We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Historical and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a combined business meeting / team celebration in downtown Roanoke.This was my first time in Roanoke and I was pleasantly surprised at the quaint city market area and history that hits you immediately upon seeing this hotel.

The hotel definitely has a quint-essential southern historic charm to it. Myself and my colleagues (arriving at different times) all reacted the same way ("this is cool") upon entering the hotel. Suggest dropping your car off with the valet, enjoying a drink on the outside terrace (weather permitting) or at the pub inside, enjoying some of the historic artifacts in the hotel (from the art work within the public areas to some of the historic touches in the rooms), and hitting the city market area just a few blocks away across the cat walk over the railroad tracks.

I will say the rooms are a bit tired, the elevators are small and slow, and with the "oldness" of the hotel, you may have some extra noise at times (walls are thin) and some very minor inconveniences. Chalk it up to the historical vibe of the hotel and enjoy it all.

In summary, if you're used to modern hotels that cater to the business professional this hotel will seem a bit dated... but if you are open to the history, can tolerate the very minor issues, and view this more than just a place to sleep for the next meeting... you will enjoy the hotel and the experience surrounding it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Andrew H, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our staff as we try to deliver modern amenities in a historic setting and will see if there are ways we can continue to update the property. I hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    449
    116
    60
    19
See reviews for
329
526
58
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Came into town for a wedding. Front desk staff made us feel welcome all weekend long. Very helpful and courteous. We were upgraded to a larger room (which made a huge difference for us with kids). We had lots of space and the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a nice bathroom. Asked for extra towels and got them in about 5 minutes with a smile. Very enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sheldon M. thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were upgraded to a room that better suited your needs. I hope that if your travels bring you to Roanoke, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this wonderful hotel as a last minute get away, 8/24-8/26 room 165. Check in was a breeze very attentive front desk personel. So we got to our room got settled then went for a walk downtown which was wonderful. later that night we discovered that our TV did not get local channels, I called down to the front desk they had someone they in 2 minutes, He couldnt find the cause he stated that he would let front desk know and he would switch out tomorrow. We went out for the day came back and found a hand written letter from Robert the
Engineering Supervisor stating in detail why the TV did not work he had switched it out. and was 2 breakfast coupons. Every staff member you came in contact with spoke to you. We had the banna foster it was wonderful. My hats off to the staff at The Hotel Roanoke.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear TerryMB336, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We always love last minute getaways and are honored to be the host spot. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced, but am thrilled to read that the issues were resolved in a timely manner. I hope if you find yourself in the area again, you will choose to stay with us! We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful, classic hotel in the heart of Roanoke. No other hotel offers a covered walkway to downtown like this hotel. Everything is literally within walking distance, and the ambiance of the hotel is great. Attention to detail is superb. Only two catches--although Internet is available over a wired Ethernet connection in each room, the WiFi access is spotty. Plus, at least in the two rooms I stayed in there wasn't a fridge, if you care about that. Otherwise, you'll love this location. The historical aspect of this site sets it above just any regular hotel rectangular box building. I'd say stay here at least one night that you're in Roanoke just to experience it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Andrew G, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our staff to see if there are ways we can correct the issues presented. I hope when visiting the Valley again that you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel food is really good. The Chesapeake blue crab dip and pita chips is absolutely wonderful. Rooms have a antique vibe. Wonderful paintings of civil war scenes and generals in the lobby. The pine room pub is a excellent place to wind down in the evening or even just catch a drink before going downtown for the evening. The hotel is conveniently placed in relationship with downtown as there is a enclosed walkway over the railroad tracks that lets you out in the center of downtown. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Seth P, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the recommendation and am glad to see you had the chance to experience the history of the property. We look forward to serving you again if a weekend outing brings you to the Roanoke Valley.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I visited the hotel 8/18 - 8/20 for a business conference. My stay was awesome. It was perfect venue for our meetings and the accommodations were excellent. I would highly recommend this location for future meetings and stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Terry L, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate you choosing us for your meetings and accommodations and hope that we can be a venue for you in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a real treat -- worth a trip in itself. A magnificent building with amenities like those at far more expensive places, and an outstanding staff. I was on my own for one night, before family members arrived, and the host and waiters in the Regency dining room made me feel perfectly at home with their warm welcome. The service throughout the hotel was like that -- friendly and helpful in every way. And the food in the Regency is altogether worthy of the praises it has received. Don't miss dinner there!
My room, with a king-size bed, was large enough to be comfortable, very clean, and thoughtfully equipped. Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were a nice surprise. The swimming pool, though small, is lovely. And the "Business Center" makes an Apple or PC computer available for use by anyone who hasn't brought his own. Altogether a very pleasant place to stay, right across from the central shopping area of downtown Roanoke and with beautiful views of the mountains.

Room Tip: I'd avoid a room by the ice machine, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amymone, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you experienced all there is to do at the hotel and greatly appreciate the recommendation. We strive daily to present the best in product, service and experience and it is always wonderful to see it delivered. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.