We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in Roanoke!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $139!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Weekend in Roanoke!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visit Roanoke about 6 times per year, and we always stay at the Hotel Roanoke due to the quality location and the way the hotel has been maintained. We would love an earlier check-in time as often we are not able to check in until 4pm or after, but other than that, I believe the staff does a very good job assisting us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear TheBirds04, thank you for your review and for your continued patronage. It is an honor to continue to serve you and your family when visiting the area. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    348
    96
    56
    18
See reviews for
246
415
45
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gorgeous hudson valley
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

When I made our reservation for a 1 night stay, I knew it was a historic hotel, but to add the Doubletree name to it, made me think, something must be amiss.
The property sits just of the highway, close to a rail-yard, and downtown Roanoke. Owned by Virginia Tech and operated under the Doubletree Brand, it is one hotel not to be missed.
Old world charm abounds as you enter. A hotel, conference center, spa and an award winning conference center is a home-away-from home for many!
I booked a King room, but was given a Jr. Suite on the second floor. Even though I prefer top floors, when I was given the key and told it would work in 272 as well as 274, I knew I was in for a treat.
Located at the end of a hallway, we were thrilled with our true 1 bedroom suite. Our bedroom had a window seat, full bath, and plenty of room. The adjoining "room" contained a dining table to sit at least 4, a living room with sofa and leather wing-back chair, a Murphy bed(!)...bar area with 3 stools, lavish wet bar area, armoire', china buffet, desk, full bathroom with walk-in shower. There is also another adjoining bedroom which holds 2 doubles/queen beds which we were able to take a peak at.
We ate at the on-premise restaurant, the regency Room and were treated to live music by a 4 person band. Food was delicious and we ordered the tried and true staples of spoon bread and peanut soup!
There is an Executive Lounge, small and as far as Executive Lounges go, not that great. Offerings were cheese/crackers, nuts and a hot appetizer which had salmon in it. Coke products are available, hot cookies after the apps are removed. Breakfast was adequate, bagels, cereal, an egg quiche with salmon, sweets/fruit breads.
Our room faced the front of the hotel and just across from the covered walkway to the Downtown Area. You could hear trains throughout the stay, but nothing that really was a hindrance.
Parking was a minimal charge, with choice of valet or self-park. Work out room was small but contained all the needed equipment. Turn down service was a surprise!
Once we saw our room, we never ventured outside of the hotel!! Yes, it was that lovely.

Room Tip: Facing the back of the hotel would be a bit quieter, since the front is close to the Railroad Statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear 2toots, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience many of the amenities that exist, including the restaurant. I also enjoyed the images you took of the property as well. I hope if you have the opportunity to come back and visit you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here three nights while attending the Nascar race in the area. We were in awe of the beauty of this elegant hotel built in the railroad era, and it still maintains it's stately presence.
It has been at times rebuilt, restored and conjures visions of another time.
We could only get a queen room and it was small, however it was very nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the Executive Lounge as our friends are Hilton Honours members. The attendants in this room are so friendly and attentive and the food is nice - like being in your kitchen but with service.
This is an amazing place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear harpellroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay while here during the race weekend. I will be sharing your review with our staff and I hope that when you're back in the area that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was our first time at the Hotel Roanoke and we were celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful experience at this hotel and everyone was so polite and courteous and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that needs accommodations in this area. It was a fantastic stay and a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing such a special moment with us. Happy Anniversary! We are honored to be the back drop of such a grand occasion and hope that we can share in this again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have never stayed in a better Hilton they even had a rose in the bathroom. Amazing outdoor hot tub, minutes from wonderful restaurants, and super friendly staff.

I would stay there again any day of the week. They raise the standard higher.

I rented a car, but it was not necessary. The shuttle is fine and there is plenty to do in walking distance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear yortman, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We would welcome you any day of the week and look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you to Roanoke. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very nice Historic Hotel. Price was high for very average room. They charge for parking. Very good location, within walking distance to downtown locations. Staff very good. View of rail line was very limited, not as advertised in there train lover package.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Timothy Z, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be reviewing your stay with our staff to see what adjustments can be made with room availability for the railroad package. I appreciate your comments and hope to see you back in the Star City soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This historic hotel is a great location to experience Roanoke and the nearby railroad attractions. Request a room overlooking the railroad to hear, if not see, the occasional train movements below. The staff and accommodations are excellent. Access to the Winston Link museum is just across the street. Access to downtown and the Virginia Transportation Museum is via a glass enclosed walkway over the yard tracks from where train movements can be observed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear James F. T, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. The railroad heritage in the neighborhood is alive, well and expanding and I'm glad you had the chance to experience it. I hope if you have the opportunity to visit again soon, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.