We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“no title”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The young lady who waited tables and tended bar in the Pine Room on June 29th was outstanding. She stayed very busy; however, she kept a smile on her face. The housekeeping staff was very kind. I had breakfast in the dining room and found the food and service to be very nice. The chef cooking eggs was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Aaron M, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will gladly pass along the kind words to our staff and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley, that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    333
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
389
44
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Market, VA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love this hotel. I have stayed here a few times now and it always a great experience. The staff is so helpful and welcoming. I will definitely be staying here again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Margaret A, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate your return patronage and are honored to have you as a guest. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to serving you again when your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I were hiking the Blue Ridge Parkway and decided to spend two nights in Roanoke. My family is well traveled, and cultured. We were dressed casually, and I asked at the front desk if it would be appropriate to eat at the restaurant in the hotel. The hotel said, "of course". The hostess of the restaurant did not want to give us a table. He said initially that he was totally booked. (There were multiple tables opened). Then he asked, "are you staying with us?". My husband answered, "Yes". He suggested the more casual pub across the lobby. I told him that we did not prefer the menu. He apologized again for not having a table, and as we walked out, he changed his mind, and invited us in. He then looked at me, and said, "this may just be the best meal you've ever eaten". I did not respond, and was insulted. Our meal was fantastic, and we dropped $244.00 on it, plus a $50.00 tip. Your older male hostess with the southern accent needs to learn some manners. The waitress was so sweet, and the music on Friday and Saturday nights makes the experience. It was not the best meal I've ever had, but certainly a good one.

The hotel rooms are spacious, and clean. The hotel was mostly quiet with some intoxicated people coming in late. The outside of the hotel is beautiful and historic. We did not eat in the pub. It is a short walk from the square. Parking fees are fair. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Katheethecamper, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will certainly be addressing this with our food and beverage team as this is not acceptable. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall and do hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel Roanoke is still a "world class" hotel. Our convention has met here before, but the room and facilities this time were the best ever! We arrived early, but our room was ready. Check in was a pleasure, and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear James N, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It was wonderful to read that your experience this time around was even better than the last. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to read that this experience was the best yet. We hope that if your travels return you to the area, that you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Roanoke for three days. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in Virginia. Crystal chandeliers, luxurious lobby and hall, beautiful rooms - at this property you feel like a royal person.
The city downtown with restaurants and sightseeings is withing 5 min of walking distance from the hotel.
The Miss Virginia Beauty Pageant was held at the hotel while we were there.
We were given a chocolate chip cookie during the check-in – a sweet touch. And the check-out process took 2-3 seconds – we made it by phone.
Excellent venue and definitely the best hotel in Roanoke.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear InterContinentalKiev, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and I am glad to read that while you visited during a busy period, your experience was still well received and what we strive for. I will be sharing your review with our staff and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

No refrigerator, microwave though they rent fridges but frequently sell out. Reserve your well in advance. You can request train side rooms for the railfan. Norfolk Southern runs right past the front door 150 yards. A glass bridge connects to downtown and is good for trainwatching but is warm as it is a greenhouse. Miss Virginia pageant was the same weekend. Shortsighted for our conference, though the scenery was quite spectacular, even when you didn't go outside!! Virginia Museum of Transportation is short walk and O. Winston Link Museum is right next door in the former train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Michael S, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I hope if your travels return you to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived for an overnight stay with two of our sons and family; family reunion with another sons who lives in the area. Hotel was very accommodating and friendly for pictures, late check out and breakfast, considering the Miss Virginia pageant was also taking place there. Service was excellent, room was above average and grounds were nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear djmattman, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read that service was impacted even though levels of business were extremely busy. I hope that if you visit the area again, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.