We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stop on a long trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Stop on a long trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

A great historical hotel. We arrived after dark and the hotel was beautifully lit. It was very busy but we had a quick and pleasant check in. The children enjoyed the outdoor pool. We did not experience any of the dinning options, breakfast was available but pricey. The rooms were typical hotel style rooms but clean and comfortable. A nice stay all in all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    334
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
393
44
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Roanoke for three nights while I was taking the Virginia Bar Exam at the Civic Center. The hotel staff was warm and accommodating. They gave great recommendations for food and drink. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is delicious! There was no refrigerator in my room, so I would recommend bringing a cooler. There were ice buckets in the room and a vending machine down the hall. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm hospitality and comfortable rooms as you prepared to take the bar exam. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel Roanoke never fails to impress. Nice room, excellent service, lovely grounds, beautiful location. The food and beverages are seriously over priced, for average fair, but tasty and enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for staying here at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a DoubleTree by Hilton. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A beautiful old hotel with lots of old world class, The staff was superb. The rockers on the front porch are a great place for an afternoon iced tea or evening cocktail. Our room was beautiful overlooking the front of the hotel and downtown. The walkway to the downtown city square provided easy accessibility to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the front of the hotel overlooking the city square the view is pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Julia S, your comments about your stay at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, A DoubleTree by Hilton made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable (along with our great location). Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great Location, walking distance to center of town. Great experience for a weekend getaway. Room was well appointed. We didn't eat at the dining room though it looked nice. Did utilize the bar and outdoor patio, very nice and prices seemed reasonable. I would definitely return for another stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on front right wing on first floor look into the backs of bushes. Ok for privacy but no view u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear PeterCuinmaui, thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, A DoubleTree by Hilton. We at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center take pleasure in creating a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future and hope you will join us in Regency Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent! Nothing like the Hotel Roanoke for old town history and quality accommodations. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Roanoke, whether business or pleasure. The staff is excellent and the rooms are magnificent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Robin D, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, A DoubleTree by Hilton and for being such a loyal guest. The staff works hard to make your stay so fabulous! Glad it shows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very good experience. Excellent restaurant. Good location. Overall high quality. Good hotel with lots of history. Must see transportation museum. Restaurant a top quality old fashioned experience in fine dining. Great hotel with excellent renovations. Roanoke has a real gem. Convenient stopover on a road trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dail F, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored you chose to stay with us and visit the Transportation Museum. There are a lot of great things happening in our area so we hope you can come back and visit soon. We look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.