We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room guests. Disappointing restaurant staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $109!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Appomattox, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy room guests. Disappointing restaurant staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Neighboring room had extremely rude and noisy guests who repeatedly slammed their door throughout the night making it impossible to sleep. We only stayed for one meal- breakfast. The waitress was one that we would expect to see at a diner, not a five star hotel. She was a bit on the rude side. We were not impressed with the breakfast buffet and ordered off of the menu instead. It was a good choice- The food was excellent!

We tried to schedule an appointment for a couples massage and left a message, but never even received so much as a courtesy return call. Very disappointing.

The room was average; nothing outstanding- a bit overpriced. We were expecting a truly memorable experience for our 19th wedding anniversary, but unfortunately it was not what we were hoping for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service from our staff during your breakfast as well as the noise inconvenience you encountered. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area; you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    373
    99
    56
    18
See reviews for
265
436
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern,Pa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed one night on our way back from Asheville NC. A beautiful old tudor style building that just reaks class from the valet to the lounge waitress and front desk. We loved the large sprawling front porch with the rocking chairs to sit and wait for your car outside. Our room was a lovely clean comfortable double suite. The bathroom wasn't anything to write home about, but wasn't bad either. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant which was of course overpriced, but aren't most hotel restaurants? I got home and realized a week later that I had left my jacket there and the hotel quickly popped it in the mail to me. Overall i lovely experience and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Hotel Roanoke for two nights as a get away. We found the Hotel staff to be wonderful. Every one on the staff was friendly and very helpful. The Hotel itself was beautiful. We really enjoyed The casuale yet elegant atmosphere of the Pine Room Pub with it's porch overlooking the entrance and front courtyard. The only brawback was our very smallish room on the third floor. The bed was suppose to be a queen but to be honest it seemed much smaller. The covbered walkway to downtown market square is great and there are many places to eat and have a drink. It all felt very safe and is easy to walk to. We would stay there again but would be more happy in a larger room.

Room Tip: Check room size before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while in town for one night and this place is amazing on the outside and inside. I used hilton points so i didnt have to pay for my room but i wouldve been very disappointed had i paid $200-$300 for this standard hotel room just because its fancy on the outside..just thought i would share. Everyone was very friendly and dont get me wrong. This place is beautiful but just not worth the price unless u have money to blow

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear smileygirl0901, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We very much appreciate your patronage and kind words and wish to express that our rates do fluctuate based on the demand and supply of rooms. I do hope when your travels bring you back our way that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke for a conference and was very impressed. This property is more than 100 years old, but has been nicely updated over the past few decades giving it all the modern conveniences while retaining it's old style charm. The conference facilities are excellent -- some of the best I've encountered in a decade -- and overall ambiance of the place was a treat. Also, it's worth noting that their fitness center was the most well-equipped I've encountered, with one exception, in the past decade. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area for any reason.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear tkelly7, thank you for your review of the hotel and it's great you had the chance to experience our property to the fullest extent with a conference. We appreciate the kind words and it's assuring to see the product we have in place is well received by our guests. I hope you have the chance to come back and visit again even if a conference brings your travels our way.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel Roanoke is impressive as you pull up. Large and sprawling property, within walking distance to great downtown shops and restaurants. All the employees, from the restaurant/bar, front desk, housekeeping, and meeting coordinators are extremely friendly, and demonstrate true Southern hospitality. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and boast a comfy bed & pillows. Always nice to get a war cookie at check-in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear JackiB0312, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will share your kind words with our staff. We strive daily to present the best possible guest experience and it is comforting and rewarding to read when our staff is the highlight of a stay. Thank you again for choosing us for your accommodations and we look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you to our area of the country.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got away for a three day trip to Roanoke Virginia. We had lived there 15 years ago and had not been back. The grandest place to stay is the magnificent Hotel Roanoke. It is a masterpiece of architecture, style, grace, history, and undeniable grandeur. Around every corner is a piece of history waiting to capture your full attention. You feel as if you are in a fine European hotel, or a grand Southern majestic retreat. The service is still splendid. The dining is over the top. Views of the Mountains, the quaint city, the railroad running right outside you window, and all the other joys of the good life abound here. Walk over the sky bridge, over the railroad tracks and go into the beautiful "Star" city. The mountains surround you, and this time of year the leaves are turning. The weather was wonderful and we took full advantage of the touring. The Blue Ridge Parkway is minutes away. What a wonderful place to stay. For conventions, weddings, romantic getaways, you name it, this fine hotel can accomodate you. We loved this trip and will go back many times.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the city with the famous "Star" on the mountain lit up at night. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear golden2002, thank you for your review of the hotel and choosing us for your accommodations when traveling to southwest Virginia. We appreciate the endorsement of our wonderful city and couldn't agree with you more! So many wonderful things happening in our Star City and the future is incredibly bright. I hope you have the chance to come back and visit again soon and will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.