We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for the holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home for the holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke provides our family a "home for the holidays" at Thanksgiving each year. The atmosphere is comfortably elegant but not stuffy. The Christmas trees throughout the hotel delight our grandchildren. We find the service consistenly good. The location of a room with a view of the Christmas tree in the plaza, downtown Roanoke and the star on the mountain was perfect. For railroad buffs this is a must stay if visiting southwest Virginia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Pastorsam1, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and hope to host your family for many more occasions. Thank you for spending this special time of year with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    373
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
265
436
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful; however, substandard room and food quality led to my poor rating. Having stayed in Double Trees previously all over the country I was disappointed in this one, especially with colleges within 30 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Don M, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as we strive daily to present the absolute best in product, experience and service. I will be sharing your review with our staff to ensure that corrective measures are put into place immediately. I do hope if you find yourself in the area again, you will give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

As always, this hotel meets or exceeds our expectations. We have stayed there on nearly every occasion. The staff is great, the location is ideal. I have business appointments in Roanoke and I can walk from there to anywhere downtown. The Regency Room is great for special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Uli B, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Thank you also for your continued patronage. It's an honor and a privilege to serve you upon your visits to Roanoke. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This old historic hotel is being managed by Doubletree, and I was very impressed with how modern and up to date everything was. We were on a long drive from Nashville north to Syracuse, and Roanoke was a good stopping point for a night. When I read about the Roanoke Hotel in Tripadvisor I was hooked, and the hotel earned its great reviews and exceeded our expectations. The lobby of the hotel is lovely, and our room was very generous sized and very quiet. Hotel staff very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Cobi00, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is the second time our Agency has stayed at the Hotel Roanoke - A Hilton Double Tree Hotel. The staff provided very helpful info to me, not only regarding the hotel, but detailed information on attractions in the local area to visit on my off days. The Valet and Bell staff was especially helpful ! Felt like I was treated like Royalty. Very friendly and hospitable staff. Although this Hotel was a Hilton Double Tree, the staff treated us as if it was a Hilton or Conrad Hilton Hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mark G, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and your continued patronage. I will be sharing this review with our staff as it exemplifies what we want our guests to experience each and every time they visit.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a beautifully maintained historic structure. The staff was consistently welcoming. (I wish I could remember the name of the bellman on duty Sunday afternoon - he was great; my memory is bad). The room was lovely. There was an electrical problem (no power in some of the outlets), and two employees came immediately to check it out. They decided to move me to another room, which was done immediately. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds, and is a quick walk to the historic area of Roanoke. The trains passing through just next to the hotel added to the charm. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Nancy C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to see your issue was resolved immediately as we strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and are not always perfect. I appreciate your review and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Checked in for a weekend overnight stay. Had stayed here many years prior, and this property is full of history and nostalgia. It is part of the Hilton Honors brand. Service was excellent and the valet parking was spot on as well. Only improvement could have been the bed. Needs to be replaced as it is old and worn. Other than that, well worth staying and enjoying the atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear ECU1987, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our staff to put some corrective measures in place. I appreciate the kind words and hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.