We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the Hotel Roanoke on Christmas eve: 29 Christmas trees, fabulous dinner and many families sharing holiday cheer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
“I loved the Hotel Roanoke on Christmas eve: 29 Christmas trees, fabulous dinner and many families sharing holiday cheer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have never spent Christmas at a hotel before, but now that my son is in Virginia, we decided to give it a try. This hotel is really special. A huge old property, extremely well maintained, friendly and cheerful. The rooms are comfortable and elegant. Before dinner, we enjoyed wandering through the hotel checking out all of the different themed trees. The pub was open and full of happy patrons. The Christmas eve banquet was lovely. All in all, it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Anna S, thank you for your review of the hotel and for staying with us over the holidays. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as during the holidays we try to make the hotel feel like home and be a special place for those to visit that are traveling. I do hope you have the chance to experience the hotel again and will choose us next time you are in the Valley visiting.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    449
    116
    60
    19
See reviews for
329
526
58
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The stay was great the employees was one of the nicest the valet parking was also a great experience, my husband and i was very pleased the deb was really comfortable and we loved the pillows this was one of the best stays we had ever had in a hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear larrybates, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations when visiting the Roanoke Valley. We appreciate the kind words and will share them with our staff as your review is how we want every guest to experience the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have not stayed at the Hotel Roanoke in many years, as I live in Roanoke. However, it is a great pleasure to visit the Hotel, for dinner, or breakfast in the wonderful Regency Room, for parties, wedding receptions, or just to have a drink and listen to music in the Pine Room. I have been to Hotel Roanoke four times this holiday season. I love the display of Christmas trees. I have stayed in some first class grand hotels in Europe (among them, the Hotel de Crillon in Paris) and would rank Hotel Roanoke very high. There is much charm about the Hotel and it's location overlooking the downtown, art museum and Roanoke Valley. I find the level of service to be just as outstanding now as it was for my wedding reception held there twenty-five years ago. The Hotel has changed a bit with time, but has never lost it's personality. Some of the more recent furniture additions, like the modern high backed round sofa, do seem a bit at odds with the elegant decor. One great benefit from staying at the Hotel is the close proximity to downtown museums, shops, and restaurants-a short walk across the pedestrian bridge. If you are travelling to Roanoke, this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear teachertype22, thank you for your review of the hotel, the kind words and for choosing us for your accommodations. We take great pride in the history and heritage of the hotel and we love to see when guests take advantage and cherish the personality of our historic hotel. We hope you have the chance to visit again soon and will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our visit to the Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center has become a family tradition at Christmastime. Beautiful property, excellent service, and lots of shopping within walking distance. We started this in 2011 and had such a good time, that we will make it an annual event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Dogmom1947, thank you for your review and for allowing us to be a part of such a wonderful tradition. We look forward to many more visits and will seek to make each as special as the last.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Rooms are great -----Front desk is very helpfull--- Cafe service was poor ----
More attention to timely service needs to be attended to. My family would stay here again ,BUT would not have breakfast here. Thank You.

Room Tip: rooms are great no matter where they are Stayed here before
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Dave L, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations when visiting the Roanoke Valley. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during breakfast. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and unfortunately did not fulfill our goals. I will share your review with our staff and we do hope you will again stay with us if your travels bring us this way.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacksburg, va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we only live 50 miles away and use this super hotel as a close to home getaway. the hotel is great, the people even better. a short walk will get you to downtown Roanoke, on market square. many retail shops and restaurants available. also walking distance to the convention center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear releE123, thank you for your review of the hotel and for your continued patronage of the hotel. It is guests like you that make the hotel what it is today and for that we are grateful. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here as a stop over, en-route to another destination. Wonderful accommodations and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Top-notch service from the staff who went above and beyond to see that our every need was met. This grand hotel has an old-era style where nostalgia and luxury go hand in hand. My only wish is that we had had more time to enjoy the hotel and surrounding area. Thank you for a great experience. Your staff should be commended on a job well done!
Lisa C.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lisa C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations on your stop over. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff and invite you to come back and experience our little slice of heaven here in southwest Virginia. I am glad you had an opportunity to stay with us during the holidays and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.