We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hotel Roanoke was my first stop after 27 hours of flights from Australia. It was well worth it! I really enjoyed the character of the hotel, the staff at the desk were very polite & welcoming. The room was perfect for what I wanted. Clean, comfortable, relaxing and inviting. Roanoke is also a great little town. The next morning on July 4, the airline lost my baggage. Again, the staff at the front desk were wounderful in helping me reconnect with my bags. Next time I visit, I'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear MichaelForster86, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We loved reading your review and are honored to have been the first welcome upon your landing in the states. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    373
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
265
436
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I will stay here again. It had the right mix of value and luxury. I can't wait to travel on I81 again just to have the excuse to stay again!

I mostly liked the Southern hospitality that greeted us. Bellhops with a helpful attitude met us when we drove up. Also, we thouroughly enjoyed cocktails in the bar with a light dinner. The prices weren't overly exorbitant. The next morning, we found the buffet breakfast to be exactly what a buffet breakfast should be.

I am recommending this hotel to everyone that I meet.

Room Tip: Make sure you are part of the Hilton Honors system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear DaniBlack51, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We greatly appreciate the recommendation and the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you traveling I81 again soon! We'd love to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a great hotel for a romantic weekend. Walkway to town center for the many festivals (Indian food this weekend - the country) Price was ok for this time of year and the area. Classic old hotel with a great little bar. Several weddings this weekend made for a lively time. If you were looking for quiet this wasn't the right time for you. Might as well valet as it is only 5 bucks more than the self park. Cookies at check-in were awesome! There were three couples of us and we all had a great time. Hotel staff was excellent. Recommend the Sunday breakfast buffet though it is a little pricey and kept my rating a 4 instead of a 5.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear D_Coop_NC, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that if your travels return you to the Valley, that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were impressed--its old-fashioned, comfortable porch with its
rocking chairs was so welcoming.
The room was huge and spotless and luxurious.
Although we were anxious to get back on the road, we opted to have breakfast at the hotel. What
a wise decision that turned out to be. the food was delicious and served so beautifully. The formal-
ly attired waiters were real professionals. Even though the room was formal--there was an ease
and comfort.
We were sorry that we did not opt to return here on our drive back to New York.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Decor71, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review as it exemplifies the wow and surprise factor we wish to present to our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that if your travels return you to the area that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callao, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Room was nice, but the only chair was a desk chair. Person in the next room was so loud, I didn't sleep two hours. My fault;I didn't call the desk to complain,but the walls must be paper thin. A little over priced considering $8.00 a night to self park on top of the premium room pricing. No dinner on Sunday night was surprising and not much close by, but I like the easy access to Downtown. Service was great. This is our third time there so don't think by the first part of this review that it is all negative. We like the hotel and it's history and will stay again. And I recommend it. Just know that having stayed in other hotels in Roanoke this hotel serves as another star.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Ron J, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as we strive to present the absolute best in product, service and experience. I will be sharing your review with our staff and hope that if your travels return you to the Valley, that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

quite close to an interstate spur and within a couple of blocks of downtown, yet comfortably isolated from traffic. ample open-air parking and valet parking. checkin was very slow, but that was the only glitch in our stay. the restaurant food and service were excellent, although expensive.

the room had everything we needed -- except a refrigerator. that's an odd omission these days.

there's a gerbil run over the train tracks to the virginia transportation museum and the o. winston link art museum. a block later you're at a bunch of downtown restaurants, which are very reasonably priced.

we've stayed here several times before and never been disappointed. the management combination of doubletree and virginia tech works very well.

Room Tip: we've never had a bad room -- or a bad experience -- here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear joebobbilly, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your return patronage and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sharing your review with our team and hope that if your travels return you to the Valley, that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by Suzanne at the front desk. When I told her we were celebrating our 10th anniversary she went out of her way to help us. She asked what we liked before recommending downtown restaurants. Her recommendations were spot on. We were surprised when we returned to the room to find champagne and strawberries. Charlie in the Executive Lounge was a treat to be around and made our time very enjoyable. We have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke several times over the years and always enjoyed it but this time was more exceptional!

Room Tip: The Executive floor is worth the money, as is the bed and breakfast option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Cathy B, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have been chosen for your special anniversary and are thrilled to see that this recent stay was exceptional. We appreciate your patronage and hope to be a part of many more celebrations. Happy Anniversary, and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.