We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room layout, great overall amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great room layout, great overall amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I can't say enough about this hotel. We were so impressed with everything that came together to make our stay enjoyable. We decided to split up a long car ride into 2 shorter days now that we have an infant, and we certainly picked the right hotel to stay at!

Pros:

Fantastic Room Layout & Room Amenities - living room / seating area for 3 or 4 with an ottoman for your feet (under the coffee table), a separate desk area and desk chair, a small 2 person table for eating (so you don't have to eat at the desk or on your lap, like so many other hotel rooms!), full kitchen, enough space for a portable crib without it being in the way!!, a bathroom that has a toilet and shower/tub, with the sink separate, and best of all: a large, HD TV that swiveled 360° so that you could watch it while sitting on the couch OR while laying in bed. That alone sold us. I was able to go to sleep without the TV facing me while my husband was able to watch TV later into the evening like he enjoys.

Free Breakfast - We always book somewhere with free breakfast, and this breakfast & service certainly did not disappoint. Plentiful seating, almost every option for breakfast food (cereal, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruit, eggs, sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, make-it-yourself waffles, juices, etc) and the staff was very attentive to making sure coffee was always brewed and tables were cleaned as soon as someone left.

Hotel Amenities - Pool, hottub, and a free billiard room. Free parking for any length of time. Luggage carts are easily accessible. Business area with a printer. And an exercise room too, but... who does that on vacation?


Cons:

Front desk service - I know this changes with every employee, and I certainly don't think this reflects this hotel as a whole, but both people we dealt with were not cut out for the customer service industry. One did not seem to be able to multi-task and looked incredibly flustered when dealing with one person after another. It took me almost 20 minutes to check out when it could have easily been done in 5.

Noise - The walls and floor/ceiling seemed to be a bit thin. I could hear my neighbor next door talk on the phone almost clear as day (albeit it did sound like a heated conversation, he wasn't whispering) and when someone dropped something on the floor above us, it practically shook the room. I would suggest asking for the top floor if possible.

That being said, this was a fantastic hotel to stay in, and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if possible... the walls / floors seem to not mask sound very well, and every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
24
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is really nice. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. I loved the fact that it had a mini kitchen with a stove. My family stayed here for two nights and we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was extra caring and really wanted to make sure your stay was pleasurable. We were in town for a baskeball tournament so other teams stayed here as well. Everyone raved about the hotel's atmosphere and cleanliness. It was very easy to find because it was right off the main highway. The hotel is close to lots of shops and resturants which was awesome. They do serve a continental breakfast and it was really good. Food was fresh and hot. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Roanake area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something big the first floor rooms looked a lot bigger than the rooms upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here prior to an overseas trip and were very pleased. The room was over-sized, clean and comfortable.

They allowed us to park our car free of charge for three weeks and even provided a shuttle to the airport at no extra charge.

High marks all around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel was more appealing from outside (with exception of small pool) than the rest of the hotel. Other than the lobby, the place looked a little dated. We held our breath EVERY elevator ride due to the strange noises and jerky movements.

Front desk and housekeeping staff was friendly and accommodating. Laundry room was convenient although the washer and dryer loads cost $1.50 versus $1.00 at other Marriott hotels. Breakfast was awful - thanks goodness it was complimentary.

Rooms were decent. Layout of the room was good but the single TV shared between the bedroom and living room was disappointing. Wired internet was slower than other Marriott hotels that we have recently stayed at. Bathroom had black mold in the tile grout. Bedding was disappointing - the usual Marriott down comforter was replaced with a super thin sheet-like bedspread and the used-to-be flannel spare blanket felt more like a burlap sack.

Overall, the place was overpriced for what the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, PA, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night. There was a complimentary barbecue dinner. It included BBQ sandwiches, coleslaw, and tossed salad. It was good since it was free. What was impressive was breakfast the next morning. The cantaloupe was sweet. The breads were fresh. Eggs were served with choice of salsa, cheese, Tabasco. The potato wedges were nicely seasoned. The waffles were great. We also liked the layout of our room. There was a kitchen, separate living area and bedroom areas. The bathroom was very nice. The toiletries were slim, but the space was more than adequate. We appreciated that it was a non-smoking hotel. The dinner attendant and breakfast staff were attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Traveling to anywhere for a family funeral is never a pleasant experience, but this Residence Inn and its staff made more than the best of the circumstances. The facility attributes, which were excellent, was only exceeded by the pleasant staff. In particular, "Joseph," who checked us in, was exceedingly kind and saw to our every need. The funeral trip took us to three different hotels in a matter of days and neither of the others came anywhere close to the positive experience here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We used this hotel as a home-base to meet family. The hotel met all of our needs, but like the city of Roanoke the hotel seemed dated, rough around the edges and devoid of any luxury. The close proximity to housing projects and other rundown housing certainly didn't help.

If you are travelling on business, with kids or just need a stop over this place will do fine.From what I could tell there isn't a truly nice hotel in the city. If you want any sort of experience keep driving (preferably past Roanoke.

I will say, however, that the entire staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.