We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Amenities, Convenient Location, Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots of Amenities, Convenient Location, Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Roanoke on a Saturday evening, after finding out that another hotel (at which we had a confirmed reservation) had overbooked.

The hotel is located on a prominent hill in the midst of the city of Richmond, visible from many parts of the city. The operation of the hotel began in the 1880’s, when it was constructed by the Norfolk and Western Railroad, as a stopover for folks on long journeys. In the late 1980’s, as Norfolk Southern took over the Norfolk and Western Railroad, the hotel was shut down. However, in the mid-1990’s, a massive expansion and redevelopment of the hotel occurred, brought about by efforts from the City of Roanoke, in collaboration with Virginia Tech.

We initially were a bit reluctant to stay at this hotel, based on a few of the more critical Trip Advisor reviews. In fact, those reviews are what initially led us to make our reservation at the other hotel, rather than at the Hotel Roanoke.

The concerns we thought we had with the Hotel Roanoke subsided immediately upon our arrival. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in getting us a room. Due to confusion brought on by the instructions given by the other hotel, we were initially assigned to a room on the 4th floor. Upon returning to the front desk, the staff quickly resolved the issue, and reassigned us to a room on the “Executive Level”.

The “Executive Level” consists of an area of the hotel that has access to complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the evening, as well as breakfast. We arrived about 15 minutes before the conclusion of the hors d'oeuvres, but a number of items were still available, including a cheese board, and chicken wings, as well as a variety of drinks (non-alcoholic drinks are complimentary, but beer and I think wine could be purchased).

Staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly. Two that come to mind include “Danny” at the front desk, who was very helpful in getting us checked in, as well as getting our room switched around after the issues brought about by the other hotel were realized. Additionally, we encountered a man from Austria, named “Joseph” in the hallway leading to our room in the executive level that night. He was quick to assist us in getting to our room, as well as to give us some helpful directions to get ice and other amenities. I encountered him again in the morning, about 14 hours later—he either works some odd shifts, or some REALLY long hours.

There is a restaurant (“The Regency Room”) as well as a pub (“The Pine Room”) on the property. Due to time constraints, we were not able to eat at either establishment. However, I saw the breakfast buffet in the Regency Room, and it looked very elaborate. Made to order omelets, a large selection of fresh fruit and pastries, as well as the more traditional breakfast dishes, and a variety of coffee and juices.

Valet parking is available, as is a self-park area. There is a fee for both ($12 for valet, $7 for self-parking).

The hotel is adjacent to the railroad tracks that originally served as the reason for the hotel to be built. The tracks would have presented a problem for pedestrians to get access to a significant part of downtown, and so there is a large glass walkway over the tracks, allowing for easy access to the downtown. A large number of photographs and historical notes line the interior of the walkway, allowing visitors to quickly learn the history of the hotel, as well as the railyard, and gain a quick understanding as to where the tracks go, and the typical freight carried upon the lines. Although the tracks are active, we never heard the trains from the hotel.

The swimming pool at the hotel was nice, with a large adjacent hot tub. Access to the pool/hot tub was through a very large, extremely well-equipped workout room. I saw numerous elliptical machines (which had sophisticated touchscreen systems for watching TV, and even playing games while one worked out), and various other workout machines in excellent shape, as well as a variety of free weights, which generally are a rarity in hotels.

It’s definitely the hotel to go to in Roanoke!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear jth3rd, thank you for your review of the hotel and for ultimately choosing us for your accommodations. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let our team members you mentioned know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at the hotel are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    308
    85
    51
    18
See reviews for
216
359
39
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

What a classic old facility for a Hilton family property! Southern charm, historic feel, great gym, classic bar, and everyone you meet from the facility is southern and very hospitable. We were here for a business meeting and catering was over the top!!! Every detail covered and expectations surpassed! I would highly recommend this facility forvanyonevwho needs a place for a meeting or special event!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Slptab, thank you for your review of the hotel and thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome your group and appreciate your business. I hope if you are in the area again in the future you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great stay for a very large hotel it manages to retain a comfortable feel the rooms are very comfortable with all amenities bathroom on the small side. Lovely history documented with photographs throughout the lobby staff very helpful and good food available. The swimming pool is well located and has plenty of sun loungers but could do with an upgrade.
Well located for the town and all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear ChrisSerbia, thank you for your review of the hotel and thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel experience was way better than the bar exam experience. It is conveniently located to the civic center and to downtown Roanoke. The lobby is large and grand, and check in staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inside courtyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Wal-Dawg, thank you for your review of the Hotel. We know the stresses and anticipation that comes with the Bar Exam well and are glad that you found your stay enjoyable. We wish you great success with your endeavors and hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley that you will choose us again for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Driving up to the hotel from the street gives you a very cool feeling of how old and big this hotel is. When you get inside the lobby it also has a very classic feel to it. Rooms were very nicely decorated and had good beds and pillows. Super nice staff everywhere and very good food. Check out the bar downstairs. Free popcorn and a very cool old time feeling. Great place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear cheekegirl, thank you for your review of the Hotel. Thank you for the kind words about our property they will certainly bring a smile to the faces of our team. It sounds as though you had a wonderful evening and I'm glad you shared it with us. We look forward to your return to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a historic hotel and on a grand scale! It is like staying inside the Titanic when it was pushing off to sail. The woodwork is beautiful, the asthetics of all the design and furnishings will not disappoint you. My husband and I had a corner room with open windows on both sides...a suite....and it was sweet! We had dinner on the balcony and the weather was balmy and breezy. Appetizers and wine before dinner and just walking around the property is fun to do afterwards.The staff and managers are very professional and kind. I will stay at this property again....it was such a treat! Make sure you go to the downtown area as well and tour the marketplaces.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and very sunny...terrific views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear cheekegirl, thank you for your review of the hotel. You description of our hotel was simply lovely and we appreciate the kind words. We will share your review with our staff and certainly look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke this past week while sitting for a two day exam. It was by far the best hotel experience I have ever had. From the time I made my reservations until my departure, the staff went out of their way to anticipate my needs by providing an incredible room and excellent food all within a beautiful setting, enabling me to be able to concentrate on my exam. I want to give special mention of Suzanne, who works at the hotel's front desk. Suzanne is dedicated to providing guests with the most gracious welcome and was a trusted "point-person" throughout my stay. This grand hotel offers all the ambiance of yesteryear with the luxuries of today. I look forward to returning to this luxury hotel, which exceeded all my expectations!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear KSCLiberty, thank you for your review of the hotel and choosing us for your accommodations. We understand how intense the exams can be and I am thrilled to read your stay didn't impact the stress of that time in any way. We will share your review with Suzanne and our entire staff. I hope if you find yourself in the Roanoke Valley in the future, you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.