We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An accommodation par satisfaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Dhanbad, India
1 review
“An accommodation par satisfaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Double Tree Hilton Hotel at Roanoke, VA, USA is located in a beautiful surrounding with the city down town in the vicinity. The building itself has its ancient value and has a large accommodation. The facilities are one of the topmost in the city. One would like to come and stay here time and again. The soundproofing of the rooms need to be improved to make them more quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Nirmal Chandra J, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and I will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    371
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
263
433
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I love these great old hotels when they are properly restored, and this is no exception. Don't let the Hilton or Doubletree names put you off, the hotel was first built in the late 1800s, in the railroad era, and it was (and still is) splendid. Southern charm and hospitality compliment large and updated rooms, bathrooms and lobby areas. Access to The Blue Ridge Parkway with tons of things to do in the area make this a great place for a quiet, good nights sleep or just a relaxing day.

Room Tip: All seems good, some face the city and old rail,yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear KPboulder, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and will be sharing them with our staff. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit the area in the future, that we will again be able to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to Roanoke to go to the Virginia Tech vs. University of Maryland football game. We Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely king room. The location was great for having many restaurants in walking distance. My only negative comment is that the glasses were not replaced and the ice bucket wasn't emptied when our room was made up. Mild oversight that showed lack of attention to detail. The staff was great in all other interactions. The security guard recommended two fun restaurants, the front desk gave us cookies when we checked in (and two more cookies for the second night when I asked). I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear NewboldBroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will certainly be addressing this with our staff. This is certainly not acceptable by our standards and we will ensure that corrective measures will be put into place immediately. I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Love the large porch with rocking chairs to people watch and sip a glass of wine on after dinner. Comfortable, quiet rooms with attractive decor. Great location with over the railroad tracks walkway to the historical downtown area to grab a bite to eat or shop.oh, and don't forget the warm complimentary chocolate chip cookies! Yum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear lrhobson, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is great to read that you enjoyed the property as well as the warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookie. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is a grand old hotel that has been brought into the 21st century. From the moment you drive up until you leave you are treated as an good friends. I had stayed here some years ago before the hotel was renovated and I was greatly impressed with the canges and improvments. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and very plesantly decorated. The bathroom had been completly redone and was sparking clean. We had very good nights sleep in the comfortable beds.

Breakfast was very reasonbly priced and extremely good, from the made to order omelettes to the spoon-bread.

Every employee I met were extremely friendly and helpful.

Walk across the railroad tracks on the enclosed bridge to the downtown core and you will find a great selection of resturants, shops and several museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear E_of_Virginia, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words, and I will be sharing your review with our staff. I hope if your travels return you to the Star City that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel Roanoke is a great spot for a long weekend - we attended a Virginia Tech football game, and then enjoyed a relaxing weekend. The hotel is gracious and very comfortable. We loved being able to walk to the shops and restaurants - and the museum is first class.

Room Tip: It's especially nice to have a room overlooking the entrance with a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear carenfields, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Go Hokies! I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. I hope you have the chance to come back and visit and will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is beautiful...I enjoy staying here each time. This trip I requested the allergen room. I was not happy with the softness of the bed. It was too soft!! This did not affect my decision to stay here again. I just will not request an allergen room again. As always the staff and cleaniness of the hotel was expected. I would visit this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Anitra W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Thank you for your returned patronage. I do you hope you will again give us a chance the next time you visit the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.