We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice, classic hotel. the stay was courteous, room was clean and well equipped. The food and staffing in the Regency Dining room was superb. We would stay again. i don't have anymore to say, but they want me to write 200 characters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Grgood, thank you for your review of the Hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you had a chance to experience the restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    358
    98
    56
    18
See reviews for
256
422
46
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the best check in I've ever had at a hotel. Robert was most accommodating and friendly. We we're celebrating our anniversary. The hotel treated us most graciously. We reserved the standard room with breakfast. The room was well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear wayne m, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to be a part of such a wonderful occasion and its wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us a part of your celebrations. We hope to celebrate with you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for the night this past weekend..

Like the reviews say don't let the Doubletree name sway you..

This hotel is part of the National Registry of Historic Hotels..

It is beauitful, when you walk in the lobby you feel like your back in history, with a big portarit of Robert E Lee, and the very nicely appointed lobby area...

We were greeted when we arrived at the hotel by the bellman and valet, you can either Valet your car ($12 per day) or self parking ($7 per day) do know its a little walk from the parking lot to the Front Entrance if you self-park and it is up-hill or down-hill depending..

It is located right in the Center of downtown Roanoke, there is a big skybridge that brings you over the railroad tracks and right into the city...

There are a number of restaurants and eateries and ATM's in the area, not to mention a beauitful Farmer's market during the weekends...

The check-in at the front desk was very good, and we were given a Bigger Room (Room 340)..

The room was the typical 2 double bedded room and had a partial view of downtown and the front entrance and railroad tracks..

The room had a nice picture of the old pamplet for the Hotel Roanoke, and there was an enclosed glass plate with the Hotel Roanoke 1882..(the year the hotel was originally built...

There's lots of history for this hotel and also a cool (with children) Railroad Museum about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel (depending on what type of walker you are)

We never had any food at the hotel (was very busy) but looked very professional..

Check-out was a breeze as expected..

Would stay here again...

Room Tip: If you want a view of the City, make sure to ask for it, if you don't want a City View, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear caneshockey31, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation. I will be sharing your review with our staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Double Tree Hilton Hotel at Roanoke, VA, USA is located in a beautiful surrounding with the city down town in the vicinity. The building itself has its ancient value and has a large accommodation. The facilities are one of the topmost in the city. One would like to come and stay here time and again. The soundproofing of the rooms need to be improved to make them more quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Nirmal Chandra J, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and I will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I love these great old hotels when they are properly restored, and this is no exception. Don't let the Hilton or Doubletree names put you off, the hotel was first built in the late 1800s, in the railroad era, and it was (and still is) splendid. Southern charm and hospitality compliment large and updated rooms, bathrooms and lobby areas. Access to The Blue Ridge Parkway with tons of things to do in the area make this a great place for a quiet, good nights sleep or just a relaxing day.

Room Tip: All seems good, some face the city and old rail,yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear KPboulder, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and will be sharing them with our staff. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit the area in the future, that we will again be able to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to Roanoke to go to the Virginia Tech vs. University of Maryland football game. We Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely king room. The location was great for having many restaurants in walking distance. My only negative comment is that the glasses were not replaced and the ice bucket wasn't emptied when our room was made up. Mild oversight that showed lack of attention to detail. The staff was great in all other interactions. The security guard recommended two fun restaurants, the front desk gave us cookies when we checked in (and two more cookies for the second night when I asked). I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear NewboldBroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will certainly be addressing this with our staff. This is certainly not acceptable by our standards and we will ensure that corrective measures will be put into place immediately. I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Love the large porch with rocking chairs to people watch and sip a glass of wine on after dinner. Comfortable, quiet rooms with attractive decor. Great location with over the railroad tracks walkway to the historical downtown area to grab a bite to eat or shop.oh, and don't forget the warm complimentary chocolate chip cookies! Yum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear lrhobson, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is great to read that you enjoyed the property as well as the warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookie. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.