We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates from $139!
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel Roanoke

This is a beautiful hotel with a great and wonderful staff.
Our check-in was quick and pleasant. The room was upgraded and had great views of the mountains. The beds were AMAZING. We used the fitness center the next morning and it was clean and well stocked with great equipment.
Close to the hotel is the City Market and a refurbed area of town with tons of great restaurants (non franchise). The hotel staff were very helpful with maps, directions, and insights. The walk-way over to the City Market made for a quick walk to attractions. We stayed for two nights and on a weekend that the hotel hosted eight wedding parties. We thought that this might be chaos, but the hotel was prepared and responsive to all. The hotel was built in 1882 and the architecture and lobby are quite beautiful. The nostalgia pictures all over remind us of the rich history of this hotel. Enjoy, relax, and let the staff make your stay enjoyable. We will come back to his hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor corner facing the mountains and would recommend this for the views as we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear gmiker, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to sit back and relax. It's great to hear that even during the busy time, our staff delivered the experience we strive to deliver to all guests. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    319
    87
    52
    18
See reviews for
228
372
41
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

An excellent choice for the price range, easily exceeds all expectations. This has become one of our favorite stops in the South due in large part to the excellent experiences we have had in this Hotel. The rooms are always clean, the suites are spacious, and the restaurant is excellent. Truly one of the best hotels in the Hilton chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke was built over 100 years ago and has undergone several major renovations. It sits at the south end of downtown Roanoke, Virginia, right next to what used to be the Norfolk and Western train passenger station which is now a small museum. There is a walking bridge from the Hotel to downtown Roanoke proper, which includes an open air market, many restaurants, several museums and boutique shops.

The Hotel itself was built on a relatively grand scale with many public rooms and ample meeting rooms for conventions and weddings. It hosts the yearly Miss Virginia contest, a preliminary to the Miss America contest. Therefore, there are times when it may be crowded with guests attending one or more of these functions. Although on the much smaller scale, the hotel has the ambience one feels when visiting the Greenbrier or the Homestead.

Because of its age, the hotel rooms are somewhat small, but very well appointed. The bathrooms have been upgraded with plenty of counter space and excellent water pressure. Each room contains both wired and wireless Internet connections (without extra charge). There are plenty of electrical outlets, and a flat screen TV. A bathrobe, iron and ironing board and coffee maker are also present. There is no refrigerator, microwave or mini bar.

I found the room rates to be surprisingly low, however there are two things to be aware of. The first is the parking situation. Self-service parking costs $7 per 24 hours. There is a large lot, but it is a long way from the entrance to the Hotel and down about 75 feet. Valet parking is available for $12 per 24 hours, but will cost you more since attendants expect a tip every time they deliver your car to you.

The second issue is the restaurant. The Hotel Roanoke has a very nice-looking formal restaurant. The food is fair, at very high prices. The peanut soup and spoon bread are worth the money. There is also free coffee in the morning. Otherwise, I would recommend eating somewhere else. Room service was exorbitantly priced to begin with, carried a 20% surcharge and an additional tip was expected.

All in all, I give this hotel a solid Four Star rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JimWeissman, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I appreciate the four star rating and am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your review with our staff and hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline CT
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The common areas of this property are beautiful and very rich in history. One actually feels like you have stepped back to 1882. The restaurant is a bit pricey but very good, as is the Pine Pub. Spa services are overpriced. My infatuation ended when I tried to settle into my room. I am a Hilton diamond member, and Hilton has been very good to me. First, my room was down one floor, although it is ground level, it felt like the basement. No upgrade, no robe, no working coffee pot, and a tub that would not hold water, the clock was one hour ahead, which had me up at 3:00 in the AM, instead of my desired 4:00 that I intended. One of those goofy clocks that an engineer has to fix (can set the alarm, but not the time without a key). The room was very small and the bed did not seem Hilton quality, as someone else mentioned. I also agree that the food in the "Executive Lounge" was very very sparse, and did not open until 6:30 for coffee. No place to get a cup of coffee before 6:30 as a matter of fact. I am glad I booked there, the staff was quick to fix my room problems, yet never offered to move me (I was there all week), nor did they offer to comp me a drink in the bar or anything....

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, or to at least see your room first. Make sure everything is working in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear daisy20071960, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We will take your review and recommendations to our team to put corrective measures in place. As a guest, we value your business, experience and opinions and will work to make it better for the next potential visit. I hope you will choose us again for a future stay in the Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a great hotel with an interesting history. Because it is old, the rooms are small, but very well appointed. Staff were friendly, and all needs were met. Best part was the location - right next to the market square with tons of restaurants. Self-parking $7, valet $12.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear NicoleS0907, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if you have the opportunity to come back to the area you will once again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke for a small one night getaway in April. We had a fantastic time overall. Downtown Roanoke has great restaurants and shops in walking distance from this hotel that make for a great stay.

The hotel is grand, interesting and beautiful--so much more fun than staying at a run-of-the-mill property. We spend lots of time exploring, and I feel like I took over 50 pictures as we walked throughout the hotel. There was a wedding going on which looked absolutely beautiful.

Our two double-bed room wasn't ready when we arrived (we got their hours early) but they offered to put us in a king room which was fine for us. The room was spotless, and decorated well just like the rest of the hotel. Bathroom was super clean with great products. Bedding was very comfortable.

We had both a late-night dessert and breakfast in the grand ballroom. Both were fabulous and had the customer service is top-notch.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for any type of travel. You won't find any better in Roanoke. And if you are looking for great spot for dinner, you CAN'T miss Table 50 Roanoke, which is within walking distance. Also amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Melanie L, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. What a wonderful review to read and I am so glad you choose us as the setting for your experience. Its also great that you took some photos as well! I hope you have the opportunity to come back again soon and have another mother-daughter experience.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is an historic hotel in downtown Roanoke which is clean and attractive. The service is very good and the staff is friendly. The only downside is that the rooms lack some of the modern amenities one would expect in a hotel of this caliber. Regardless I would recommend this as a primary choice for accommodations in Roanoke, VA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JRDamare, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope that if you have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon, that you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.