We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking during the holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
JAX, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking during the holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Reasonably priced. Beautiful holiday displays. Big clean rooms. very helpful staff. I lost an earring and they helped me fill out the lost and found form. When another guest turned it in, Hotel Roanoke mailed it back to me at their expense. OUTSTANDING SERVICE all around.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear GoodyGooderton, thank you for your review of the Hotel and we are thrilled you were able to stay during the holidays and see our Fashions for Evergreens display. We were able to raise more than $2,500 this year for the United Way. It is always great to read a review where lost items are found and returned. We appreciate your review and hope you can visit again soon. Safe Travels, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    333
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
389
43
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful foyer and building. Large comfortable room. Perfect distance to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Snickerdoddle, thank you for posting a review of the Hotel. We hope you can make it back to Roanoke again soon. We will share your kind words with our staff. Safe Travels, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The employees were great and extremely friendly. Those folks were the best part of the stay. The hotel itself is OK, nothing great but nothing bad. Being an older hotel, the rooms are a bit small and the shower heads are pretty low. The hotel was decorated nicely for the holidays. Had the breakfast buffet in the Regency Room one morning. It was not bad but at $19, its a bit expensive. Self parking is $7 per night. Nothing spectacular about this place...but nothing terribly wrong either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Dear gopoets, we appreciate your review of the hotel and are thrilled you were provided with great service and treated with our award-winning southern hospitality. As mentioned, being a Historic Hotel of America we do have many variations of room types and there are a couple smaller rooms, but we hope you do come back and visit us soon and book one of our more spacious accommodations. Sincerely, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This is a average hotel. The service isnt any beter than a average hotel. The rooms have above average pillows and beding. We didn't have any soap but thats like the average hotel where you make do.The hotel looks realy nice (like a 4 or 5 star) on the out side and looks nice on the inside but I was disapointed. I am hopeing when people say it is the nicest place in the area that there wrong. Don't get me wrong theres nothing wrong with the hotel, We stayed one night and it was nice but it is just average.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear flstf, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us as it is extremely important to know how each visit is perceived. I am a bit disappointed as we strive daily to present an exceptional experience at our hotel and know we are much better than experienced. We do hoe you try us again and please let us know when you’re coming to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. Safe travels, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The Hotel Roanoke was a great place to stay in downtown Roanoke. We have recently started to stay in more historic properties on our travels and we were glad we chose The Roanoke. The lobby was beautiful with lots of comfy sitting areas, paneled walls, etc. and it was decorated for Christmas.... a bonus that jump started our Christmas spirit. There were also lots of photos showing the history of the hotel. Our room was an end room on the 2nd floor, with two double beds and it was very spacious. The room was clean and updated in decor. It was a cold and blustery day so we had to really pump up the heat in the room, but it was fine. There was not that much to do in the downtown area, but we did enjoy the outdoor market and many shops in the square. The hotel has an enclosed walkway that takes you right into the square area... another plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear babobear1, thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and were able to see our Fashions for Evergreens event and decorations that occur during the holiday season. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon!
Safe travels,
Gary Walton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We were traveling on Thanksgiving Day, and chose the Hotel Roanoke on the mistaken belief that as guests staying in the hotel we could dine in the restaurant. The restaurant was "sold out" for their Thanksgiving buffet, and management made no effort to accomodate hotel guests such as ourselves. On arrival we were told we could call the restaurant repeatedly to see if they had a cancellation, or have a sandwich in the bar. Apparently management did not consider saving a few of the hundreds of spots in the buffet seatings for guests. The front desk personnel could not have cared less; they left it to us to contact the restaurant to see if a vacancy occurred. I wonder if the hotel and restaurant are on the same team.

The hotel is a renovated old classic. Rooms are small, which is to be expected, and have character. The furnishings are fine. Our room had no closet, but a wardrobe provided a couple of feet of hanging space. The room was equipped with a flat panel TV, with a good selection of channels, including some in HD. Internet access is ten bucks a day, and self parking, which involves a hike up and down a hill, is $7. Rates for local and long distance calls are among the highest I have seen anywhere, so bring your cell phone.

I would recommend the Hotel Roanoke, unless you arrive on a day the restaurant has some holiday function.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear kiwifan, thank you for your review of the Hotel. I am a troubled to read your review regarding the Thanksgiving buffet. While the buffet is extremely popular, we do allot seating for our in-house guests and try to accommodate everyone as much as possible. Our team works very hard to provide an outstanding product, and we are better than what you experienced. Your review will be shared with our staff. We hope you can visit again in the near future. Kind regards, Gary Walton, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I came for the Toastmasters conference. What a great event. The hotel was a great deal and they had no problem with any of my special (ie. random) requests throughout the weekend. I wanted to especially note that the front desk staff were always cheerful and helpful to the utmost and there was always someone opening the front doors for us. The hotel itself is so picturesque and historic in the best way. When I checked my bed for bugs (just in case), the only thing a found was a hair. My friend noted that the stairs down to the parking would be improved if there were a little luggage ramp next to them, she said that is more common in Sweden then the US, but it would be a good idea, as the other choices are - check out car and then check out hotel, drag rolling luggage down stairs, down grass, or walk on the road. I carried my bags, so just passing along the thought for anyone interested.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear ToastmasterLiker, thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will share your review with our staff and will discuss the recommendation. We hope you will be able to visit Roanoke again soon and stay at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center.
Safe Travels,
Gary Walton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.