We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lake, great family place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvins Cove Natural Reserve

Carvins Cove Natural Reserve
9644 Reservoir Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
(540) 563-9170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Roanoke
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Wilmington, nc
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing lake, great family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This reservoir, about 8 miles outside of town, is kept nice by limiting boat sizes. It is great for paddling and there are many miles of trails around it. Only downside was that some of the mountain bikers on the trails were very rude and acted like we were in their way as we were hiking, not riding.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troutville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great little get away for a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We love Carvins Cove. A few bucks for all 4 of us to get in and a few more and we have a boat. Pack lunch, find a serene spot and we have a mini adventure.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad local "getaway"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Ample parking, beautifully maintained. Could offer a bit more to those coming to do some water activity. Perhaps row boats? Paddle boats? Or events that could educate by offering a course in studying some type of forestry? Water management? Bird or other wildlife studies? Good for biking and hiking. I've taken my kyak there a couple times, but if you do frequent it to get in the water, it is a bit pricey. Overall, not bad to hop in your car and disappear in to nature.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Monday was first day for me at Carvins Cove and first time kayaking, it was recommended by a friend and I have fallen in love. Felt very safe here and talked extensively with the very knowledgeable staff about rules and safest way to have fun. You can rent kayaks, paddle boats and more! Life jackets are provided with rentals and fees are reasonable even if you bring your own equipment. Loved the views and can't wait to go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wildlife and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great place to see wildlife and relax with the family. Many large black bears live here, as well as deer, fox, coyotes, squirrels, rabbits, bobcats, and any lake fairing species. The Appalachian trail runs through the reserve. There is easy access by driving and parking, hiking in from 2 different directions of the AT, or an easier footpath from a back road. The AT hike from Tinker mountain is very steep.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carvins Cove Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Carvins Cove Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvins Cove Natural Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.