We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the area. Surpassed expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates from $119!
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Paris, France
1 review
“Best hotel in the area. Surpassed expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Extremely helpful, friendly and professional staff. Well appointed and spotlessly clean rooms. I've stayed here three times over the past month and had three different rooms. Have not eaten in the main dining room. Pub food was awful. In room dining was good.

Room Tip: Windows do not open on most floors. If that is important to you ask for room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear sempregumby, thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your continued patronage and hope you will continue to choose our hotel for your accommodations. I am disappointed to read your review of the Pine Room Pub as we have been working on improving the menu options and offerings. I will share your review with our staff and hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    305
    85
    51
    16
See reviews for
212
351
38
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LYNCHBURG
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have stayed a few times at this hotel
But this time it was a very busy weekend and not much fun.
Our room was very small,uncomfortable bed& pillows were flat and did not sleep well at all.
We will be back and I hope to get a better room in March! Everyone was very nice!! I still love going to this hotel!! See you in March!

Room Tip: Queen rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear mbseawtch, thank you for your review. We strive daily to give the absolute best guest experience and feel short during your stay. I appreciate your willingness to come back and I guarantee your stay will be back at the level that we strive for and is expected by our guests. See you in March! We will be more than ready and I apologize that your last stay was not your best.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband opted to stay here so that we could attend a concert at the Roanoke Civic Center so that we were within walking distance to everything.

It was an excellent choice! I'd stay here again if for some reason I was back in the Roanoke area.

The staff was very attentive to our every need. Everything was clean and nice looking.

We were given a queen room instead of the king we paid for and while they weren't able to fix that due to being sold out the manager provided us with coupons for a free full breakfast for our troubles.

The breakfast was well worth the trip. Omelets made at your request right in front of your, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, coffee, juice, water, biscuits and gravy, bread, potatoes, scrambled eggs and the list goes on.

We even had a few beers at the bar the evening before. The chicken wings were amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Ecupirate04, thank you for your review of the hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience of not having the room your requested available, but am gratified to know that you had an opportunity to try the breakfast and chose us based on location. There are some great things coming up in Roanoke in 2012 and plenty of great opportunities to come back and visit again soon!

Safe travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Neat and beautiful old hotel retains a deep spirit of bygone days, while adjoining a new conference facility. Comfortable beds and pillows - the best. Bathrooms good, workout room okay. Could use an indoor pool. Wheelchair ramps are zig-zagging mazes which you have to navigate with luggage carts - fun for kids, but just hope you don't meet someone coming the other way! Charging for wifi is agregious, given the price for the rooms. Self parking costs a bit, and you have to walk up a hill from the far side of the hotel. Why no back door? All in all, a good job refitting this historic property. The lobby, lounge and other nooks are full of great historic pictures and artifacts. Service good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the lobby level, but they are not heavily trafficked, unless you are in 72, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear WyrdNet, thank you for your review and recommendation of the Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and hope you have an opportunity to come back in the future. While we do offer valet and have a back entrance to the Hotel, it isn't advantageous to enter through those doors as it isn't convenient to the rooms. I will address your concerns at our next meeting as well as share your review with our staff. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have never been to Roanoke until this past weekend. I had heard it is a great "train" town as it was (and still is) one of the major hubs in the old Norfolk and Western system. In fact the town was built around this fabulous,massive late 1800's tudor style hotel. The hotel is in the same league, in my view, as the Mount Washington and The Balsams in New Hampshire and Congress Hall in Cape May. Very elegant, very vibrant and definately historical. The kind of place you can get lost in and love every minute of the experience.
There is a glass walkway from the hotel over the train tracks to the center of Roanoke, which is a very cool town. Even if one despises trains for some reason, you would still be awestruck by the magnitude of the trains operating here. Simply standing in the walkway directly over the trains is a unique experience. There are many carefully constructed sites around the hotel and in the center of Roanoke depicting the history of trains. There is even a transportation museum in close proximity to the hotel.
Additionally, town has a Market Center that is somewhat similar to Quincy Market in Boston, although smaller, that offers eateries, taverns, galleries and other places to visit. There is considerable construction and rehabbing of old brink and stone buildings going on which is always good to see. Town has a very good feeling.

I learned that the hotel is actually owned by Virginia Tech and is operated by Hilton, creating a dynamic that certainly seems to work. There is a great college feel to the area. As for the Hilton end of the equation, I was highly impressed. Very clean and comfortable. Great staff- all clearly proud of their town and the hotel. From Steve the manager that I had the pleasure of meeting, through the staff at the front desk and throughout the hotel- nothing but courteous and friendly people.
The highest of recommendation for this lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Trainman84, thank you for your review of the hotel. I appreciate the kind words and great review of our vibrant and up and coming City. Lots of great rail history exists just steps from our door as well as our property being built in 1882 by Norfolk and Western. If ever interested we have a fun Rail Cam called the Roanoke Rail Cam you should check out when you have the opportunity. It operates just off the walkway shooting down the Norfolk and Southern Tracks outside the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope you can come back again soon when you have the chance!

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robnjen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Roanoke on Valentine's weekend. Though busy, the front desk staff was polite and efficient. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. We stayed in one of the suites with a fireplace and found it clean, comfortable, and spacious. We did not visit the restaurant or use the valet service. Wonderful location for exploring downtown Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear robnjen, thank you for your review of the hotel and choosing our property for your Valentine's Day celebration! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can be back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Suburb weekend for 40th wedding anniversery. First class traditional hotel a short walk from everything in downtown

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear aussiebuffer, thank you for your review of the Hotel. Happy Anniversary and Greetings to Australia! Wow, we are extremely honored that you spend your 40th anniversary with us and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We wish you many more years of a blissful marriage and hope you can get back to our property again to celebrate!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.