We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We liked our stay at the Hotel Roanoke.Restaurant,especially breakfast buffet was superb there.Staff serving us in the restaurant were very attentive to our needs.I loved the happy atmosphere all around.You made our stay super. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear smita2420, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience in the restaurant. I will be sharing your review with our staff and hope that if your travels bring you back to Roanoke, that we will again be able to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    371
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
263
433
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Good location for downtown business. Pedestrian walkway to downtown is helpful because parking is a problem. I enjoyed the classic turn of the century decorating and design quirks. Vallet parking is a must given distance to parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear John F, thank you for review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope if your travel plans bring you back to the Valley that we may again serve you here at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is right downtown, with nice covered walkway over to art museum and other downtown attractions. This hotel is huge, didn't know it had conference center also. It is an older hotel, that has been renovated, and I loved the mix of old and new. We all enjoyed walking around the whole property. Check in was super friendly. We stayed in one of their PURE rooms - for those with allergy issues. Wanted to try it out. Room was fine. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant in the morning, and while a tad pricey, it was a neat experience, and the food was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear canatrace, thank your for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful you had an opportunity to experience the PURE room as well as take advantage of the restaurant. If your travels return you to the Star City, we hope to be able to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A gracious environment welcomes for your visit - friendly and attentive staff - excellent food - fitness facility -- complementary hotel shuttle to and from the airport. Business center made it easy for me to prepare for my meetings. Plan to return for fun!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Martha S, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We look forward to your fun visit and can't wait to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice, classic hotel. the stay was courteous, room was clean and well equipped. The food and staffing in the Regency Dining room was superb. We would stay again. i don't have anymore to say, but they want me to write 200 characters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Grgood, thank you for your review of the Hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you had a chance to experience the restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the best check in I've ever had at a hotel. Robert was most accommodating and friendly. We we're celebrating our anniversary. The hotel treated us most graciously. We reserved the standard room with breakfast. The room was well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear wayne m, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to be a part of such a wonderful occasion and its wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us a part of your celebrations. We hope to celebrate with you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for the night this past weekend..

Like the reviews say don't let the Doubletree name sway you..

This hotel is part of the National Registry of Historic Hotels..

It is beauitful, when you walk in the lobby you feel like your back in history, with a big portarit of Robert E Lee, and the very nicely appointed lobby area...

We were greeted when we arrived at the hotel by the bellman and valet, you can either Valet your car ($12 per day) or self parking ($7 per day) do know its a little walk from the parking lot to the Front Entrance if you self-park and it is up-hill or down-hill depending..

It is located right in the Center of downtown Roanoke, there is a big skybridge that brings you over the railroad tracks and right into the city...

There are a number of restaurants and eateries and ATM's in the area, not to mention a beauitful Farmer's market during the weekends...

The check-in at the front desk was very good, and we were given a Bigger Room (Room 340)..

The room was the typical 2 double bedded room and had a partial view of downtown and the front entrance and railroad tracks..

The room had a nice picture of the old pamplet for the Hotel Roanoke, and there was an enclosed glass plate with the Hotel Roanoke 1882..(the year the hotel was originally built...

There's lots of history for this hotel and also a cool (with children) Railroad Museum about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel (depending on what type of walker you are)

We never had any food at the hotel (was very busy) but looked very professional..

Check-out was a breeze as expected..

Would stay here again...

Room Tip: If you want a view of the City, make sure to ask for it, if you don't want a City View, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear caneshockey31, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation. I will be sharing your review with our staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.