We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

What a great place to stay! I just spent five days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is clean and the staff is amazing. The rooms are very nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. I travel a lot and this hotel ranks at the top.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
21
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel is new with granite countertops, some rooms with a fireplace, and extremely clean. The breakfast was excellent also. The Courtyard was next door with an excellent bar and cafe - very convenient since I was only staying a short time.

Room Tip: High floor near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking time to say some nice things about our property. We are glad you enjoyed the granite countertops and a room that has a fireplace. Also thank you for sharing how clean you found our property and that you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast. Having our sister property the Courtyard next door does offer our guest a bar option, as well as an indoor pool when our outdoor pool is closed. I hope you will tell all of your friends and family about us and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I travel weekly and spend roughly 40 + weeks a year in Hotels. I have stayed in high end hotels as well as discount hotels. In my travels I have rarely encountered a hotel that simultaneously delivered on cleanliness, good food and outstanding customer server. The Residence Inn in Roanoke Va does all three.

The most impressive of the three is the customer service and that can be measured not by the service desk providing the expected level of help but how much they engage the customers and get to know them

The hotel general manager (John Dudley) and his staff are always courteous, helpful and professional . I was struck by how much they are aware of their customers when I had to change my plans and extend a day. John was working desk and was changing my reservation and he asked me which room I was currenlty in. I couldnt remember off hand but the assistant manager (Robert) actually knew which room I was in without looking at the computer.

While I realize I have stayed there for almost 3 months, if I thought this was only a level of interest in a regular customer i wouldnt take the time to write this review. I have seen John, Robert and Michelle engaging customers with equal courtesy, knowledge and support.

I cannot say enough about the staff. I look at well run organizations and it is always a combination of great employees and great management. Consistenly Great Performance cannot exist without both. I attribute that to the management team of John and Robert.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your postive experiance. It is good to know that you find the customer service experiance so postive at our hotel. As you mention, you are a frequent guest at our hotel and we do try to get to know everybody that stays with us so we can treat them more like family while they are away from home on travel. Both of the managers work hard to take care of our staff so they in return will take care of our guests. I will share your great comments with the staff and we will continue to give the "great performance" you have come to enjoy at our property. Please tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife, son, and pet enjoyed this location for 3 nights. There was a security officer on sight each night. The rooms were VERY Clean. The breakfast staff went out of their way to make each patron feel at home. The food was hot and fresh. The location is convenient to the airport, downtown Roanoke, Salem and most any area of the Roanoke Valley area. There is a $100 non-refundable pet deposit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share about your postive experiance. We are glad you found our property to be safe, convenient and clean. Many folks say or close location to major highways, regional mall and Historic Downtown is a real plus for staying here. I will be sure to share with our breakfast staff that you enjoyed the fresh hot food and that you felt they went out of thier way to take care of you. I hope you will tell all of your family and friends about us and come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed in the studio which is quite spacious. The kitchen has everything - even a stove top. The living area and bedroom are set up very nicely and you just tilt the large TV in either direction. The location is great - just off the highway, but not close enough to be bothered by traffic. The hotel was super quiet (except you might want to turn off your refrigerator's ice maker so it doesn't come on in the middle of the night.). You are just a mile from the mall which has tons of restaurants and not far from downtown.

Breakfast is excellent-you can fill up or eat healthy with cereal, fresh fruit, and yogurt. I did not have the evening meal--two of the nights it didn't appeal to me and the one night it did (baked potato bar), I had other plans. But I saw a lot of other folks taking advantage of it.

The gym is small and was overheated but I took advantage of the pass to Gold's Gym, which is amazing. It's huge and uncrowded, even at the peak morning time. You should bring a towel with you if you plan to shower there.

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. One tiny thing was I didn't get new shampoo after I used it up the day before-not sure if they just give you one bottle per stay.

My only real complaint was my room was too warm. I didn't even have the heat turned on and the temperature stayed at 72, which is too hot for sleeping. I guess I could have tried turning the AC on, but that seemed kind of wasteful. I will try that next time though as I do plan to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your recent stay with us and postive feedback. Lots of guest, as you did, find our location close to shopping, many resturants and Historic Downtown Roanoke. We are also glad you said our breakfast "Excellent". All of the items you mention are complimentary, along with the social Monday-Wednesday. For some of our members our fitness center is fine, however the option for a complimentary pass to Gold's Gym is great for folks needing more. I will be sure to share with our staff that you found everyone to be friendly and helpful. We hope you will return soon and please tell all of your friends, family and co-workers about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Two adults, one med sized dog recently stayed here. The room was fine, the staff was friendly. They cut the $100 pet fee in half after inspecting the room at checkout. Breakfast was hot and good in a nice, clean area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to write about your postive experiance with us. We are glad you brought along your family pet. We will be sure to share with our staff that you found them to be friendly and the rooms clean. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area and please tell folks about our property when they are looking to come to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

Away from main road this hotel is quiet and clean.Everything is up to date as the hotel is only a few years old. All service people are very nice.Breakfast is substantial and they provide several options. Loved those waffles! Managers reception provides complimentary light evening menu in the evening.Nice fireplace seating in the lobby and a separate library room.My only complaint is that they did not have wine or beer as part of the managers reception which some other Residence Inns have but I have never seen such huge baked potatoes!Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you found our property to be in like new condition, we are actually going on our 5 year but many guest tell us how new we look. We work hard to keep our property up so our guest have a good experiance. I will be sure to tell our staff you commented on how nice and friendly everyone is. Glad you enjoyed our complimentary full breakfast buffet and found our property to be quite and clean. I hope you will tell all of your friends and family about us and stay with us again on you next trip to our area. Thanks again for taking time to comment on your postive experiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.