We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for this Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for this Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for the night this past weekend..

Like the reviews say don't let the Doubletree name sway you..

This hotel is part of the National Registry of Historic Hotels..

It is beauitful, when you walk in the lobby you feel like your back in history, with a big portarit of Robert E Lee, and the very nicely appointed lobby area...

We were greeted when we arrived at the hotel by the bellman and valet, you can either Valet your car ($12 per day) or self parking ($7 per day) do know its a little walk from the parking lot to the Front Entrance if you self-park and it is up-hill or down-hill depending..

It is located right in the Center of downtown Roanoke, there is a big skybridge that brings you over the railroad tracks and right into the city...

There are a number of restaurants and eateries and ATM's in the area, not to mention a beauitful Farmer's market during the weekends...

The check-in at the front desk was very good, and we were given a Bigger Room (Room 340)..

The room was the typical 2 double bedded room and had a partial view of downtown and the front entrance and railroad tracks..

The room had a nice picture of the old pamplet for the Hotel Roanoke, and there was an enclosed glass plate with the Hotel Roanoke 1882..(the year the hotel was originally built...

There's lots of history for this hotel and also a cool (with children) Railroad Museum about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel (depending on what type of walker you are)

We never had any food at the hotel (was very busy) but looked very professional..

Check-out was a breeze as expected..

Would stay here again...

Room Tip: If you want a view of the City, make sure to ask for it, if you don't want a City View, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear caneshockey31, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation. I will be sharing your review with our staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    307
    85
    51
    17
See reviews for
216
357
39
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dhanbad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Double Tree Hilton Hotel at Roanoke, VA, USA is located in a beautiful surrounding with the city down town in the vicinity. The building itself has its ancient value and has a large accommodation. The facilities are one of the topmost in the city. One would like to come and stay here time and again. The soundproofing of the rooms need to be improved to make them more quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Nirmal Chandra J, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and I will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I love these great old hotels when they are properly restored, and this is no exception. Don't let the Hilton or Doubletree names put you off, the hotel was first built in the late 1800s, in the railroad era, and it was (and still is) splendid. Southern charm and hospitality compliment large and updated rooms, bathrooms and lobby areas. Access to The Blue Ridge Parkway with tons of things to do in the area make this a great place for a quiet, good nights sleep or just a relaxing day.

Room Tip: All seems good, some face the city and old rail,yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear KPboulder, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the kind words and will be sharing them with our staff. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit the area in the future, that we will again be able to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to Roanoke to go to the Virginia Tech vs. University of Maryland football game. We Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely king room. The location was great for having many restaurants in walking distance. My only negative comment is that the glasses were not replaced and the ice bucket wasn't emptied when our room was made up. Mild oversight that showed lack of attention to detail. The staff was great in all other interactions. The security guard recommended two fun restaurants, the front desk gave us cookies when we checked in (and two more cookies for the second night when I asked). I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear NewboldBroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will certainly be addressing this with our staff. This is certainly not acceptable by our standards and we will ensure that corrective measures will be put into place immediately. I do hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Love the large porch with rocking chairs to people watch and sip a glass of wine on after dinner. Comfortable, quiet rooms with attractive decor. Great location with over the railroad tracks walkway to the historical downtown area to grab a bite to eat or shop.oh, and don't forget the warm complimentary chocolate chip cookies! Yum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear lrhobson, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is great to read that you enjoyed the property as well as the warm DoubleTree by Hilton chocolate chip cookie. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is a grand old hotel that has been brought into the 21st century. From the moment you drive up until you leave you are treated as an good friends. I had stayed here some years ago before the hotel was renovated and I was greatly impressed with the canges and improvments. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and very plesantly decorated. The bathroom had been completly redone and was sparking clean. We had very good nights sleep in the comfortable beds.

Breakfast was very reasonbly priced and extremely good, from the made to order omelettes to the spoon-bread.

Every employee I met were extremely friendly and helpful.

Walk across the railroad tracks on the enclosed bridge to the downtown core and you will find a great selection of resturants, shops and several museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear E_of_Virginia, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words, and I will be sharing your review with our staff. I hope if your travels return you to the Star City that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel Roanoke is a great spot for a long weekend - we attended a Virginia Tech football game, and then enjoyed a relaxing weekend. The hotel is gracious and very comfortable. We loved being able to walk to the shops and restaurants - and the museum is first class.

Room Tip: It's especially nice to have a room overlooking the entrance with a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear carenfields, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Go Hokies! I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. I hope you have the chance to come back and visit and will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.