We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos Brazilian Intl Cuisine

Carlos Brazilian Intl Cuisine
4167 Electric Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-8443
+1 540-776-1117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 377 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Private dining rooms available for special events, rehearsal dinner, weddings, special meeting, family reunion or just dinner for two.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our "go to" restaurant for a fine dining experience. The service is impecable, the food is excelent and for a place worthy of special ocassions or just an evening out, the price is moderate.

It has the best view of the city.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lords Valley
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Didn't Live Up to My Recollection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Two years ago we ordered food to go and loved it. We looked forward to having the same dishes we had 2 years ago. This year we had the same thing at the restaurant.
We ordered Black Bean Soup and Paella a la Valenciana. The soup came out warm, not hot. We sent it back and they heated it. I would have preferred it a little thicker so it was only OK.
We split the Paella and here again it was only OK. I remember it being really good 2 years ago. I don't think they had enough safron in the rice so it lacked that nice safron taste.
The chicken was cut up chicken and was dry and not tastey.It loses something when the chicken is not cooked on the bone.
They used Polish kielbasa for the sausage and it would have been better if they used chorizo from Spain since this dish originated in Spain.
Should we go back to Carlos, we would order different dishes.
The service and ambiance were excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The lunch meal was outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wife and I took a friend to Carlos for lunch and found the lunch time meal to be outstanding. The food was hot and was prepared perfect. We all had something different and compared our meals. They all got first class rating.
It had been many month since our last visit, but this time was perfect lunch time meal.
The view from the main Dinning area was great. The fall colors were in full view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice service, average food, okay view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's all relative and maybe Carlos is a fine-dining experience in Roanoke?

Parts of the view included mountains, yes, but parts of the view also included the strip shopping mall across the street. The service was friendly and attentive, but not polished by any stretch. There were people wearing baseball hats in the dining room.

The menu sounded interesting and we were hopeful. The lobster bisque was good - good start. The rest was.... disappointing.

The bread served before dinner appeared to be underbaked grocery store french rolls... served with foil wrapped pats of butter.

I added the hearts of palm, artichokes, tomatoes and olives to my house salad - expecting a mediterranean experience. I got a pre-plated, refrigerated salad with cold hard tomatoes, canned palm hearts and artichokes added. Plain manzanilla olives with pimento - nothing more exotic than the jarred kind we all grew up with. The avocado dressing was good and added needed flavor.

Our dishes included Shrimp and scallops sautéed with tomatoes and spinach in a white wine garlic sauce over angel hair pasta and Moqueca Mineira: Shrimp, clams and white fish in a "spicy" Brazilian sauce with onions, red pimientos and scallions.

The shrimp and scallops were just bland. I tasted some garlic and not much else but I couldn't see any garlic in the sauce. I'm not sure how the shrimp and scallops were prepared, but they were flavorless. The angel hair was served as a large blob in the center of the bowl with the seafood around. My husband said the same about the Moqueca Mineira - bland; not spicy at all. We both added salt to our dishes, which we rarely do.

A disappointing meal @ $128 plus tip for a family of 4.

Carlos needs to overhaul the kitchen and their offerings if they are going to continue to attempt the "fine-dining" experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good food with a beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a few colleagues, and we all really enjoyed it. We had something from each part of the menu, and all of it was excellent. Reasonably priced for "fine dining" in Roanoke. The view is beautiful....if you go on a nice night the patio is very nice. The service was excellent. It can be difficult to find with GPS, so maybe call ahead to ask for landmarks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Brazilian Intl Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Carlos Brazilian Intl Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Brazilian Intl Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.