We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Accessible Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although I did not request an accessible room I received one upon my recent check in; I hope this review is helpful to anyone specifically seeking an accessible room review.

The hotel was full during my stay (a Virginia Tech game that weekend), and check in was smooth. I rarely had to wait for an elevator during my stay. Upon arriving at my room I noticed that it did have a button to push to open the door; I did not test it, but it appeared that you would insert your keycard and then hold the button down for five seconds rather than using the handle.

The room was spacious but appeared just like the photos of the two queen room on the website. If you were using a wheelchair or walker I imagine you might want to move the desk chair into the far corner of the room, but that is the only adjustment that jumped out at me. The microwave might have been a little challenging to reach from a wheelchair, but everything else was easy to get to and at a suitable height.

The bathroom was noticeably different and clearly designed for accessibility. The tub/shower featured a fold down bench and a hand held shower. There was a stationary shower head as well, but I could not get it to work. The water did seem to increase in heat a bit over time and the bench is not within arm's reach of the controls; if you are not able to move on your own to adjust the controls I encourage you to wait a few minutes for the water to stabilize before getting in. Additionally, the bench are in the tub is next to the sink; you cannot place your wheelchair next to the bench. It may be challenging to transfer from a wheelchair to the bench without assistance. There are wall bars for support in the tub and on the wall behind and to the left of the toilet. There is minimal countertop around the sink (compared to a standard room). One thing I did notice: there were no tissues in this room. I have a feeling they usually go in the standard bathroom vanity and this adjusted vanity did not allow for them. Towels were placed only on the wall above the toilet. If you were using a wheelchair bath towels would be out of reach.

If you were navigating the breakfast area with a wheelchair or assisting someone using a wheelchair I would think this would be your largest challenge. Again, the hotel was full during my stay. Items on the breakfast buffet are placed very closely together and the area is congested. The coffee is essentially in a corner. Tables and other seating in the area is placed close enough together that I found it challenging to get around the room.

This room was directly across from the vending area and one room away from the elevators.

I would stay here again if the situation called for it, but I'd be just as likely to look at another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    34
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
24
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great compliment to Va Tech Hokie fans who dominated the hotel, probably for the football game. The place was clean, friendly, and relatively near Blacksburg being just off of the interstate. The breakfast buffet was very good for a continental selection. Planning on going back for a game next year. Really enjoyed seeing all of the guests with Hokie shirts on.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night - is is close to highway - easy to find - shopping and dining close by. Nice area! The room was very clean and new, staff very friendly. Breakfast was good - waffles, sandwiches, yogurts, fruits - everything you would want - very good coffee. The pool was closed - Jacuzzi inside and nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I used this hotel as a stopping point on my way to Gatlinburg, TN. Easy on/off I-81 and in a good location. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and when I asked to change my room, they did it without any question or conversation.
My room overlooked the outdoor pool and it was a bit noisy with children until about 8pm but other than that, there was no extraneous noise.
This Fairfield Inn offered more than the regular Jimmy Dean Biscuits. There was a selection of lower calorie items and this went a long way for me. The turkey/cheese breakfast burrito was excellent and the woman running the breakfast was very friendly, chatty and really seemed to care about the conversations she had.
I will definitely be stopping at this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went down to Roanoke for the weekend. This hotel is outside of the city, but a little closer to where we were doing some hiking. The location is close to Hollins (and a Gander Mtn if you need some last minute hiking supplies).

The room was very comfortable, nicer than other Fairfields I've been to. It was clean and a good value for the money. There is an exercise room and an outdoor pool and the whirlpool was a great treat after a long hike.

Breakfast is what I would call, "expanded continental." It included the regular cold cereal and muffin options, but had a waffle maker and breakfast burritos as well. It was enough to keep us tied over until an early dinner. Geraldine, keeper of the breakfast bar, was incredibly warm and welcoming. She took the time to learn each person's names and introduce us to each other. Fantastic service!

All and all a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you like quaint, inviting, and clean the Fairfield will accomodate you! Service=great, Staff=friendly, Value=depends on your rate, Cleaniness=great housekeeping, Location= perfect (not too busy)

A kind tip to the hotel management "Discard the old bed sheets".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed in this hotel last weekend on my way home to penn. from Alabama. I really didn't expect much because it's not around much and is located just off the highway I could not have been more wrong. I was thoroughly blown away by the customer service. I work at a five star hotel so I expect a lot typically. Now I must say that I arrived at 2am and departed at 9am, but I was treated like I was an extended stay resident. The breakfast is one of the best continental around, partly because of the assortment of options but primarily because of the women that tends to the breakfast. She was absolutely phenomenal with my tired three year old son who is a grouch in the morning especially after a long car ride. Thank you and look forward to seeing you on my next trip south.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North

Address: 7944 Plantation Rd, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Roanoke North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North Hotel Roanoke
Fairfield Inn Roanoke
Fairfield Roanoke
Roanoke Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.