We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place in Roanoke.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro!

Metro!
14 Campbell Ave SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
540 345 6645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 377 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, American, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jefferson St.
Description: Metro! is downtown Roanoke’s premier restaurant and lounge. Though approaching the decade mark, Metro! continues to set standards for excellent cuisine and nightlife. An experience at Metro! brings to mind comparable restaurants in DC and New York City. Our extensive menu features American and Asian cuisine, with an a la carte steak and seafood selection. Nightly specials highlight unique chef-inspired creations. Our hand-crafted cocktails routinely garner awards from local publications. Our guest DJs are among the best in the world - they tour the globe performing for crowds of thousands, yet always love coming back to Roanoke to play on our state-of-the-art sound system. Come taste the difference - the experience that is Metro!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place in Roanoke.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went here for dinner while in town for work. They have a diverse and interesting menu, and the wait staff was very accomodating. We had the fried green tomatoes, two different sushi rolls, and the truffle fries. It was a random compilation of items, but it was all tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lords Valley
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Metro was very crowded and it seemed like it would be an excellent choice. Started off well with a glass of wine and exceptional bread and then went down hill. We ordered an appetizer of dim sum to share. The dim sum were ok and the sauces made it better than ok. Included in a lower basket was chicken wings and spare ribs. They were both covered in a very sweet sesame sauce, like the sauce on seasame chicken. Too sweet and definitely not good with the spare ribs.
One of the reasons we wanted to try Metro was its write up on how careful they were in selecting sustainable fish. My wife ordered sushi, tuna and mackerel. The tuna was not the usual pink we are used to seeing in sushi. It was more tan and I guess we should have not accepted it. It was not good. Not that it tasted bad, it just didn't taste like good sushi.
The mackerel looked good but like the tuna, it didn't taste like fresh mackerel.
I ordered the shrimp and grits. I have had it before but never with a marinara sauce. I have had it with a cheese, with butter and sometimes with sausage and bell peppers. It was not what I expected and not very good.
All in all Metro was a big disappointmen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We went with friends for dinner and had not been to Metro for a very long time. We were very pleased with our entire experience. When we arrived the hostess offered us a "wonderful table" and we asked about outside dining. She was very accommodating and after checking out both, we selected the "wonderful table" (which it REALLY was and we would definitely request the same table in the future). Our server was helpful and didn't hover. We enjoyed a very relaxed evening with an excellent dinner - ceviche, shrimp dumplings, kobe beef burger, soft shell crab sandwich and crab cake. The food quality was excellent and we will definitely return sooner rather than later.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, Creative & Sophisticated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This restaurant could be in DC, Boston, NY or Montreal but what a surprise, it is in downtown Roanoke.

The beer and wines are not your ordinary, they are for the culinarian. Fusion inspired entrées and appetizers with comfort food for those who aren't overly adventurous. We loved this place!

My kids (14 & 12) were reluctant but left as raving fans.

This is a must stop for anyone in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Very enjoyable evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I joined another couple for dinner at metro on Monday night. The waitstaff was very attentive and the host/maitre de/manager (dexter) were very helpful with food and wine selections. I had the 8oz filet with blue cheese gnocchi, it was cooked perfectly and the gnocchi was a delightful change from the standard steak and potatoes you find at most restaurants. My wife, being a vegetarian had the chef recommended ramp and mushroom risotto and loved every bite. Overall a wonderful experience and will be going back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro! also viewed

 
Roanoke, VA
 

Been to Metro!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.