We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic hotel not to be missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates from $119!
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A historic hotel not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke for one night this past September. We had planned to be in Blacksburg that night but hotels there were full because of a Virginia Tech football game. We enjoyed the hotel very much -- the room was spacious, and the building has a very interesting history going back more than 100 years. It was easy to lose your way in the corridoors, and also the parking lot was some ways away from the building. Overall, we rate this a very good hotel. We had dinner on site in the Regency Dining Room which was outstanding. Breakfast the next morning (Sunday) was perhaps the only downside, not because of the food quality which was good but because the room and buffet were packed with guests, most of them having attended the football match in Blacksburg the night before.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear bernadette_richter, thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience The Regency Room for both breakfast and dinner. I hope if you're in the area again soon, you will choose us again. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    432
    114
    59
    19
See reviews for
318
510
57
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here on our annual T'giving trip to Virginia... and had booked two rooms under an online 'Holiday' rate special. The Hotel Roanoke is owned by Virginia Tech and operated by Double Tree. It's a refurbished historic 'railroad' hotel that represents classic luxury. And we weren't disappointed. We were welcomed and registered quickly and professionally. While both rooms were cozy, they were first class all the way... from the abundance of pillows... to the amenities in the bathroom... to the coffee service set up.

We had three examples of how well run this property is. 1) we are alergic to down pillows and had immediately called the front desk to get some foam pillows... and they arrived in two minutes. 2) The replacement coffee packs on Thursday's cleaning were all de-caf and I asked the front desk for some regular. By the time I got up to my room a worker was there to apologize that they had run out of regular, but he would scout out some... and he did by taking some from another room. 3) Our daughter had the adjoining room and came to visit through the connecting door... which closed behind her... with her card key still in her room. I got a replacement key from the front desk, but it didn't work... and I had to get security to come up and unlock the door. They were there in three minutes... but our daughter had secured the door with the safety bar and deadbolt. But the security manager quickly unsecured both and the problem was solved.

It was this kind of professional service that you find only at the best hotels. And it wasn't gooey-ly oppressive like it can be at some of he better hotels. Of course, it may have helped that we all had on Virginia Tech apparel. :-)

The hotel is located across the railroad tracks from downtown Roanoke's Market Square... with a convenient covered bridge to get you there safely and quickly.

The one negative is the self-parking lot is a stroll from the main entrance... and there is a $7 daily charge. Valet service is available at a higher rate.

.

Room Tip: Book early and look for package specials which gets the room rate down to what you'd be paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Hokie67, thank you for your review of our hotel. While it was great to read that your issues were resolved in a timely manner it's unfortunate that those issues occurred. Thank you for your appreciation for our hotel as we strive for our customer to be the most important service and feature of our hotel. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again when you're in the area. I will share your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have to say that this hotel and the way they treat their customers is outstanding and above reproach. I recommend it most highly.

Room Tip: Check with Doubletree before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Jerome B, thank you for your review of the hotel. Its great to hear your customer service experience was noteworthy as we strive daily to provide the utmost quality to our guests. I hope you are able to return in the future.

Safe travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel was clean, friendly staff, and convenient to all conference meetings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Wandaleen,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I hope you enjoyed your stay and the conference and plan a trip back to Roanoke soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I love this old hotel. I have had the privilege of staying here many times and always leave looking forward to the next visit. The rooms are all different and unique with many feeling like you have been transported back in time. The historic pictures throughout the hotel add to the charm, which at times makes you feel as though you have returned home to stay at a beloved grandparent's home. It is such a wonderful treasure. My only knock on the Hotel Roanoke is that hallway noise easily caries into the guest rooms. A covered walkway carries guests to dowwntown Roanoke where interesting shops and eateries await. Visit Roanoke and stay at this property. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: City views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear OneProudDad,
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed reading your appreciation for the property. I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel is a classic grand railroad hotel built by the Norfolk and Western Railway. It has been renovated and updated and is now operated by Hilton under the Doubletree brand. A modern conference center has been added to the back of the hotel which doesn't carry the same architectural character as the original building, but likely is essential for the economic viability of the hotel. The character of the hotel reflects southern graciousness from another era. This is exemplified by the exquisite Regency Dining Room in the hotel, with its high ceilings, and waitstaff standing at attention waiting to provide guests with impeccable service.

My room had been updated and modernized. It was average size, with closet, desk, sofa. There was a coffee maker but no microwave nor refrigerator. Internet connection was available in the room for a hefty fee of $9.95 per day. (Internet access was free in the business center).

The biggest disappointment I found with the renovated room was that the original double hung windows had been sealed shut. Further, the new climate control system only recirculated room air. There was no source of fresh air for the room. While there were no odors, toxic emissions from carpet, upholstery, wall coverings, etc. can build up along with molds from wall paper paste. There was no way to vent this unhealthful mix.

Even if you decide against staying at the hotel (it is quite pricey, as would be expected for a property of this status), do plan on enjoying a meal in the Regency Room. Both the breakfast and lunch buffets are outstanding and very reasonably priced considering the atmosphere, service, and food quality.

Hotel is 1 block from the O. Winston Link museum. An overhead walkway connects the hotel with the downtown business district across the railroad tracks from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a railroad enthusiast, request a room overlooking the Norfolk Southern main line, which 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear mountainoutin,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and the elequont description of the property. Being a historic property, we are in a continuing process of renovations that have taken place the past four years and the windows are slated for our next undertaking. I do appreciate your recommondation for the Regency Room and hope you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I've stayed here a few times between 2007 and 2011 and it's a VERY nice place. Very historic with some parts of the hotel (like the elevators) left in antique form while most of the conference center is VERY modern and up0-to-date.

Nice walkway, bridge over the train tracks to downtown Roanoke, but there's little to see/do there. Awful Arthurs and Frankie's are about the only place worth eating.

The hotel has a nice restaurant in it. A couple nice bars too, but the restaurant is very pricey.

They offer self-parking as well as valet... Valet is $12, but at $6 or $7 per day, self-parking is WAYYYY over priced! They need to reduce this price!! Also, speed up exiting the parking lot.

Room Tip: No tips, other than to ask for a "clean" room. The room I got this most recent time was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryWalton, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear je1058, thank you for your review of the hotel and our apologies for the inconvenience of an unclean room. We strive daily to provide the highest level of service and satisfaction to our guests and unfortunately were not at our best for your arrival. I do hope that if your travels bring you this way again you will choose our property and let us make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.