We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for Exploring Roanoke - Especially with Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
“Great Base for Exploring Roanoke - Especially with Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were looking for moderately priced, comfortable hotel to share with family for a brief stay in Roanoke. We'd never stayed at a Residence Inn before but thought we give it a try - especially since they had a two bedroom, one living room type suite available. It was great in every single way. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, well arranged. It was nice having a "living room" to be together, but also having the privacy of individual bedrooms and baths. We were impressed by our first Residence Inn stay - and with the Residence Inn Roanoke!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
24
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is my 7th day here and I love this place! The rooms were bigger than I expected and the appliances are better than expected. I was surprised that they served breakfast AND dinner (Mon-Thur for dinner only). Breakfast very great, and I've only made dinner once and it was sufficient - that night it was salad and wings. The staff are very friendly, always saying hi. I think I read somewhere in the previous reviews that they did not think the location was safe.... I've felt fine and I'm a traveling solo female. It's a bit further to downtown but the mall with all your suburban chains are there.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

I travel to Roanoke a couple of times a month for business. This is the only hotel that we stay in. The rooms are clean and spacious. Definitely recommended. I normally never stay at these mid-tier properties but this Residence Inn has made me rethink the quality and comfort of these hotels.

While my review is positive, the gym at the hotel is barely usable. It has two treadmills, an elliptical and a set of free weights. I would like to see them expand the gym so that more than three people could use it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

A stopover night on way to Washington DC. Arrived fairly late. Property is nice and new and stylish-like Marriott's new decor. However:

Comforter/throw on bed smelled of body odor and appeared to have a, let's say, DNA stain on it!!

Requested linens for pull out couch for my kids. Even said I would go down to desk and get them if that would be faster. Insisted that they would bring. After about 30 minutes with no linens, went down to desk anyway to find front desk clerk and maintenance man standing there talking.

My reservation was a package that included a free $10 gas card. Since I didn't receive it when I checked in, actually I forgot to ask, I asked for it as I was leaving. Clerk pulled up my account and said I didn't get a card on my reservation. I said that how did I know about the card if not on my reservation and was she going to quibble over $10 with a Gold Elite level customer. And she did

So ok, just got some employee issues

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

I've stayed at both the Courtyard and Residence Inn in Roanoke many times. They're next to each other and under the same management. The Residence Inn is my preferred location - everything is new and well cared for. The TV offers more channels, plus the spaciousness and kitchen area are great!
The "neighborhood" isn't so great - in fact, there have been some incidents in the last year or so. The Residence Inn has a policeman onsite all night and he will walk you to your car, etc. The parking lot is well lit and we haven't had any problems, but it does make you think twice.
Staff are helpful and you can't beat the proximity to the airport and downtown.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

In town to see the NCAA Division 3 softball world series. As I've said in other reviews, we try and always stay in Marriotts. This was a little pricier than the other options, but....easily the cleanest and nicest Residence Inn we've ever stayed in. Bright, clean, modern - it was just a pleasure to be there. Nice staff (nothing really out of the ordinary), but the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventurers in California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Being a family of five we tend to stay at Residence Inns most of the time. This was one of the best that we have stayed at. The staff, including the front desk, maintenance workers and breakfast ladies were all very friendly. The pool, basketball court and pool table room were all very clean. The highlight was our room, #316, which is a two bedroom suite. This was the nicest decorated Residence Inn Room we have seen, all brand new and ultra modern. Even our kids commented on how nice the room was. We would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Roanoke.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.