We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, small dining area :(” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, small dining area :(”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My criteria for a nice hotel are mainly quietness of the property and quality of sleep. This hotel, despite being close to the airport, and having many bikers rumble up, was quiet. The bed was good, but not great.

The room was spacious, clean and QUIET. I hate reviews who downgrade a property, based on "decor" they think is dated, or slightly worn carpeting.WHO CARES??! I am not buying, just staying a nite or 2!! Although this hotel had neither of these problems, it does have a small breakfast room, which should be addressed in the future.

Can't go wrong here. Nice place, nice staff.

Room Tip: When the hotel says DOUBLE beds, it means double beds! I hate reviews that give a knock about someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Wolfie52,

Thank you for the very nice review. And thank you for saying how nice we are. We were renovated a couple of years ago and it still looks quite new...if I do say so myself!

Please come back and see us again! (and...shhhh....we'll be sure to be as quiet as we can be)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    182
    65
    16
    14
See reviews for
189
207
53
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a bus tour of 48 people here on the way to NYC and on our return trip. The hotel is clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The dining area is small and to accommodate our large group, they opened up the 3rd Floor conference room and took breakfast there for our group each morning we were there. Will definitely stay there when in that vicinity again. Tim Dean was "above and beyond" accommodating to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wendell,

Tim Dean is truly an asset to our hotel. We all enjoy helping our guests and look forward to serving each and every one.

In case any other groups reading this are thinking about staying with us but are leery because of all of the "breakfast area is small' comments...just know...we will do whatever we have to do to make your group comfortable. WE LOVE GROUPS! CALL US! Call....call...so what are you doing?? Go call us! (wink)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I checked in using a coupon, sign up site! Talk about a excellent rate, Value indeed. The room a enjoyable double so why not lay over utilize both beds..lol more importantly the room is very clean down to dusted head board (tested the headboard due to design) and spotless bathroom. I'm very pleased with the choice to stay, the breakfast bar is vast to say the least., the options are excellent..did I just say excellent again? The staff has been smiles, pleasant, professional and informative. I'm impressed also due to the fact this is a holiday weekend(Labor Day) and the staff is upbeat and working as if its the best thing to be doing this holiday. My hats off to them, I fully believe you would enjoy your stay as I have.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Well, that's what we like to hear! And, yeah...two beds in the room? Use them...we clean up...you relax and have fun!

Thanks for your review. And I'm so glad you had an excellent time....Did I say excellent? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Finding the hotel was a bit hard because it's not easy to see from the road, but once we were there it was fine. The rooms were clean and simple, and the staff were very friendly. After several nights with noisy air-conditioning systems it was a real joy to be here because it was whisper-quiet and reliable. There were a few franchised restaurants scattered through the nearby shopping area - nothing extraordinary, but pleasant and easy.

The breakfast at the hotel was a bit crowded and somewhat limited, but like the Wi-Fi it was free, and one can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
G-day Mate!

I'm glad you finally DID find us. We love having our Aussie friends visit with us! Hope you made it home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Twenty of us HOG riders decided to take a trip to Natural Bridge VA, So we booked together at BW valley view. The hotel staff went way above to make us all feel at home. They were very friendly and greeted us with open arms. Lots of restraunts are with in walking distance, but there is a shuttle that can take you nearby. A indoor pool is near the lobby with towels. Breakfast was good and plentiful. As for the room, they were clean and well stocked with plenty of towels, coffee and 3 pillows per bed. Nice new TV's with many channels. Best of all was a little yellow duck on every ones bath greets you with a look of Welcome...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Grant E,

I remember your group I think! Did you need a shuttle to the Harley or Honda dealership?

What a fun group you were! Please come back and see us the next time you ride up this way. Let me know in advance and I just might join you on my Shadow ACE!

Be Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

good value, very clean, excellent location near airport, Roanoke is an up and coming town with a railroad history and a modern art museum, lots of cafes and restaurants in the city center and free music in city square the night we were there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
John,

Thank you for you review. Yes, Roanoke is a happening little city! It's got pretty much anything you might be looking for!

Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Best Western for one night on a tour through the eastern USA. The hotel is a basic but nice hotel. The rooms are spacious be it that the furnishing is a bit out of date and the bathrooms all but inviting. Again though it's basic but all spot clean. Reception was just great, very friendly and helpful guy that did not need one question to tell you all about the hotel and how to get around. The hotel is out of the city centre whish for us, arriving rather late, did no give us the opportunity to go and eat in town. Instead we had to do with the choice of (fast) food restaurants around the hotel.
Minus point for us (perhaps as europeans) was breakfast, dull and uninspiring in equal surroundings.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Okay, okay....I know you're from Europe and things are different there...but I'm gonna have to challenge you on a couple of words here.

Breakfast is good...I like it. And true...we are out of the city...which we really like cause we're near all of the shopping and great restaurants, BUT!!! We do NOT have outdated furnishings. We have beautifully rooms that are spacious and clean. AND, I'll go head to head (pun intended) with any bathroom in all of the chains. Ours are very new and stylish.

We love our European friends and we have many...but we Americans are quick to point that sometimes...just sometimes...Europeans are wrong. (I apologize if I offend).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Groupon and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.