We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, wonderful hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, wonderful hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, right from the location and its local amenities to the wonderful rooms and incredabilly friendly staff. When we arrived we were met by friendly receptionist, Skyelar. She was helpful, friendly and couldnt do enough to help and answer all our questions. The room we had was an upgrade and were in a suite (room 200). it was MASSIVE! huge bed in its own room with big TV and a second room with a sofa, table, fridge, microwave and another big TV. The room was clean and well decorated. The breakfast was good, although a little more choice of fresh fruit wouldn't have gone a miss. The pool, however small was a nice addition at the end of a long day travelling and walking with complementary towels provided. All in all a wonderful hotel with good location and friendly staff, couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mark R,

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you were able to get our suite. We only have one and we upgrade our Best Western Rewards guests as much as possible, so it's rented a lot, but let me know when your coming in and I'll try to hold it for you. (that was a long sentence!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    125
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
141
135
41
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here a few times while visiting family. Roanoke is where I came from, so I know my way around town.

What I like here is the service.If there is a problem, they fix it. They do whatever needs to be done to make my visit enjoyable.Since I am partially disabled, that is very important.

Room Tip: Rooms with disability accommodations are near the fire exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
William,

Welcome home! We're glad to house one of Roanoke's boys at our hotel. You had a lot of choices when you decided to make reservations....we're glad you chose us.

Since it's like coming home..next time....make sure you do your chores before you go out and play! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

stopped off here on the way home, easy to get to from I-81. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff was great. Continental breakfast was nice, more than cold cereal and yogurt. Right next to a mall with many places to eat in the mall perimeter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
PA friend! We appreciate taking the time to review our hotel! It means so much to us to see our friends write nice reviews. Puts a smile on our faces!

Please stop by again when your in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My criteria for a nice hotel are mainly quietness of the property and quality of sleep. This hotel, despite being close to the airport, and having many bikers rumble up, was quiet. The bed was good, but not great.

The room was spacious, clean and QUIET. I hate reviews who downgrade a property, based on "decor" they think is dated, or slightly worn carpeting.WHO CARES??! I am not buying, just staying a nite or 2!! Although this hotel had neither of these problems, it does have a small breakfast room, which should be addressed in the future.

Can't go wrong here. Nice place, nice staff.

Room Tip: When the hotel says DOUBLE beds, it means double beds! I hate reviews that give a knock about someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Wolfie52,

Thank you for the very nice review. And thank you for saying how nice we are. We were renovated a couple of years ago and it still looks quite new...if I do say so myself!

Please come back and see us again! (and...shhhh....we'll be sure to be as quiet as we can be)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a bus tour of 48 people here on the way to NYC and on our return trip. The hotel is clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The dining area is small and to accommodate our large group, they opened up the 3rd Floor conference room and took breakfast there for our group each morning we were there. Will definitely stay there when in that vicinity again. Tim Dean was "above and beyond" accommodating to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wendell,

Tim Dean is truly an asset to our hotel. We all enjoy helping our guests and look forward to serving each and every one.

In case any other groups reading this are thinking about staying with us but are leery because of all of the "breakfast area is small' comments...just know...we will do whatever we have to do to make your group comfortable. WE LOVE GROUPS! CALL US! Call....call...so what are you doing?? Go call us! (wink)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I checked in using a coupon, sign up site! Talk about a excellent rate, Value indeed. The room a enjoyable double so why not lay over utilize both beds..lol more importantly the room is very clean down to dusted head board (tested the headboard due to design) and spotless bathroom. I'm very pleased with the choice to stay, the breakfast bar is vast to say the least., the options are excellent..did I just say excellent again? The staff has been smiles, pleasant, professional and informative. I'm impressed also due to the fact this is a holiday weekend(Labor Day) and the staff is upbeat and working as if its the best thing to be doing this holiday. My hats off to them, I fully believe you would enjoy your stay as I have.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Well, that's what we like to hear! And, yeah...two beds in the room? Use them...we clean up...you relax and have fun!

Thanks for your review. And I'm so glad you had an excellent time....Did I say excellent? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Finding the hotel was a bit hard because it's not easy to see from the road, but once we were there it was fine. The rooms were clean and simple, and the staff were very friendly. After several nights with noisy air-conditioning systems it was a real joy to be here because it was whisper-quiet and reliable. There were a few franchised restaurants scattered through the nearby shopping area - nothing extraordinary, but pleasant and easy.

The breakfast at the hotel was a bit crowded and somewhat limited, but like the Wi-Fi it was free, and one can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
G-day Mate!

I'm glad you finally DID find us. We love having our Aussie friends visit with us! Hope you made it home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.