We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hamburger joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint

Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint
210 Market Street, Roanoke, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 405 restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool Hamburger joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Came across this place while in town on business. Cool little bar, with a large selection of beer priced from $1.00 and up. Believe it or not, the $1.00 beer was pretty good! All they serve is Hamburgers and fries and all they have is beer to drink (other than water and soda). So the name is not misleading, it's a beer and burger joint. Had some TV's, watched MNF and some hockey, cool crowd. Would recommend it for those that like to just hangout, drink a few and watch a game.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    14
    16
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Less than enjoyable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint in downtown this week, and the experience wasn't that great.

I and three other co-workers sat at the high top tables near the brick wall. The tables were too small for four people, and the smell emanating from the brick was awful. It’s like the bricks were mildewed, or maybe it was the product they put on the brick?

Then the ‘burgers’ arrived. I ordered a simple hamburger, and my coworkers ordered their specialty burgers. What I received looked like it was smaller than the $1 Junior Burger from Sonic. I can't believe I paid $5 (before tax) for a plain, less than 1/4lb hamburger. Just pitiful! I will not be returning.

My coworker ordered his ‘Elvis’ burger. He enjoyed the flavor, but also noticed it was a miniscule amount of meat. With fries and water, the bill came to near $11. Give me a break guys… you don’t even get chips, lettuce, pickle spear or a tomato. All you get are young chicks with voluptuous breasts taking your order and pretending to act pleasant for a good tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peanut Butter on my burger!! Yummo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time in this establishment and I will be back. I got the Elvis burger b/c I've always wanted to try Peanut Butter on a burger. It also had cheese and bacon on it. This was one of the best burgers I've ever eaten! It was delicious!! Next I will try the Greg Brady burger!! The staff was super friendly and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Burgers Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a treat! I had the Burger with egg and Bacon and it was dynamite! The fries were awesome too. My Daughter had the Burger with peanut butter and it was delicious. This is a must eat in Roanoke. Great beer list too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good service- not a bad burger either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a fun place with above average craft beer taps and bottles. Its similar to being in a diner but without the pancakes and eggs. The name says it all. Its a neat space. The cooks prepare the burgers right in front of you on the flat top. There are some good combinations. I had the cowboy and it was quite tasty. The fries are spot on too. I definitely will be going back often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Brown's Beer & Burger Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.