We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel, beautifully restored” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
western Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historical hotel, beautifully restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a real treat -- worth a trip in itself. A magnificent building with amenities like those at far more expensive places, and an outstanding staff. I was on my own for one night, before family members arrived, and the host and waiters in the Regency dining room made me feel perfectly at home with their warm welcome. The service throughout the hotel was like that -- friendly and helpful in every way. And the food in the Regency is altogether worthy of the praises it has received. Don't miss dinner there!
My room, with a king-size bed, was large enough to be comfortable, very clean, and thoughtfully equipped. Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were a nice surprise. The swimming pool, though small, is lovely. And the "Business Center" makes an Apple or PC computer available for use by anyone who hasn't brought his own. Altogether a very pleasant place to stay, right across from the central shopping area of downtown Roanoke and with beautiful views of the mountains.

Room Tip: I'd avoid a room by the ice machine, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amymone, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you experienced all there is to do at the hotel and greatly appreciate the recommendation. We strive daily to present the best in product, service and experience and it is always wonderful to see it delivered. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    302
    85
    51
    16
See reviews for
211
349
38
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel really is beautiful. If you're looking for a couple nights away, or a really nice getaway trip, I highly recommend this hotel. The price for a simple room was reasonable, in my opinion. It's also in a great location of downtown, so there is access to a lot of great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sarah D, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We very much appreciate the recommendation and are honored to serve you. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose to stay with us!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We reserved a very nice room in the Executive area of the hotel, with access to a lounge with breakfast items in the mornings, and hot food, drinks and fruit and cheeses in the later afternoons. The lounge's attendant was friendly and a great host. The hotel had a display of art and items from its early days and wonderful artwork and decor in all areas of the huge conference center. The Regency Room was an old school, top notch restaurant with excellent dishes and accompaniments. Pricey, but a great experience, and the food was perfect. The wait staff suggested substitutions, and made sure we were very happy with the faire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear David B, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your anniversary stay. We are honored and thrilled to be a part of such a special occasion and I am glad you celebrated with us. I hope we have the opportunity to be a part of your anniversary for many years to come!

Congratulations!

Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Roanoke is a majestic hotel that offers exceptional accommodations at very attractive rates. The hotel and grounds are pristine. It's a real joy to look into the Blue Ridge mountains from your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Eric W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again in the future. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having grown up in Roanoke, I have always admired the old girl, but until recently, have never had the occasion to stay there, and what a stay it was. Va. Tech and Doubletree have done a wonderful job in bring her back to her past glory, and additions have made her even more attractive. The lobby is wonderful, full of little nooks to meet with friends, which was our reason to be there. The service was great, check in a breeze, and the breakfast, though not cheap, was excellent. Being an older property, do not expect "cookie cutter" rooms, but do expect a wonderful environment, with everything elegant and functioning. Spend a little more and stay there on your next trip to Roanoke. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Don W, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored and thrilled to have served you during your stay as it is our community members that have made this hotel special for so long! I am glad you had the chance to stay with us and hope we will have many more opportunities to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel in downtown Roanoke. This is an old, railroad hotel that has been restored to beyond its original splendor. The restoration is simply amazing. The lobby is incredible, with mahogany paneling and beautiful artwork. Our room was great - king bed, beautiful furniture, perfectly clean, and the bathroom was perfect, with details including a lighted make-up mirror. We ate supper in the hotel restaurant and the food was fantastic. I ate cedar plank salmon, and Cindy ate shrimp and grits. My sister had the crab-stuffed trout, and I believe that may have been the best dinner. The girls shared bananas foster for desert - perfect! There was live music playing, and although the musicians were very good, it was too loud at our table and it was difficult to converse. We also ate the buffet breakfast in the morning, and it was absolutely fantastic. I don't think I have ever received better service both in the restaurant and in the hotel. I believe this may be one of the best hotel stays we have every had - ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear rhud12345, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I loved your pictures during your stay and appreciate the kind words. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it is wonderful to see our standards met and delivered. We are honored to serve you and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel dates to the 1880's and has lots of character, beauty and history. My main concern (even if you're not disabled) is the hike to the parking lot. The hotel is beautifully positioned on a hill overlooking Roanoke.

The problem is the parking lot (7$ a night for self-parking/self hiking) is at the bottom of that sizable hill.

If you are disabled, you will have to use their valet parking service (mo money) or be sure your wheelchair is powered and fully charged.

I eventually discovered a "shortcut" to the parking lot through the workout room/pool area, but this still involved quite a few steps down the steep hill.

One advantage of the hotel is its direct connection to a walkway over the railroad tracks to old downtown Roanoke.

It's a rather nice downtown with many restaurants and shops; reminded me of Portland, Maine.

So, you can leave your car parked and walk/explore the downtown area.

RE: the railroad tracks; this hotel is next to a rather busy set of tracks with trains passing by quite frequently, but surprisingly, not sounding their horns. I didn't mind them too much.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side face the railroad tracks...you will hear freight trains passing by quite frequen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear boandjill, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am sharing your review with our staff and will look to implement corrective measures for the issues and concerns you posted about. I hope if you visit Roanoke again soon that you will again give us a chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.