We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place. It is located in the heart of downtown within walking distance to shopping and eateries. It is historic and very well maintained. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Joe S, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope you have the opportunity to visit our region again and we will again be able to serve you.
Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    358
    98
    56
    18
See reviews for
256
422
46
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Gilead NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A super property, great location, lots of history, great shopping very close to the hotel and one of the best staff's we have come across. We had an incident occur while eating in the Pub from another person staying there and the bar person Lindsey did an excellent job handling the issue as well as the team of management she works with. They went out of their way to ensure we were happy and content with our overall stay and they did just that!
My wife, who is an independent travel agent, & I highly recommend this property for any stay but since it was half way to our destination it was perfect and we will return there when making the same trip in the future. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and looked like a mini Biltmore and that says a lot.
Once again the entire staff was EXCELLENT and the Hilton Management Team in that area should be very proud of them!

Room Tip: The executive level is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear colonialrep, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We strive daily to provide the best possible guest experience and product and am relieved to read that your issue was handled professionally and timely. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you have the opportunity to come again to visit soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As always, excellent stay this hotel. Katie at the front desk and Mike A. at valet were a great help and very informative. Beautifully decorated for the holidays once again. Looking forward to returning in the near future to Hotel Roanoke.

Room Tip: Choose a room to face the city skyline. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MatthewBu, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team and we look forward to serving you again! Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We recently stay at the Hotel Roanoke during our Thanksgiving gathering in Roanoke, Va. we felt very welcomed by the hotel staff and everyone who worked there were very friendly and helpful. Thanks to the hotel employees our family gathering was fun for all ages. The Christmas trees were on display and the Christmas decorations were beautiful. Thanks again we will be back.
Only thing that was distrubing was a late night checkin the children were noisey in the hall and woke us up. After a while the children quitened down and everyone went back to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Beaver48, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. The holidays are a special time here and I am glad you had the opportunity to experience it. I hope when you visit the Star City again, you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteford, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family really enjoyed our stay. The Christmas trees were beautiful. Breakfast was very good, staff friendly and helpful the security officer gave my husband a little history lesson about the hotel. We loved all of the old pictures and displays. This hotel is a gem but has the updated necessities. We will stay again, a great value and I used my points too!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear deb B B, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience the holidays at our property. It is our favorite time of year and the hotel is beautifully decorated. I hope you have the chance to come back soon and again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We loved this hotel when we visited it to see the Christmas tree exhibit a couple of years ago which is why we chose to stay here when we were in Roanoke in November of this year. It is a lovely hotel but make sure that you DO NOT stay in a room close to the Fitness Room on the first level because you will be kept awake (past 11pm) or woken early (5:30am) by the constant slamming of the Fitness Room door/elevator dinging for people to use the Fitness Room/people using the stairway door to then slam the metal Fitness Room door which is VERY LOUD every time it closes. If you can avoid the end of the hall close to the Fitness Room either by staying at the other end of the hall or on a different floor altogether, my guess is that you will really enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the Fitness Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear SleepyInSavGA,
We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area; you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came into town for work and was anxious to try out this hotel. Close to the airport and easy to walk to downtown area of bars and eateries. Attended the manager's reception one evening and went to exec lounge another, and both were fine, and the mgrs reception was well attended by the management. Room was very comfortable, staff super nice, and seemed like they took pride in working there - which all leads to good management.
The ONLY negative was minor and was that I found the GPS (using street address from website)would only get me close, the hotel is big enough where I could navigate the final few blocks.
I would have no problem staying here again next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Hortkie, thank you for choosing us for your accommodations and for your review of the property. We'll be sure to look into the issue you experienced as it's not something we want others to experience. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you have an opportunity to come back and visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.