We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Focus On Basics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars Lebanese Restaurant

Cedars Lebanese Restaurant
120 Campbell Ave SE, Roanoke, VA 24011
+1 540-761-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 415 Restaurants in Roanoke
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Focus On Basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The atmosphere is so non existent that seems to be intentionally diner chic. Reservations mean nothing. This is okay once you are familiar with the place. But taking reservations gives first timers the wrong impression.

Cedars Lebanese focuses, quite successfully, on the food (and to a lesser degree on the service). Menu items offer excellent quality. Food choices are also an excellent value. Unfortunately, charging eight dollars for three ounces of low to mediocre quality wine is silly. However, the beer is reasonably well priced.

This a great place for no frills dining with (except for the wine) no frills pricing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    48
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've traveled in the Middle East and were pleasantly surprised at the quality and taste of the food here. Enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find in Roanoke!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I never thought traveling from north of Boston, that we would share such a delicious, healthy and colorful meal. The service was friendly and the food delicious. Being born in Lebanon, I know good Lebanese food, and this is an amazing place!
If we are ever back in Roanoke, we will remember and visit again for sure.\!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Lovely Downtown Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After four hours on the road, my husband and I were ready for a delicious lunch. We hopped off of I-581 and headed to Campbell Avenue. Our goal was to not have the usual Southern fare while in Roanoke. Due to so many great reviews, we ended up at the Cedars Lebanese Restaurant. Being a busy Saturday downtown (despite the cold rain), finding a parking spot was a little difficult.
We entered the restaurant and found it to be a very comfortable place to have a meal. The very high ceilings and brick wall of the historic building added to the ambience. Photos and memorabilia of Lebanon lined the walls. Unfortunately for us, the tables right next to the front windows were occupied. They looked like a great place to have lunch and watch the world go by. We were warmly greeted and were offered a booth to sit in. This was perfect after being in a car for so long.
Both of us love good humus thus we ordered the restaurant’s humus with thinly shave beef. This was a twist on humus that we had not seen before. The presentation of the appetizer was very pleasing and the beef worked perfectly with the mashed chickpeas. We found the pita bread to be perfect as it was thinner than what most restaurants serve.
For lunch, my husband ended up with the chicken Shawarma wrap. He was a little surprised by the chicken not being shaved thinly as Shawarma in Israel and Saudi Arabia is served with shaved meat. Despite this difference, my husband found the poultry to have the perfect amount of spices. It went perfectly with the tomatoes, pickles and garlic sauce. All of this was wrapped in a warm and thin pita. I ended up with the falafel – a deep-fried ball or patty made from ground chickpeas. While the balance of spices was perfect and unique, I found the falafel to be not as crispy as one would expect. My husband concurs as he sampled the “chickpea bites”.
Our meal was accompanied by microbrewed beer (ale) from Roanoke Railhouse Brewery. Wherever we go, we try to get some local microbrewed beer on tap. We were very happy that the Cedars Lebanese Restaurant had this nice beer. It was so good that we both ordered a second glass.
Roanoke seems like a very nice place to get away for the weekend, and the next time we are in the Star City of the South, we will make sure to head downtown for some delicious Lebanese fare. It is definitely some of the best Lebanese food we have had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food - outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I came in last night with my boyfriend. We were greeted as we stepped foot in, and we were told to have our choice of seating. This is particularly nice as we we wanted a bigger table. A waitress brought our menus and drink list. She offered specials of falafel salad and cabbage rolls. We asked her of the Lebanese wines and she was very knowledgable and recommended a great wine, Sarah and an imported red. We were clueless on where to start for an appetizer, but someone in the restaurant was receiving a plethora of appetizers - our waitress named them aloud as they were being served very helpful for us to make a selection of spinach pies. After reviewing the menu with our lady - she recommended beef chunks and chicken chucks. Both were served with rice and perfectly seasoned and cooked. The food was delicious! The waitress kept our drinks filled and even bought us a few sauces for dipping. This place is wonderful. The staff is friendly and the food was excellent. Too bad we were just passing through or this would be a regular for us. Defiantly worth a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars Lebanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cedars Lebanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars Lebanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.