We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Roanoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Owned by Virginia Tech run by Hilton, what you'd expect from Hilton, terrific bed, reasonably sized room (historical facility so rooms not expansive) clean bathrooms etc. There's a walkway across railroad tracks to city center with plenty of dining options from roadhouse to boutique dining. Location is a little tricky to get too first time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear James T, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, A Doubletree by Hilton. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the many restaurants that the downtown area has to offer. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    334
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
393
44
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appalachian Mountains
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I only live two hours away from The Hotel Roanoke, yet I had never stayed there. My wife and I needed a quick location for a belated anniversary celebration. I was surprised that the rates are less than the typical B&B. The corner rooms are great -- octagonal shape, two windows, beautiful four poster bed. We enjoyed getting lost in this big place. I can't imagine the money that was spent on all the renovations, but beautiful old venues like this deserve that kind of TLC>

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Wayne P, thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am very happy that you chose The Hotel Roanoke & Conference A DoubleTree by Hilton to celebrate your anniversary. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Thanks for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The air conditioner was so loud and kept turning on every 15 minutes. The front desk said they were having trouble with them but did not send anyone to check or fix it. My wife did not sleep at all that night. This pretty well ruined our weekend getaway for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear L4587HHmikes, , thank you for your review of the hotel. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced with your stay. We strive daily to present the best in service, product and experience and unfortunately did not deliver during your stay. I am sharing your review with our staff and hope to earn your business again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel and great staff! I booked through their Facebook page and highly recommend it. I was able to get the early check-in. Valet staff were very accommodating and helpful. Hotel is right off of the highway, making it easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Andrea B, thank you for choosing The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center. I am pleased that you found it easy to book a room on our Facebook page. We appreciate your comments and hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I needed a quick place for a one-night belated anniversary celebration. I only live two hours away. Had never considered this place. Had never even been to downtown Roanoke. Had been to the outlying shopping areas countless times. Was shocked to find room rates comparable, or less than a typical B&B.
Wow, was I impressed. Based on other reviews I had seen, I asked for a corner room. So glad I did. Octagon shaped, four poster bed, very classy. The online photos don't do this place justice.
And then you walk across the bridge to countless, small great restaurants of all varieties, quaint shops, and the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning was quite fun.
The Art Museum down the street was free!
Downtown Roanoke, VA is the perfect place for a delightful getaway.

Room Tip: From what I understand, there is no cost increase to ask for a corner room, windows on both sides, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear 848justme99, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored you chose to stay with us and visit the downtown area. There are a lot of great things happening in Downtown so we hope you can come back and visit soon. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

By chance I decided to try the Hotel Roanoke on a business trip. I'm so glad I did since I discovered a wonderful hotel with plenty of history and character. The hotel was clean and orderly. The gracefully aged furnishings and appointments reminded me of an age gone by. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Since it is a Hilton property it gives you all the benefits of such (loyalty points, etc.). The restaurant and pub were very welcoming. The lobby is an excellent choice to simply sip coffee or tea and watch people coming and going. I did walk across the enclosed pedestrian bridge to the Market Place on a Sunday evening. I was a bit disappointed with the atmosphere downtown -- lots of drunken partying, several loners standing on corners watching your every movement -- enough of which gave me an uncomfortable feeling, so I returned to the hotel for a quiet evening. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Roanoke for business or pleasure. There are plenty of things to do within the city and this hotel grants you everything you would want for a home base.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear OBXfan1964, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the City. I hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose the hotel for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent accommodations, service, and an exceptional dining room on site. Also located within walking distance of the Roanoke market with dining locations, shops, and a couple of museums. Great place for a business trip or a quick get away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Hunter N, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.