We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the good and the bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is a beautiful facility; our rooms were well decorated, clean, and comfortable. The food in the formal Regency Dining Room was excellent for dinner and breakfast -- those are "the good" items. We were a group of three friends who have traveled all over the world, staying in first class/luxury hotels and have never complained about any little glitches. However, the service or total lack thereof in the dining room for our dinner certainly detracted from our pleasure. We had 7:15 p.m. reservations, arrived timely, and were refused seating for over 10 minutes, despite the fact that no one else was waiting and the dining room was only about one-half full. When we were finally seated we were ignored and despite our requests to passing wait-staff persons, no one came to take our drink order or dinner order. When we were served water and bread, we asked for our waiter but no one came. After about 20 minutes (I was timing this) the server came and offered to take our drink order, assuring us that he was not our waiter. Meanwhile, everyone we asked for attention spoke with other staff in the dining room but no one else came to help. After another 10 minutes the drinks arrived and after still more time the server announced that he was our waiter and that there had been a communication error so he didn't know he was "ours." He was courteous and explained items on the menu but dinner did not arrive for about another half-hour. The dining room still was not full or busy; wait staff was moving around the room but we simply received no attention. After I spoke with the maitre d' about our displeasure and disappointment, we received vouchers for the cold, continental breakfast and a letter of apology -- to the hotel's credit; however, that did not make up for the discomfort and disappointment we experienced with dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable; skip the Regency Dining Room; try the pub instead. Food is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Pauline422, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. While I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, I am very disappointed to read about your dining experience and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience. We strive to provide the best in product, service and experience and your evening is unacceptable by our standards. I am immediately sharing your review with our staff to put corrective measures in place, as this is not a practice of ours, nor should it happen to our guests. I do hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley, you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again and make it right.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    358
    98
    56
    18
See reviews for
256
422
46
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel brings a taste of old southern charm when Roanoke was the nexis of the old Norfolk and Western RR that O.Winston Link documented as the "Last Steam Railroad in America", The O.W. Link museum is a 5 minute walk, and downtown Roanoke is just cross the pedestrian bridge from the hotel. The hoteel's Tudor style architecture is impreessive as you drive up. If you are there for the weekend, check out the farmer's market in downtown. There are many nice restarurants/pubs/bars within walking distance. Self-parking is easy and cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear jeff h, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations! I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Exceptional overnight stay with Hotel Roanoke. The handicap facilities were extremely efficient. Beds were comfy. Food was delicious, Staff was pleasing. What more can I say. This will probably become a tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Alice A, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read and we are honored to become a new tradition! We strive daily to present the best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to see it delivered! We are excited about your return and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room here while on the road, site unseen. I wasn't expecting such a nice property for the rate I payed.
The hotel is historic dating back to the railroad days. There is a pub and a fancy restaraunt on the property as well as an elevated outdoor walkway to downtown restraints. I ate at the pub and enjoyed the bar food and a local microbrew beer.

Room was adequate although a little smaller than newer hotels but that is ok by me. Just need a place to sleep and the bed was comfortable.

Will stay here again on my next trip to or through Roanoke.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mike K, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We always love surprising our guests and it's great we will be able to serve you again in the future. Being a historic hotel, we do have varying room sizes due to the historic nature and advise being a return guess to see what else could be available. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of a 3-night stay for business. I stayed on the Concierge Level and highly recommend it. I had breakfast in their Concierge Lounge 2x and in the Regency Room my last day. I also ate in the Regency Room each day for lunch and the buffet was outstanding. We had a 2-day training class here and the room and breaks were excellent. Also, the AV and Tech people were very helpful. The feedback from the meeting attendees was very positive. Great location, beautiful rooms, excellent staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Concierge Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Don M, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It's wonderful to read that you experienced the various outlets in the hotel and enjoyed them. We work diligently to provide the absolute best for our guests and conference attendees and it's great to read when all runs smoothly. I hope if you find yourself back in the Star City, you will again let us serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel is in a great location, handy for all the restaurants and bars in the downtown market district.
The price represented good value when you considered it's overall amenities and qualities.
We stayed for two nights, but due to the noise of the ice machine in the corridor, I asked to switch rooms. This was done without any problems and the hotel staff moved our luggage to the new room during the day whilst we were out.
The service at the hotel was excellent with all the staff being incredibly helpful and concerned to ensure you we're well looked after.
Josef, the asst director of catering was going around the bar at night to make sure we were all happy with our stay and he helped me with a lunch reservation the following day.
The Sunday lunch/brunch was outstanding not only for the quality and variety of food offerings but also really good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the ice machines and the roof top ventilators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear PeterLeggett, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to read that the inconvenience experienced was quickly and professionally resolved and that you enjoyed your two nights with us. I hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were recently at a convention here and had the best overall service in years at a hotel - of any level.
Many hotels stress the customer service angle - and don't live up to it.
This is not the case at the Hotel Roanoke.
The dining staff [room-service, Amos to be precise] was outstanding.
I had called down for breakfast, it was delivered hot, excellently prepared, and on-time.
Elizabeth graciously helped with the provision of a microwave.
I received a spectacular room upgrade from Susan at the front desk.
The valet staff were quick, pleasant, and efficient.

Really can't say enough good about the hotel, the customer service was the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: away from elevator seems to be the right way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Michael K, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read your review and see all the names mentioned. We strive to put a personal touch for our guests to experience and it's wonderful to see it delivered. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.