We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted time!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Center in the Square

Center in the Square
One Market Square SE, Roanoke, VA
+1 540-342-5700
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 58 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adjacent to Market Square and the City Market, Center in the Square provides a home to four cultural arts and science non-profit organizations in our signature building in downtown Roanoke: Roanoke Pinball Museum, Harrison Museum of African American Culture, History Museum of Western Virginia, Science Museum of Western Virginia, and Mill Mountain Theatre. Visit our website or call for individual museum admission pricing. Mill Mountain Theatre and Children's Theatre of Roanoke tickets are available through our full-service box office. Come inside to enjoy our aquariums in the atrium and green rooftop without charge. Building Hours: Monday - Saturday 10 am - 5 pm, and Sunday 1 - 5 pm. [Note: Roanoke Pinball Museum is closed Mondays. History Museum is closed on Mondays October through April.]
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wasted time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hard to find parking, i think it is built up to make it seem better than what it is. The so called Farmers Market only had one vendor and the prices were a lot higher than other places.

Visited October 2013
1 Thank buchster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see on Friday or Saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Bring your camera, bring your wallet and be amazed at the wares people are selling, partial to the fossil guy and goat milk soap but many vendors and quaint old city charm.

Visited October 2013
1 Thank SSNDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was the second attraction we visited in Roanoke on our Saturday outing. My husband remembered it as an exotic exciting place he visited as a child. We wandered in and the bottom level had some various tanks containing jelly fish, sea horses, exotic fishes, turtles and more. There was a very friendly staff member who instantly came up to us and gave us great information on the different options around us. I really like looking at the different displays. We decided to go to the science portion of the museum. It costs $5.50 (with the discount) per person.

The science museum was rather disappointing. If you had kids I could see where it might be more entertaining for them. There were a lot of flashy displays that seemed to offer lots but really left you with more questions than answers. Several of the displays were closed, missing or broken. I thought the parasite portion was just creepy. There were several neat displays but overall the price was a bit pricey for the limited display. I won't go again with just my husband...maybe if we had a kid. Maybe.

Visited September 2013
2 Thank BetsyB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“This place went from great to AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well they just finished their "innovative renovation" and let me tell you it is VERY innovative! The who facility has a fresh new look and the most AWESOME part about it! They installed a ROOFTOP PARK!! It is totally relaxing and Amazing at the same with some amazing views of Roanoke as you will see in my pix. The Lobby area and the Rooftop park are FREE however other parts of the facility are fee based which i completely understand as this is a NON profit facility.

The staff here and security is very friendly and for those of you who like to take photos you will NOT be harassed in the common areas of the facility.

They took out the Dover Traction elevators and installed two new Thyssenkrupp Synergy elevators which are top of the line models and these will carry you quickly to the rooftop park!!

If you are visiting Roanoke, I would definitely say that the Center in the Square is just as much "must see" as the Mill Mountain Star!!

Visited August 2013
3 Thank dieselducy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic open air market in the center of this beautiful city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Center in the Square has restaurants, shops, entertainment, and a fantastic open air farmers market year round. I never tire of visiting Roanoke. It is a railroad town with rail yard and a awesome transportation museum with plenty of old locomotives rail cars and other rail memorabilia. Too much to describe here. Plenty of reasonable accommodations available near downtown too. Plan a couple of days for your visit.

Visited December 2012
2 Thank mountainskytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Center in the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing