We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very clean, neat and safe feeling hotel. Everything was spotless. This hotel will not disappoint, staff was very helpful. Breakfast was a little sad, but plenty of other location nearby to eat at! 8 days on the road, best hotel entire trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Mary,

Thank you for the kind words. Looks like we need to work on our breakfast. Your wish is our command. Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    135
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
151
145
42
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

At our arrival the front desk clerk (Dante) was by far the most helpfull receptionist we had the pleasure of meeting ( and beleive me we did get great welcomings at other properties but Dante # 1 ). This property has the best housekeeping seen in many years ( I managed hotels for 30 some years and think I know what importance housekeeping is for a property)...even the air vent was clean!!!!. The corridors were clean also. The decor is sober and pleasant. Enough carts at reception for your luggage ( 3 trolleys). The pool is clean and warm but not boiling. The comp breakfast was best western`s norm. The beds will need a change in the near futur but are still confortable, the triple sheeting is somewhat upgraded . The bathroom amenities and linen are superior to a best western standard. All in all the best hotel on this trip !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
You're hired! :-)

Thank you for the kind words. Dante is a superb desk clerk. All of our staff is the best of the best in Roanoke. I'm very proud of them. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently stayed here for a night because travel plans would have me arriving the night before I could move into my apartment. It was super easy to get here from the Roanoke Airport, and John the front desk clerk was really friendly and efficient despite juggling 3 different things at once. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated and it was wonderful being able to collapse onto that comfortable kingsized bed after a long day. The little duck that accompanied the toiletries was a really cute touch. :) As much as I wanted to linger, I left early the next morning (after enjoying the included breakfast) where John again helped me with checkout. No complaints during my short stay, and if family/friends ever need a hotel in the area, I'll definitely recommend this location to them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a repeat visit to the same hotel because the last visit was so nice. Located right outside the Valley View Mall, everything you need is close by. Lovely and very clean, it has a fabulous staff of smiling, helpful folks. Beds were comfy in our nonsmoking kingsized room, with free wifi, and a comfortable reclining swivel chair with ottoman. Nice indoor pool although we didn't use it, and has a breakfast buffet with cartons of milk, fruit, miniboxes of cereal, wrapped pastry, bagels, waffles to pour, and small squares of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. There were also a number of free local newspapers, and a desktop computer in lobby for guests. And just to make you feel home, there is a small rubber duckie for you on the bath towels...I think it is their signature! Just a really pleasant place :)

Room Tip: There is a room safe fee, but they will remove it if you tell them you didn't use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Yes, the rubber ducky in the room is our signature. Believe it or not, we've had people (not a lot but a couple) complain that they were tacky. Might be...but our guests are the kind of people that love fun, warm receptions and clean rooms. That's us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I checked into the Best Western at the last minute because my house was undergoing a room renovation, and I realized it might be better to stay at a hotel for a night or two while the demo was going on. I ended up staying approximately 3 hours. The front desk was pleasant enough, and the room was clean, but it was really noisy. I kept hearing a sound almost like loud breathing, and it turned out to be the refrigerator in the cabinet! I had to turn it off. Sleep was impossible: the heating unit kicked on and off loudly every two minutes. I tried numerous control settings, trying to get a steady fan, to no avail. When I called down to the desk, a man told me he would be up "in a few minutes" to look at it, and that one solution was to simply turn the heater off (it was 38 degrees outside). He never showed up, and I packed up my things and left the hotel, telling the woman at the front desk - who had no idea I had called earlier - to be sure to cancel my reservation for the following night, though I realized I'd have to pay for the 3 hours I'd stayed. This was not a pleasant experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Emmi331, I'm soooo sorry that this happened! Usually the fridges don't make a loud noise so I'm not sure why this happened, but I am sure of one thing.....If you call me and tell me who you are, then I will absolutely refund your money. I don't want you paying for a room that you didn't get any sleep in.

I checked to see if there was a note about it in our communication log and didn't see one. Unfortunately, we don't have a maintenance engineer staffed 24 hours a day. (there's very little need for one), so it sounds like the desk clerk was going to attempt to do whatever he could but got busy and forgot. Again, I apologize.

Please call me and let me know who you are. I'd like to refund your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a stop off for the night on the Blue Ridge Parkway route.
We selected it due to TA reviews and price although we didn't make an advance reservation. Desk staff were welcoming and were helpful providing local information.
Room was comfortable although a little dark, linens clean however it had an almost overpowering airfreshner smell so the first thing we did was open the windows to ventilate. (Easier said than done due to security locks and had to use the icebin to prop the window open)
Pool looked inviting but didn't get the chance to utilise much to the disappointment of our young daughter.
Ideal location for the Mall and restaurants.
We would stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
To our UK friends, Thanks much for the review! I wish we would have scored higher since everything went well with your visit, but I'll take the three out of five. Just come back again and see us and let us earn a five out of five next time! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It still cracks me up that I got such a kick out of the little rubber ducky that was perched on the tubside bath linens. At ever BWPlus we stayed at after that, no matter how nice the room, I'd find myself saying, "But no rubber ducky." Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was about the best hotel-breakfast of our trip. We were within easy walking distance of several restaurants. It was here that we learned not to keep our key card by our cell phone, but we had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Bama friends! Thank you for the kind words! We're so glad you like our rubber duckies. We get so many compliments about them. Don't forget to "Like" us on Facebook too! We add packages and giveaways on there nearly every week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View

Address: 5050 Valley View Boulevard NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Hotel Roanoke
Best Western Roanoke
Roanoke Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.