We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was beautiful and historically rich. My husband and I really enjoyed touring its halls and reading up on its history. The front staff were very kind and helpful. They went above and beyond to try to help us enjoy our stay. I must say, beware of the Regency Package. While the dining room is beautiful (please, go!) do not purchase the Regency Package. It was disappointment after disappointment. My husband and I should have received champagne and strawberries when we arrived, and we did not see it until 10:45 that evening, after we called and let them know we STILL had not received it...they let us know it would take another 30 min to bring it to us. We were confused as to what that entailed at dinner, which was DELICIOUS, and our waiter was not very helpful. In the end, at least at dinner, I felt like our service was not the same as that of every other diner in the room. A three course dinner lasted THREE hours. We were the last of the tables in the restraraunt and the doors had closed (we were NOT the last table seated, by ANY means. A dinner at 7:00pm should NOT last until 10:00 pm). The waiter proceeded to clear and set no less than three tables for the next morning’s formal breakfast before even looking at us to see how we were coming along with dessert. My husband had to go up and asked whether we received a check, or whether because we purchased the package we were good to leave. He never asked us if we were finished or if we enjoyed our meal. In the end, I feel our Regency package gave us less than desirable service at dinner, and I'm honestly not sure why. We came for a relaxing, enjoyable, and romantic weekend. We received stress, and problem after problem. Short story: come here, enjoy the hotel and history, have dinner in the beautifully appointed Regency Room and enjoy the delicious dinner... however, do NOT purchase the Regency Package.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Joshua C, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. A package is set up to ensure no stress and complete one on one time and we were not at our best. I am sharing your review with our staff and ensuring that corrective measures our put into place immediately. We are better than this and should never slip on service in any way to ensure a proper and satisfying stay for our guests. I hope you will give us another chance to show our best side, that we strive for with every guest stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    412
    108
    56
    18
See reviews for
294
482
53
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
meadow bridge, wv, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and each visit is top notch from the rooms to the restuarant. The food was excellant. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Rodney W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate your return patronage and are honored to serve you when visiting the Roanoke Valley. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Arrived on a Friday and left on Sunday. Great hotel and conference center. Very clean, very quiet and very friendly. Our meeting was in the auditorium. Bed were comfy. You have to check the AKA. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: become a Hilton honors member
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear jmccord66, thank you for your review and for visiting us on a business adventure. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again on your return.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Roanoke. The room was clean and comfortable, staff friendly. We especially enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Regency Room. We travel a lot and that was some of the best food and service we have had anywhere - highly recommend. The Banana Foster was even better than what we had in New Orleans. We also very much enjoyed the Roanoke Food Tour that started at the Hotel Roanoke the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear mgkdavis, thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. We are honored and appreciative to have served you for such a special occasion. Thank you! I am also glad to read that you enjoyed the new food tour and experienced the restaurant on property. We hope if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had to be in Roanoke on business for two nights and did not know the area well. My company travel site offered us this option. This hotel is a real treat. It was originally built in 1872 but has been added onto and renovated through the years. It is luxurious, old and new all at once. I loved staying here! Will go back with my husband for sure. It is in downtown Roanoke which was very convenient to our client site. It has a great restaurant but it is expensive. It also has a pub like bar which also serves food at reasonable prices. The downtown is easy to reach via a glass enclosed walkway over the train tracks. Lots do shops, bars and eateries downtown. Very quaint and fun place to explore. The hotel gave us a guide. I hated to leave and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you don't like to listen to trains you need to ask for a room not facing the trains but I lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 60one, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return and hope you have the opportunity to experience all the great things that are happening in the Valley. We can't wait to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missjess1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Some friends and I stayed here this past weekend for a Bachelorette party. I just wanted to send out a huge thanks to Chris Baker who works valet. He was very professional and went out of his way to be so very helpful. We REALLY appreciated all of his help! The hotel itself was very clean and accomadating. When we called due to one of our friends having a down/feather allergy they came promptly to change all of the linens on her bed. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!
Steph W

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear missjess1, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sure to pass along the kind words and am grateful to read that your stay was accommodated as we seek to serve all of our guests. I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Great classic hotel, hospitable front desk staff. Small bar, conference going on so that we not accessible. Limited hours on Executive Lounge. Nice workout facility. Clean rooms but hotel needs some updating (wall covering, paint, etc.). Biggest disappointment was dirty carpets in hallways and glasses, plates, napkins with dinner ware in front of many rooms. Makes you wonder is they send housekeeping home at 5pm. This place could be way better with a few cosmetic changes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear John S, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. I thank you for bringing your experience to our attention as the issues presented are unacceptable by our standards. I will be sharing your review with our staff and will have corrective measures put into place. I do hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley that you will give us another chance to show our true southern hospitality.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.