We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel! Super Nice and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates from $109!
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Raleigh
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel! Super Nice and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I only stay at this hotel when in Roanoke, VA. Great place! Great rooms, nice and new fitness center! Treated well as a HHonors member! Would highly recommend!

Close to downtown Roanoke! Within walking distance to all the bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear schaf1283, thank you for your review of the hotel and for your continued patronage. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    268
    75
    43
    14
See reviews for
168
298
32
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love to stay at historic hotels. This one did not disappoint. The exterior and public areas are beautiful. Our room was small but it was expected since we were trying to save money and chose the least expensive. The bed and pillows are wonderful! We had the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was very good. There was plenty to eat but no pancakes or waffles. We enjoyed our stay. (self parking was $7.00 and breakfast was $14.50)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ekehl, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You will feel as though you are living in the grand old years gone by when you stand in this lobby. This hotel is an experience rather than just a stay. As everything today is built so efficiently and generic, it is wonderful that Hilton has invested in this gem. Support their effort by staying here. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kurt H, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. Your words speak to exactly the experience we strive to deliver for all of our guests and visitors and we are honored by your kinds words. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are from Roanoke and have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke multiple times for overnight events (weddings, concerts, etc.). Our most recent visit was for a concert and we had 5 couples staying overnight in 5 rooms. We started by ordering appetizers and drinks at the pub. The service was extremely poor....pretty much unacceptable. My husband ordered a captain and diet coke. The diet coke was so flat he sent it back. The bartender tasted it and said "it's as good as it's going to get" and sent it back to him. We all ordered food...mostly appetizers like wings, flatbread pizza etc. After an hour and a 6 of the 12 dishes ordered came out. 5 of them were incorrect and the sixth was so cold it felt like it had been in the refrigerator (and it was wings!). The others continued to wait on the food for another 40 minutes.....that would be 2 hours and 10 minutes after arriving! Some of the food showed up...once again incorrect...some never showed up before we had to leave for the concert. The waiter was extremely rude and didn't even offer an apology. None of the food was comped. The combination of the rude bartender, the rude waiter and the horrible kitchen staff started this stay out horribly.

The room was fine...nothing special. We ate the brunch the next morning and the food was good....staff at the omelet station and seating us were pretty short and definitely not friendly (other than our waiter...african american guy who has worked there for years....he was awesome!)

We were shocked at the service / treatment we received. We are very easy going people and not hard to please. We do not expect extraordinary service. All we wanted was some decent food and a friendly face. We will go back because of all the events taking place there but if we ever have an experience like this I will stay at the next closest hotel.

We were there the night of January 25th, 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear WHITNEY B, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and unfortunately didn't deliver with your stay. We do hope you will come back and allow us the opportunity to serve you and make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great Experience. Although they were remodeling the main dining room, the alternate facilities were excellent. Service is great and check in was fast. Staff is friendly and helpful.. The conference rooms were just right temperature The meals provided during conference were excellent. And as always the cookie was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Vickie58093, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are always delighted to hear when conferences go to expectations and we hope you have the chance to come back and visit again leisurely to see all the great things happening in the downtown area.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We love historic hotels and found the Hotel Roanoke very satisfying but not without a few kinks. We were greeted when we arrived by a doorman/valet and there is a bellman to help with luggage if necessary. There are two options for parking: valet or self-parking at an adjacent open parking lot. There is a charge for either one.

Our standard size room was a bit small but not unexpected in older hotels. It was nicely appointed and comfortable. The original windows have been retained, and they are large, allowing plenty of light in the room. We had a good mattress, and there was a reading lamp on each side of the king size bed with bulbs large enough to read by. The only disappointment with the room was the TV. Annually, we stay in 50-75 hotels and this was the most difficult TV to navigate we have encountered. Moreover, they don't subscribe to a PBS channel so we missed Downton Abbey.

Our room faced the restored former railroad station. One of us loves to listen to trains and our room provided that opportunity.

The Regency Room (main dining room) was closed for renovations so we had dinner in the Pine Room, a pub. We had sandwiches and as one reviewer noted the drinks were a bit on the expensive side. The sandwiches were tasty, and we could watch an NBA game while we ate.
Although our waiter didn't tell us, we found out later that we could have ordered from the dinning room menu.

When we checked in, we weren't told by the desk clerk what options we had for dinner nor breakfast. There is a complimentary express breakfast of coffee/tea, juice, pastries and maybe cereals. We choose the buffet and were pleased. Omelets made to order are offered as well as hot and cold cereals, variety of fruit and juices, pastries and breads, and bagels and lox.

The lobby and dinning rooms are spacious and interesting. There are nice displays of memorabilia about the rooms. Delightful features of the hotel include the art deco furnishings.

A short walk from the hotel is the market area with several good restaurants and galleries. Also nearby are museums and the civic center is within walking distance via an urban walking trail.

All of the staff was very welcoming and friendly. We will return.

Room Tip: If available, you can upgrade to a large corner room for a nominal fee but all the corner rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear WVMaven, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and the comprehensive review. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon and we will share your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This a great hotel for a weekend getaway - where you literally park the car (in the boonies!!) and walk to dining, fun, and great coffee shops minutes from your hotel room in the downtown area.
Parking and small rooms with no coffee maker or refrigerator is probably the biggest downfall to this hotel. If it's raining you almost have to take advantage of the valet parking.
Historic hotel so don't expect a modern updated hotel, but that's half the charm here.


Parking tip - on the weekends you can park on the street for free.

Room Tip: You will need a map to get to your room - this place is huge. If you self park, sometimes access o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear orreo5859, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are a little concerned to read that your room wasn't equipped with a coffee maker and will certainly be following up with that with our staff as well as sharing your review with everyone. I hope you will choose us again when you're visiting the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.