We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Front desk was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from a stay at the Hotel Roanoke, and I was pleasantly surprised. We booked ahead for $94 per night and our room was really quite nice. Katie, at the front desk, was kind and helpful. She allowed us to check in early and was very accommodating when we asked if we could move to another room because the room we had (219) was at roof level. There was no view and an air vent was humming along right outside the window. Our second room 567 was very nice. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom was spacious, and the toiletries were great. That room had one small window with no real view to speak of, but it was very very quiet and quite dark so we could sleep in the next morning.
The hotel lobby is also very nice. Not grand, but spacious and pretty. Location is also ideal-could walk to the Civic Center and the Market Square area. You really cannot find a better location or value.
Oh, we also had a huge cobb salad at the bar that was fresh, delicious AND reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I would get a room on the top floors (4 and up). We had no issue at al with the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear thehappyitinerant, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to hear that your stay was accommodated to your liking and you enjoyed your time here. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit the Valley and will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    334
    91
    53
    18
See reviews for
236
393
44
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A grand old hotel that's nicely modernized, with pleasant staff and clean rooms. The hotel is conveniently located with a walkway over railroad tracks to the very nice downtown restaurants and shops.
For the quality of the rooms the price is very low. But you will be required to pay for your own parking, which I think poor taste for a hotel. Nevertheless if you are a vacationing traveler you should definitely overnight here and take advantage of the luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Snailkite, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will share your review with our staff and appreciate the kind words. I hope if you're back in the area, you will choose us again for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I generally stay in mid-priced chain motels along the interstate, but we wanted to try something a little nicer for our trip to Roanoke. The Hotel Roanoke did not disappoint our expectations, in that it was overall a very pleasant stay in an older but very luxurious hotel. We only had time to spend one night, but we would love to go back for a longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Maurice H, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and choosing us for your upgrade. I hope the next time you come back through the area you will choose us again for an extended stay. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived at the hotel on Saturday the 16th, the friendly valet greeted me politely and informed me that there was a problem with the laundry facilities which was delaying check-in for most guests (which was evident by all the people milling about, some with annoyed facial expressions). I wasn't in a big hurry so didn't mind waiting and patiently stood in the short line at the front desk. I was very pleasantly surprised when it was my turn and the desk clerk kindly stated that there were no regular double rooms available, but that they had a handicap-accessible room ready immediately on the first floor, and asked if that would be OK (while the people in line beside me were being politely/apologetically told there were no rooms available at all yet, and weren't handling it very graciously). I accepted her offer gladly, took my warm fresh-baked cookies (amazing) and happily strode past the disgruntled guests who were unable to check in yet. Not sure how I got so lucky, but I wasn't about to ask questions!

The room was well-appointed, clean, and very comfortable. The decor is a more traditional style, which is perfect for this hotel (modern would be out of place here). The interactions I had with the staff were limited but all were pleasant. I only stayed for one night with a couple girlfriends, but would have liked to stay longer! Overall I was very pleased :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear jexylou, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as we strive daily to present the best product, service and experience and sometimes experience internal issues that are a bit challenging. I am happy to read that your room issue was resolved quickly and hope you stay with us again. Thank you for the kind words.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would like to send out a great big THANK YOU! To the staff of HRCC. We recently held a fund raiser for a local youn lady ( that happens to be my best friend) to help raise funds for a Kidney transplant. The Sales staff at Hotel Roanoke greatfully dontated an over night stay for 2 with breakfast (not to mention the great cookie tins,as well) It is so great to know that a hotel of this stature still cares about it's community and shows it every day! This hotel treats the community ALMOST as good as it treats it's guest. Again Hotel Roanoke from the bottom of our heart (and KIDNEYS) Thank you. We raised over $18,000 and Jenny is now scheduled for a transplant on April the 4th.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Paul H, thank you for your kind comments and congratulations on your successful fundraiser! It is our pleasure to help out and you should be commended for your efforts in assisting such a great cause and we wish you tremendous success in the future. Please let us know any time we can assist!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Hotel is simply breathtaking. The hotel itself along with the staff are immaculate. The entire hotel staff was courteous, professional, very helpful and friendly. The architecture and history of this hotel is amazing. There is so much do to in this town. you will absolutely fall in love with this hotel & the town. We did not want to leave and we will definitely be back. I would recommend this hotel to everyone for business or pleasure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear angel b, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. It's always a pleasure to read when a guest has a wonderful stay and we were able to WOW them with our service and product. Roanoke has a lot of things coming in the near future and is getting better and better every day. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future when you are visiting.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having stayed at this lovely hotel in the past, we had high expectations and expected this visit to be once again flawless. Unfortunately, when we arrived at the expected time, 4:00 PM, we were told our room was not ready yet. We had requested a corner room, which was a "must" on our wish list. The very nice gentleman (Robby?) who was checking us in did offer a different room, but after looking at it, we decided it was not really what we were hoping for. He then offered for us to have an appetizer and drinks "comped" in the pub while we waited. He took our cell phone # and said he would call when our room was ready. After an hour and a half, at 5:30 the room was still not ready; we became a bit out of sorts, since we were tired and hungry! We decided to walk to the City Market to find some dinner, and expected our room to be ready once we returned. Fortunately for all, it WAS ready ~ In addition, hotel services had left us a very nice complimentary bottle of red wine, to help ease our "pain". We are not sure why the delay on our room, but several other guests we encountered had waited even longer than we did; apparently there was some sort of problem with housekeeping, which threw everyone off. In the end, everyone at the hotel... from the valets to the registration attendees to the manager, went overboard in their effort to "right a wrong" and they succeeded in making our stay a happy and enjoyable one. One of the reasons I love this hotel is the PEOPLE! They are the epitomy of great customer service and treat each guest as if they were the only people there. The point in my making our experience public is so everyone will know that while things can (and do!) occasionally go wrong, what's important is how the situation is handled. The team at The Hotel Roanoke have our complete devotion and we will continue to stay there, and ONLY there, every time we visit Roanke in the future. Hats off to them for another terrific weekend!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are big, BRIGHT, and very spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear LucyLuWho, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience of a delayed check-in as we strive for the absolute best in service, product and experience and unfortunately we're not at our level of service upon your arrival. I am pleased to read that the issue was resolved and you were once again able to enjoy our property. I thank you for your continued patronage and the kind words and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.