We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Hendersonville, TN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful new hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Clean new hotel next near airport but never heard planes in our room. Staff very nice. Only negative is TV. Must have frequent problems as troubleshooting issues were in the room. Would come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We are glad you like our "Wonderful NEW hotel". We actually opened in October of 2007 but work hard everyday to keep the property like new for our guests. I am happy to report that the TV's issues you had have all been replaced with new LCD TV's with HD service coming in the near future. We work hard to make sure our guests want to come back and glad you want to do so. Please tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    30
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
22
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Great Free State of Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here in April for a family wedding. I have always been a fan of the Residence Inn brand, but this one is definitely best-in-breed. All common facilities were spotless, manager and breakfast staff were super-friendly and helpful upon arrival, room setup was fantastic. This is a newer Residence Inn and the decor is upgraded and the appliances very new - and really, this is excellent value for money here.

Though I stay at all levels of Marriotts, I love the Residence Inn brand just as much as I love the Ritz-Carlton, though for different reasons - and this is about as good as the Residence Inn gets. Will definitely stay here again if/when travels take me to Roanoke.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
WOW, and thank you so much for the GREAT COMMENTS. We like to feel we are a "superb choice" and "best of the Residence Inn's" too! Our staff pride themselves on being "super friendly" and work hard everyday to make our property "spotless". We look forward to a return visit and hope that you will tell all of your friends and family about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stay in Marriott properties. A lot. My husband is a Platinum Rewards member. When we decided to spend two weeks in Roanoke over the holidays, the Residence Inn was an obvious choice. We reserved a one bedroom suite with a fireplace.

Pros: Friendly, polite and courteous staff (offered to help me carry laundry to the laundry room, helped me bring in groceries from the car), great location, very quiet, large and well-equipped suite, full size dishwasher and stove with oven (other Residence Inn's I have stayed at had a mini dishwasher and only a two burner cooktop)

Cons: Fireplace did not work properly (attempted to fix twice, but still could not get it to stay on for more than 20 minutes). Housekeeping staff leaves as soon as they are "finished," with all of their rooms, which is usually by noon. So if you are a late riser, forget about having your room serviced (front desk will provide clean towels and a trash bag, but this results in a huge mound of dirty towels and bags of trash). The sheets on the bed were the thinnest, cheapest sheets I have ever seen. I have never seen sheets like this in a Marriott property. We stayed at a Fairfield Inn recently and had better linens. The bed itself was in need of replacement - giant dip in the middle of the mattress. While the room was clean in general, there were some details being ignored - corners in the bathroom had tile/grout debris, a dead stinkbug sat on top of a light fixture for our entire stay, and in our two week visit the kitchen was never cleaned beyond emptying the trash. Kitchen linens were never changed. Amenities provided in other Residence Inns not provided here - liquid dish soap, paper towels. Wireless internet is fast but unstable.

Overall it was a good visit and we will stay here again when we are visiting family. I just can't give it 5 stars - maybe I'm too picky. Great value for the money though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The hotel is a block or two off the road, so it's quiet. The place is in great shape and a good residence inn. The one in Harrisonburg, Va really defines a GREAT residence inn - this one is very good. Rooms in good condition as are the public areas. Easy access and quiet. Can't ask for more. Well - maybe some good wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for taking time out to say postive things about our hotel. We strive to give the very best in guest service and product and am glad you enjoyed you stay with us. As the GM of the Roanoke Residence I agree that the newer, larger Residence Inn in Harrisonburg in very nice, glad to be in the same company with our Residence Inn. Hope you will tell all of your friends about us and will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Housekeeping staff did a fine job. Front desk staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your kind remarks. We strive everyday to give our guest the very best in guest service and product. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed just one night, on the way from DC to Greenville, SC. What a shame, we didn't have more time to enjoy the accommodations here. The rooms are very well designed and clean with a nice kitchenette, which we didn't use, and free internet. The sofabed was clean but not made. However, pillows and bedding were promptly supplied when requested.The Breakfast was good, although the dining area is a bit of a disappointment after the rooms. Very close to the I-81. As we had a GPS, we did find the Residence Inn without too much of a hassle, although, we did not notice any signs. I think a Courtyard by Marriott was next door.
The Manager was very helpful with printed directions to nearby restaurants etc. We found a fabulous Mexican restaurant, for dinner. The Margaritas were out of this world and the food and service was very very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you very much for stayiing with us and for taking time to share about your postive stay. We are glad you found our rooms to be so nice, the kitchen's are a nice extra for our guests. Also good to know you found us easy to find and that our staff took good care of you. We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I stayed here for the Virginia July 2010 bar exam, and I thought it was a great choice. For my mother and myself, we had a huge 2 bedroom - 2 bathroom suite with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very quiet. Good breakfast in the morning with plentiful options. I hope I never have to take the bar exam again, but I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet and comfortable stay during this stressful time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbdud24, General Manager at Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you so much for staying with us durning the Bar Exam and the fantastic comment on Trip Advisor. We really apprecaite you taking the time to say what a great stay you had. We wish you the best on passing of the Bar Exam and for your future. Please continue to tell you friends and family about us and we hope your travels will bring you this way again.

Thanks again, John Dudley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 3305 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Roanoke Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.