We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stay between Asheville and DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stay between Asheville and DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I needed to break up the 8 hour drive and this hotel was a great stop. The room was clean. I loved the warm cookie I received at check-in. I ate dinner in the bar and was served well. I will definitely consider staying here the next time I need to break up a long drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear nytraveler8, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and will surely share them with the staff. We hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    334
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
393
44
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I loved staying at Hotel Roanoke, especially during the Christmas season. It's classic and very well maintained. My room was comfortable with great beds and very clean. I love that you can step outside, walk to the walkway that crosses the railroad tracks (you get a great view of the city from the walkway) and you end up in the heart of downtown with an amazing mix of shops and restaurants. Definitely recommend a stay at this historic hotel and take time to walk around the halls and look at the historic photos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out at the downtown area and across to the mountain with the Roanoke star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Slaniergraham, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and hope if your travels return you to the Valley, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights. Had a fabulous room which had great views and spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. The breakfast buffet was excellent together with the service. We had a meal in the restaurant on the 4 July which was excellent. The pool area was excellent. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Margy65, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and the recommendation! I will surely pass along your kind words to our staff. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is our 3rd year in a row that we have stayed at Hotel Roanoke for our girls trip.

The staff was great...very accommodating!!! We asked for a rollaway bed and it was brought to our room within minutes. Front desk staff we so helpful and very nice!

Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Well appointed room with period furniture and décor.

Love the location to downtown...you can walk to restaurants and nightlife very easily.

The only negative would be it is not as clean as I remember past visits. Hair on the bathroom floor and in shower upon arrival. Dust on tv console/dresser.

With that being said we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear dpowers41, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I will be sharing your review with our staff and ensuring corrective measures are put into place. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel Roanoke has a great reputation. It does everything necessary to protect that reputation. Lovely accommodations and excellent service in every area. Location is close to the Taubman Museum, City Market and many other sites within walking distance. The rooms are large and comfortable. Bedding and mattress insure a good night's sleep. I look forward to visiting Roakoke purely for enjoyment purposes. And I know where I will stay during my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Philip L, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will gladly pass along the kind words to our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince William County, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You will not be disappointed with this absolutely gorgeous, historic hotel. The architecture, restaurants, service, grounds - it's all a wonderful experience. We loved our stay and most definately look forward to returning.

Room Tip: This is an historic hotel, so some rooms do require use of ramps or steps, depending on the room loa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear M H, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will gladly pass along the kind words to our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersburg, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

So disappointed. have stayed at your hotel before. This time, 2 of us (different rooms) checked in. Other person received room key around 2;30. I checked inat that time but it was after 7:00 PM before I received a key.!! Other person had a "suite" style room with key to Executive area. I did not receive the larger style room or admission into Execuytive area. We both paid the same price. Why, considering both checked in at the same time, were travelling together, and paid the same, were we treated differently?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Carol S, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and due to the historic nature of the hotel, we do have varying room sizes and options that are available. I am reviewing this with our team to see what happened to ensure it, not only doesn't happen again, but to make sure we correct this for all future arrivals. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us and do hope you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.