time we had encountered that and studies show the remote control collects the most amount of surface bacteria in a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for telling us about both of your experiences at our hotel. First of all let me apologize for the second visit. We never want any guest to feel like they have to settle for any room that they are put in. I am very happy that the desk clerk was able to get you a second room.
We do have the clean remotes in every single room. They are much easier to keep clean so that our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable stay

Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsons, wv, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed here on our visit to martinsville speedway which is about 1 hr 15 mins away. the motel is right next to valley view mall of roanoke. many good restaurants there also. BWW, TGI Fridays. Nearby walmart, target

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We love our NASCAR friends. Even though we only get to see you guys a couple times a year, it is always a BLAST when you come through. We do have over 32 restaurants within a mile radius of us with something for everyone. Being located next to the mall helps especially when the weather has been like it has been lately with the ups and downs and unexpected.

Make sure next time you are in town that you stop by and see us again!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Exceptional! Cordial/cheerful check-in/out staff, breakfast and staff was great and clean. Room was VERY comfortable, VERY clean ... rates among best hotels I've stayed in over several years, business and pleasure. Keep it up Bobby C

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Bobby C

Sounds like we scored several "touchdowns" during your visit. I greatly appreciate your review of our hotel and staff during your stay. We pride ourselves on being the best in the business and it sounds like this time we did exactly that. Come back and see us soon!

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

most of the TV channels did not work, coffee pot was not cleaned for 2nd day, no wash cloths the first day, breakfast room has 3 tables, very crowded,
room was nice size with a recliner chair, everything else was okay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Oh no! It sounds like this time we COMPLETELY missed the mark. I am sorry that your experience with us was bad. Please email me at bwplustim@live.com so that I may rectify the situation!
We never want ANY guest to leave our hotel unsatisfied for any reason.

Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pleasant stay, cats allowed, unlike the Hyatt. Outside door would not close enough to prohibit unwanted entry, easily repaired. Breakfast area was too small, but serviceable. They had biscuits with sausage gravy, and oatmeal nut no grits. No thermostat in the room, controls at the heater. We did not want to turn on the heater on arrival, but room too cold in AM. Didn't want then to turn on the lights and wake up wife. Don't want that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your most honest review. We are in the process of installing thermostats on the walls in the rooms. As you know this takes a little bit of time and being that we stay busy 85% of the time, the rooms we need to get into are the ones always occupied (mostly our designated pet rooms). Yes we do allow pets!!! Please call the hotel for specifics on our Pet Policy.

As for the door, we already have our maintenance guy on top of that. Definitely not something we want slipping by us. Thanks for letting us know


Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Because of proximity to family the Ramada was suggested to us. It was a TERRIBLE hotel! We got in late, so we stayed with no heat one night. Called Best Western told them our problem and they were so nice and helpful and because of our situation we were allowed to check in early. Everything was clean, staff VERY friendly, very close to mall and dining. Only negative would be the breakfast. Hot items cold. Not a big selection, however, beverages available all hours. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy J D, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Oh no, sounds like you started your trip in Roanoke off not great. I am glad that we could help you out and that we could accommodate you. I do apologize for the breakfast. The thing we hear time and time again is about the size of our breakfast area. I hope that with our new renovation that is planned for this fall, that we can reconfigure that area to make it more customer friendly as that is what we here at Best Western pride ourselves on is giving GREAT customer service



Thanks
Timothy J Dean
Director of Sales
Best Western PLUS Inn at Valley View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.