We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My DH and I stayed at tho lovely hotel during Christmas holiday. I am originally from the area with family in town but we wanted to have a mini vacation while we were there. The room was great internet was a bit slow but great stay. the bed was a bit too soft for my taste I like a firmer mattress. The service was awesome and the decor was beautiful.
We stayed on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear roninzero, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if your travels bring you back to visit family, you will again choose us for your mini-vacation. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    373
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
265
436
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairfield,ct
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Beautiful property, we visited in December (holiday decorations were beautiful) Actually they entire property is decorated with great taste. We stayed here as it was in the middle of our road trip. I will come back just to stay here it is that nice. Not only are the rooms comfortable and pretty, the whole hotel is filled with aniques and beautiful things. The staff is knowledgable , welcoming and encourge you to explore the property.The restuarant has GOOD food and GOOD service. The price using AARP, AAA,ect is amazingly reasonable. Try this place it's a Jewel.

Room Tip: Very upscale Hilton has hit a homerun with this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear hungryhungryhippo, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Thank you also for the kind words and recommendations. The holidays are a special time here and we are always excited to serve guests and welcome them with southern charm to share in the season. I hope if you have the opportunity to come back and visit again, you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Spring, Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

they have done a very nice job in the renovations, and this is a great place for a convention. The restaurants are good, and there is a walkway to get down town to several great restaurants. Our room was excellent, and we would go back again without hesitation.

You do have to pay for parking to stay there which is a negative

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear hospitalguyonweb, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is adjacent to downtown and three museums (the O. Winston Link, the Taubman, and the Virginia Transportation Museum. Our room had a great view of the train tracks, the downtown landscape, and the Mill Mountain Star. The room was huge not including the living room of the suite. comfortable beds, quality linens, aromatic toiletries, and the wonderful breakfast buffet. A professional and competent staff. A great value as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Thomas R, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to serve you during the holiday season. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed over the weekend to spend time at Down Town Roanoke's annual holiday festival. The hotel is perfect location for access to the top restaurants and festivities. The rooms are well apportioned and the Pine Room pub is a great place to spend time after coming back from events. The Pine Room seems to have music most weekend nights - Hoppie Vaughan was playing last night and he was fantastic. The local businesses put up Christmas trees all over the hotel making helping to make for a perfect holiday weekend getaway location.

Room Tip: The exec rooms are on the first floor but the corridors have pass key access limiting noise and traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear PA-VTFan, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to serve you during the holidays and are thrilled to see you took advantage of all the great activities happening around the hotel this season. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 8-year-old son last night, and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a perfect location in Roanoke - an attractive, short glass walkway leads directly from the hotel to the Market Square, with lots of restaurants, walkways, small shops, and frequent events. (Last night, we stumbled across lots of happy dogs at the Santa Paws event as part of the Dickens of a Christmas event. Our waitress told us that there's an event at Market Square practically every weekend.) Back at the hotel, there was a warm fire in the fireplace in the lobby, surrounded by armchairs, plus a hot cocoa with marshmallows stand, and at least six Christmas trees, all decorated differently. There was also a swimming pool and a pub with a pool table, though we didn't try these.

All of the staff we met, from the many valets to the check-in clerks to the cocoa stand ladies, were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, with lots of fluffy pillows and thick towels. I took one star off this review, however, because of the bathtub / shower in our room. The bath tub plug didn't work, and the shower tap control wouldn't turn properly, and was either firmly locked into the shut position, or far too loose, splashing water on the floor. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel - it's really fun.

On another note, please be careful to call the hotel's direct phone number to make your booking. Check the area code for Roanoke, Virginia, and don't go through any numbers that start with 855 or 800. I called an 855 number, and after making my booking was transferred to "Hilton Grand Vacations" to listen to an offer that seemed to be something out of Glen Garry Glen Ross. Book direct!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Paige W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the extensive review as well as the recommendation. I hope you enjoyed your time here during the holiday season and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have been a member of Hilton Honors for some time. I travel a lot for business and I must admit I was very impressed with this hotel and the staff. It was Christmas time and the tree decorating throughout the hotel may have been part of the experience, but I will be staying here whenever I come to town again. Thank you for providing a quality hotel, professional staff and affordable rates. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Cory C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is an honor to serve you and we thank you for your return patronage. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.