We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet with minimal use” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carvins Cove Natural Reserve

Carvins Cove Natural Reserve
9644 Reservoir Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
(540) 563-9170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“quiet with minimal use”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are two ways to come in to the reserve. I usually head out towards Catawba and circle in the back parking lot. There is a fee to use the reserve, but it's low. I always hike, but it looks perfect for biking and I often see mountain bikes in the parking lot. When I was there, there were NO toilets and no maps. I took a picture with my phone of the trailhead map for reference. Many many miles of trails, and I rarely see more than 2-3 bikers while I am out. I have not seen bear or turkey but plenty of deer, raccoon, possum and birds. THe trails are mostly shady, and the ratings (easy, intermediate, advanced) are pretty accurate. Perfect for trail running, hiking or biking. Lots of streams. Not many viewpoints on the lower trails-- they just sweep through wide open valleys with rocks and streams, wooded with moderate growth mixed pine and hardwoods. Many of the trails allow a loop, so you are not backtracking. Very peaceful for so close to Roanoke. (about 20 minutes from SW Roanoke). There is no hunting, so it is pretty safe all year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Entrance fee required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was surprised to drive in and find that all (16 and up) who wanted to set foot on the property had to pay a "user fee." There were boats available for rent as well as a boat ramp, a walking trail and pavilion, but we didn't think it was worth the fee since we only wanted a place to have a picnic.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This a small reservoir for the city of Roanoke and surroundig areas. There are two ways to get into the reserve one is off of Rt 11 just north of Roanoke. The other way is through Bennett Springs off Rt 311. The big attraction for me was miles of mountain bike trails that range from beginners to expert. every time I ride I see bear, deer, turkey, and some things I'm not sure I want to know. Make sure you bring water and basic maintenance equipment in case you pop a chain it is a long walk out

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Hiking and Mountain Biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have done mountain biking and biking at Carvin's Cove. It is a beautiful place so close to Roanoke city. An easy "getaway" that gives the feeling of the wild outdoors. It can get crowded on weekends, especially if the weather is good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carvins Cove Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Carvins Cove Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carvins Cove Natural Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.