We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the bar exam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the bar exam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here for the Virginia July 2010 bar exam, and I thought it was a great choice. For my mother and myself, we had a huge 2 bedroom - 2 bathroom suite with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very quiet. Good breakfast in the morning with plentiful options. I hope I never have to take the bar exam again, but I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and comfortable stay during this stressful time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us durning the Bar Exam and the fantastic comment on Trip Advisor. We really apprecaite you taking the time to say what a great stay you had. We wish you the best on passing of the Bar Exam and for your future. Please continue to tell you friends and family about us and we hope your travels will bring you this way again.

Thanks again, John Dudley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
24
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I agree with a previous reviewer--this is a great base to use for exploring the Roanoke area! This is another one of the "new" style Residence Inns, with large, spacious rooms and great amenities. It is a little hard to find because it's tucked away behind other hotels, and the signage is poor (my GPS directed me across the street!) Despite being close to Interstate 581, road noise was not a problem, and the nearby airport did not create any noise problems either. Large shopping areas with a lot of restaurant choices are very close by. My only complaint was the poorly-organized breakfast setup (a usual problem with Residence Inns), which means a lot of tripping over other people and almost-spills.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your feedback regarding our award winning Residence Inn, Roanoke Airport. We are very pleased you had a postive experiance with us. Should your travels ever bring you back this way again we hope you will stay with us. Please tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I was so impressed with this site that I have booked reservations at this Residence Inn for the Christmas Holidays. I had my first stay a year ago and the minute I walked through the door, I felt like I was coming home. I was warmly greeted and checked in with ease. All staff were friendly and made my stay a wonderful experience. I have traveled much in my life and have left daily tips for maids but NEVER have I had one to leave me a "thank-you" note for the tip. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. For me, the location was perfect. Plenty of free parking spcaes which is a plus. All the comforts of home!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We loved this hotel. The rooms are fantastic, especially the huge dressing area and bathroom. Fabulous space, comfortable beds. Very, very clean. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and prepared with all sorts of directions and information on nearby restaurants and shopping. Excellent coffee in the morning. Best part about this hotel is the location and how easy it is to access highways and local points of interest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were looking for moderately priced, comfortable hotel to share with family for a brief stay in Roanoke. We'd never stayed at a Residence Inn before but thought we give it a try - especially since they had a two bedroom, one living room type suite available. It was great in every single way. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, well arranged. It was nice having a "living room" to be together, but also having the privacy of individual bedrooms and baths. We were impressed by our first Residence Inn stay - and with the Residence Inn Roanoke!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is my 7th day here and I love this place! The rooms were bigger than I expected and the appliances are better than expected. I was surprised that they served breakfast AND dinner (Mon-Thur for dinner only). Breakfast very great, and I've only made dinner once and it was sufficient - that night it was salad and wings. The staff are very friendly, always saying hi. I think I read somewhere in the previous reviews that they did not think the location was safe.... I've felt fine and I'm a traveling solo female. It's a bit further to downtown but the mall with all your suburban chains are there.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

I travel to Roanoke a couple of times a month for business. This is the only hotel that we stay in. The rooms are clean and spacious. Definitely recommended. I normally never stay at these mid-tier properties but this Residence Inn has made me rethink the quality and comfort of these hotels.

While my review is positive, the gym at the hotel is barely usable. It has two treadmills, an elliptical and a set of free weights. I would like to see them expand the gym so that more than three people could use it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.