We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lake, great family place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvins Cove Natural Reserve

Carvins Cove Natural Reserve
9644 Reservoir Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
(540) 563-9170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 61 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing lake, great family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This reservoir, about 8 miles outside of town, is kept nice by limiting boat sizes. It is great for paddling and there are many miles of trails around it. Only downside was that some of the mountain bikers on the trails were very rude and acted like we were in their way as we were hiking, not riding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little get away for a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We love Carvins Cove. A few bucks for all 4 of us to get in and a few more and we have a boat. Pack lunch, find a serene spot and we have a mini adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ievasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad local "getaway"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Ample parking, beautifully maintained. Could offer a bit more to those coming to do some water activity. Perhaps row boats? Paddle boats? Or events that could educate by offering a course in studying some type of forestry? Water management? Bird or other wildlife studies? Good for biking and hiking. I've taken my kyak there a couple times, but if you do frequent it to get in the water, it is a bit pricey. Overall, not bad to hop in your car and disappear in to nature.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Monday was first day for me at Carvins Cove and first time kayaking, it was recommended by a friend and I have fallen in love. Felt very safe here and talked extensively with the very knowledgeable staff about rules and safest way to have fun. You can rent kayaks, paddle boats and more! Life jackets are provided with rentals and fees are reasonable even if you bring your own equipment. Loved the views and can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mdawn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wildlife and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great place to see wildlife and relax with the family. Many large black bears live here, as well as deer, fox, coyotes, squirrels, rabbits, bobcats, and any lake fairing species. The Appalachian trail runs through the reserve. There is easy access by driving and parking, hiking in from 2 different directions of the AT, or an easier footpath from a back road. The AT hike from Tinker mountain is very steep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeSwindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carvins Cove Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Carvins Cove Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing