We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Penn Yan, NY
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

You never really know what you will get when you make a late stop at a hotel while traveling. We hit the jackpot with this one. We were in an executive suite and it was great! Not your normal hotel room layout which made it even nicer. Very well appointed and made our short time there a very pleasant stay. The towels were very soft. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was ok, typical free breakfast with your room rate but at least we didn't have to make another stop to eat. There was a small couch, tv and desk in one area and another tv in the bedroom area. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Even a phone in the bathroom! We were told it had been remodeled/redecorated a year ago. We definitely will put it on our list to stop again when on the road.

Room Tip: #417 worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
27
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I needed an option as another property near the airport was shutting down and being converted to another brand. That being said, this Fairfield was ok but pricey. Very comfortable bed, decent room overall. Minuses: watery scrambled eggs and wifi did not work on my smartphone. I found the team to be a little distant and insincere. Pricey in the sense it was nearly 40 bucks more per night than the other property I knew and liked. I might return but please lower the rates by 10 to 20 percent.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear CandyMan627,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations - as of July 3, 2014, Daly Seven, Inc has taken ownership of this hotel and we appreciate your feedback in regards to our amenities and rates to help improve our future guests' experience. We hope you will give Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North another chance and are grateful for the opportunity to win back your business! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As rewards members we have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years. This Fairfield Inn was certainly a disappointment. There was no one at the front desk when we arrived, (we hollered) no warm welcome,and no cookies! After settling in our room and two trips to the desk to get our internet working we opened the curtains to discover a broken window that had been temporarily patched with packing tape. It is our opinion that this room should not be rented out until the window is replaced. The toilet paper holder was falling off the wall in the bathroom. Nearby restaurants were few and far between and the young lady at the desk could not recommend any.She was very helpful and apologetic with our internet problem. The room rate was higher than most Fairfields and they did not offer the senior or AAA discount that most others do. We did try to address our concerns to the manager but he was not available and the young lady was working alone and quite busy. All in all......we will not be staying at this property again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi,
I’m sorry that we do not offer cookies as we've chosen to provide juice and fruit instead.
Our clerk should have had our "we're away" sign up so you would know she stepped away for a minute and I apologize. I did notice that it was less than a minute from when you arrived to when the clerk returned, but I understand we did not meet your expectations upon arrival.
I'm not sure about what problems you may have had with the Internet as we have the best available bandwidth and saturation in the market. I see that you were able to get connected after speaking with our clerk. You can always call the desk or the support technician's number provided on the desk in the room for assistance.
I'm sorry if our clerk neglected to inform you of the cracked window. We, as you stated, have temporarily taped the inside single pane in a double paned window, until the glass our installer ordered arrives. Because it doesn't pose any danger, we are able to rent the room, but you should've been informed.
The price of the room is very competitive for our market and we do not price our hotel against other Fairfield Inns that are not in our competitive market set. We were running a lower rate for the weekend you stayed with us so we did not offer discounts on a discounted rate.
I’m sorry that I was not available Sunday morning to discuss your concerns as I am off on most Sundays. I’m always happy to discuss ways we can improve and I appreciate you taking the time to help us to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for two days in March. Ive stayed in many fairfield hotels all over the north east and I found this to be one of the better ones. It was clean modern and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We love to hear that we've met expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cornwall Township
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We checked the review and selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor's positive comments. If we would have wanted a two star hotel, we would not have paid for this one listed at 3. If this was an $89 per night room, we would not have minded, but we paid $159 per night for our 3 night stay.

The people were VERY nice and tried . However, when we checked in, our original room had a broken window and big hair clumps in the shower. The kind staff moved us... Our new room had a damaged shower curtain and toilet paper dispenser. The breakfast was never really stocked well (cold gravy, missing biscuits, watery eggs, etc...- 3 days in a row). AND, on our first morning, we didn't get out until close to 10 am and they didn't change the sheets or clean the room (they left a note saying that we were in the room and they could not come in to clean it)- we were out of the room before 10am. Disappointing stay:(

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi, I'm sorry you felt our Hotel was overpriced. Thank you for the comment about our friendly staff. I apologize for any deficiencies that you discovered during your stay. We were happy to give you the upgrade to the King suite because of the problems you found with the first room. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and we will use your comments to help us to improve going forward. Please, in the future, let us know anything we can do to make you more comfortable while you're in the hotel. We are happy to address any concerns any of our customers have immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a great hotel -- it is a remodeled Fairfield Inn & Suites, so it has a modern, clean vibe to it. I am a platinum Marriott member, so I stay at Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inns A LOT...and this is a good one (and ick, there are some bad ones)....Let's see - the gym is really nice at this hotel: 2 nice treadmills with working tvs on them, an elliptical with a tv, a weight bench, and free weights. It is clean and bright. Loved it. Also, there are a lot of t.v. channels - not just 14 ESPNs and Fox news, but Bravo and HGTV and all the other woman business traveler channels! lol! The beds and pillows are comfy, the hair dryer is powerful...and the staff is friendly. What else do you need? Loved it, no worries.

Room Tip: I was by the elevator and didn't hear a thing - no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The room was clean but never got really warm and there was not enough bedclothes was was cold most of the night. It was very cold outside but the room never really felt warm. No hair dryer and had to plug my laptop into the bathroom plug --no other plug available. Nice desk person both evening and morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi, I'm not sure why your room was cold but we often have guests that have difficulty with the thermostat on the wall. We keep our hair dryers in the closet in the guest room. We have a plug on the lamp on the desk top in all of our rooms. Thank you for the comment on our desk staff. Please call down to our reception desk for any problems that you incur at any of our properties. We are happy to do our best to resolve any issues immediately in order for you to be comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Address: 7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Roanoke North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North Hotel Roanoke
Fairfield Inn Roanoke
Fairfield Roanoke
Roanoke Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.