We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORTABLE BUT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE BUT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this location. The breakfast person was accommodating and very helpful. The Front Desk people were excellent. The maids and cleanliness of the hotel were fine. The problems came with the structure. The key for the room often did not work. The pool was no larger than a bathtub, I exaggerate. It is in a central place in Roanoke with a mall and food places everywhere and walkable. The room decoration was excellent. Also, no fitness center, that I could observe. I believe it is an old hotel that ahas been updated and taken into the Best Western system.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review! We are a 16 year old hotel that has indeed gone through an extensive renovation in the last couple of years. But we were born and raised a Best Western and recently was rewarded the honor of becoming a PLUS hotel. This means our amenities exceed a regular Best Western.

Also, our hotel is NOT an Olympic-sized pool but it is a standard hotel pool....and always warm, clean and fun to be in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    136
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
152
147
42
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way to and from Pennsylvania for the Christmas holidays. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the value we got by going through Groupon was great. The morning after our first stay, there was only one person working in the hotel--everone else was either scheduled off or had called in sick--but he did a fabulous job running the breakfast, tending the front desk, answering the phones, and all with a pleasant smile and a friendly attitude. The morning after our second stay, however, there was no one to set up or run the breakfast, so we did without. We also noticed the same morning that our hotel room door was not latching, though we can't be sure if it was like that overnight or not. The girl at the front desk was friendly and apologetic about the door. Overall, I would probably stay here again if I could get the Groupon rate again, but I doubt I'd pay full price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Happy New Year!

Thanks much for letting us know how your visit with us went. Actually, for the Christmas holidays, we let all of our staff that had children stay home while the others volunteered to take their shifts, so we were definitely running on a skeleton crew those two days. It's important to us that our staff is with their families during the Holidays and do whatever we can to make that happen. I'm sorry we didn't exceed your expectations. I'll have to remember that you are with your family too and wanted a better experience.

Also, Groupon is a great deal, but we have other discounts available during different seasons as well. Keep that in mind if Groupon isn't available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are a Best Western Family, and have found for the last 9 years that the BW Plus at Valley View is clean, friendly and geered to families. Just came home from a 2 nite visit. The staff is so nice and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. How convenient to food, shopping and entertainment. The pool area is alway kept clean and safe, the mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot are great extra. However, they always have coffee at the breakfast room for their guests.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want, they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Mary,
Thanks for sharing your comments with other travelers. I am pleased you have joined us at the Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View for the past nine years. It is a pleasure to have return guests and I am pleased all aspects of your visit are enjoyable. Lori and her staff to a tremendous job of taking care of all of the guests at the hotel. You are correct in saying, "just ask what you want...". They do their best to accommodate.
We all look forward to your family visiting us again. Happy Holidays!
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's right next to the local mall and convenient to several restaurants. The front desk guy was friendly. The rate was pretty good. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The recliner/ottoman combo was really comfortable too. Even though it's just off of the bypass, I didn't hear much traffic; however, I was on the opposite side of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Georgian friend! Thank you for your review! We love our little hotel tucked between the tall, cold buildings beside us! And we love taking care of our guests. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Booked through Priceline for overnight business trip. Front desk staff great for check in and check out, nice breakfast, spacious room with mini fridge & microwave. Nice desk with multiple outlets for laptop, cell phone charger, etc. + outlets on bedside lamp. Very convenient to restaurants, mall, I-581. Left something in room, called hotel the evening I returned home. Housekeeping supervisor had left for the day, John located my item and agreed to mail back to me ASAP. Much appreciated! Hotel is highly recommended, would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Janet,

What a kind review you gave us! We appreciate you staying with us very much and hope you come back soon.

Keep in mind if there isn't a Priceline rate, always call us and see what we can do. Not all discount clubs are always available, but if we can help....we will. See you again, I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the Roanoke area. We enjoyed the quiet, comfortable room, the flat screen TV, and the very comfortable lounge chair and ottoman.The entire hotel was very clean and served an excellent, free breakfast--eggs, waffles, sausage, pastries, biscuits, sausage gravy, cereals, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, fruit cocktail, milk, and coffee. The breakfast room was small but adequate. The attendant made sure that everything was replenished and was very friendly.

Outside, behind the hotel, there was an excellent place for our dog which appeared to have been made for that purpose. Our room was near the side door on the first floor which made it very convenient for taking her out. They charged a $25 pet fee for the entire stay.

We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Virginia Beach friends! We're so glad you were able to visit us and are glad you were able to bring your dog.

For those of you thinking of bringing little Fido, please know that we only have five rooms desginated as dog rooms. ( If you don't have a dog, you aren't assigned a dog room). But room availability is limited, so call early. Also, we don't accept cats or any other animal other than dogs under 80lbs. Two dogs is the max. For more details on our dog policy, please call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.